We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Alternative Athens
from US$81.13
More Info
from US$77.50
More Info
from US$64.18
More Info
from US$67.81
More Info
Reviews (1,750)
Filter reviews
1,750 results
Traveller rating
1,639
84
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,639
84
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street art tour food tour bougatsa walking tour souvlaki different areas baklava great company knowledgeable guide private tour amazing tour andreas neighborhoods culture koulouri greece highlights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,081 - 1,086 of 1,750 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Went on a walking tour to the Acropolis and to the Plaka district. The guides were well versed in their history and, for me, made the Acropolis and the streets of Athens come alive. This tour was well worth the time and the cost is affordable. If I go back to Athens one day, I would definitely take this tour again!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

I had a really great time on the tour led by Tania on Saturday May 21 2016. I learned a lot about Athens, tried really delicious food, and got to explore some areas of town I wouldn't have found by myself. Tania was a very professional and knowledgeable guide, and she made the tour a lot of fun. I would recommend the tour to everyone.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

I was only two days in Athens and I took the mythological tour and the food tour. Both were excellent! The mythological tour was very informative, the guide, Alexandra, was very knowledgable and we covered all the major sites. The food tour was excellent, in addition to tasting many Greek delicacies, you learn about the stories and the culture around the food, which is a great way to learn about Greek society. We went to traditional coffee houses, to the market, to more modern pastries stores, tasted the most delicious olives ever, etc. I fully recommend both tours to any one going to Athens that does not want to take a super touristic tour but still get to know the city and their people. I loved Athens, hope to be back soon.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Assira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Christina Alexaandrou of Alternative Athens was so filled with interesting information about food and its history I learned so much and had such a fun time!!!!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Marti4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

I took the mythological tour- I think they also market it as the Athens city walking tour- and while they did present the various myths about Athens formation, it was a little light on the actual mythology and it also approached the myths in a very academic way didn't make them as exciting or engaging as it could have been.

Don't get me wrong- the guide was extremely smart and knowledgable, and she gave great background on the various sites we visited, I was just hoping for more about about the various myths about the gods and heroes of Athens and Greece in general. Overall it was a good tour- we hit all the major ancient sites and received a lot of good information, but the mythology part was just ok.

Also, their site lists this tour as something good to do with children- I would not bring kids on this tour as there is a great deal of walking/hiking and often without stroller access, and also because the stories would not be very engaging to a child.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank dlam626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews