We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polite service, great location”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #18 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Hera Hotel is in a great location, very close to the Acropolis, Pantheon etc. Service was very polite and we had a good night. We only stayed a night and the hotel was ideal for the purpose. Recommended.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank aharol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is marked as a 4 stars hotel, but based on the service and the room, the rating is absolutely not a 4 star hotel.

ROOM-
The first room we were given had a disgusting stench of stale cigarettes. We had to change rooms! Btw, there are no bellhop at this hotel. If there was, we never saw or was ever offered one.

The room we finally stayed in was very small and very outdated. When we entered the room was scorching hot (the heater was on full blasted). When we tried the lower the temperature, it didn’t work. Front desk said air condition has been turned off the for season and to open the window if I want to cool the room. Nights were super hot, even with the windows open.

The bathroom was dirty, had a broken window and the toilet had a disgusting plastic button on top that made flushing the toilet difficult.

INTERNET -
Free WiFi. But with a catch. You have to sign up with your email (confirmation email is sent to activate use).

SERVICE -
The front desk representatives (yes, more than one) all appear to be nice and friendly at first, but when you ask for amenities or have a general question, they reply with attitude and/or passive aggressive comment. I asked about my bill to make sure it was correct. Attitude.

There is not a separate room to store/secure your luggages if you decide to keep it with them. It’s kept in the hallway next to the stairs and the elevator. If you ask about it. Attitude.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank assunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear guest,

I am really sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our hotel and services. It's not common to receive such a low rating for our hotel, as we are considered a very friendly, professional & nice hotel.
Regarding your comments on the cigarette smell, we are really sorry to hear about it. All our rooms are non smoking, however there are guests that dont comply to the hotel policies. Please note that we do offer luggage carrier assistance, however it is not a 24 hour service and I assume that the bellboy was not available. For the room, I am sorry to hear that you founded oudated, however we have renovated all our rooms the last 2 years. I assume the decor might not be of your style. For the room temperature, please note that the hotel has a central heating system. It was turn on heating , Mid November, due to low temperatures and guests' requests. However, the temperature can be adjusted or turned off individually. For the bathroom comments, I am sorry to hear that you founded dirty, even though it is thoroughly cleaned by our housekeeping department on a daily basis. As checked with our maintenance department we dont have or had any broken bathroom windows . It is a common practice, not only in hotels but on public areas too, to use an internet log-in system in order to provide safe internet access for our guests. I am sorry to read your comments about our front office agents, as we are being praised about our excellent service and hospitality , it is strange to hear that they didnt assist you with the best possible way. Finally, the place that we store the luggage, is monitored by 2 cameras and checked by the front desk agents.
Once again I am sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay at Hera hotel. Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again and offer you our excellent services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

This hotel is wonderful. It's well positioned in an area full of restaurants and pretty much close to some of the most important attractions, especially the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum. It has a restaurant on the top floor with a view of the Parthenon and the friendliest server. That alone made the hotel great. In addition, it is newer and well appointed. The reason I can't give them a higher rating is because their corporate culture is not very customer-friendly and it's unfortunately reflected in some of their reception staff. I'm hoping the lower rating will help them realize that their business is hospitality and they need to be hospitable at every step if they want good reviews. They are there to provide a service for me and not the other way around and there are more than one appropriate way to say no and why not. Not even the most beautiful facilities can mask the lack of that basic requirement.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank qbnchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Mme,

We would like to thank you for staying at Hera Hotel. I am sorry to read about your comments. It is very rare to receive a negative comment regarding our customer service, and especially on our front desk department. Our main value is to offer the friendliest experience to all our guests with the most professional way.Of course we are hear to provide service to our guests and we are being praised on how excellent we do that. Moreover, from your email conversation, during your reservation process, you were very satisfied with our professionalism and how we made you feel welcome. I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel. Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again and experience our excellent service and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon, and I cannot say enough good things about it! I highly recommend Hera Hotel!!

Our room overlooked the Acropolis (as did the Peacock Restaurant and Bar on the top level), their customer service was incredible, and it was clean. I felt like a princess staying at this boutique hotel! It was ideal for a honeymoon.

Also, the food at the Peacock Restaurant and Bar was incredible, some of the best food we had during our entire stay in Athens - (esp the Olive Paste and the Sundried Tomato Paste that comes with the bread . . . . mmmmm, yum!)

Their front desk staff was professional and courteous and so friendly and SO KIND! I actually got quite sick one night during our stay, and one of the men working the front desk did everything in his power to ensure I was OK, giving my husband all sorts of information about local medical clinics and hospitals, and even gave me a croissant to help settle my upset stomach!!

The location is ideal . . . walking distance from the Metro (subway) and lots of shops and cafes and bakeries within walking distance. Also, some great sight-seeing items are within walking distance: Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Olympic Stadium and more!!

If I ever go back to Athens, I hope I have the good fortune of being able to stay at Hera Hotel once again! LOVELY place!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

This is a nice, clean, if somewhat 'dark' hotel in the heart of Athens. The staff here were very helpful and pleasant and the front desk staff double as a Concierge, helping us to book tickets for local attractions and tour services. The Peacock rooftop restaurant which was open air, was a great place to watch the sun set. There is a clear view of the Parthenon on The Acropolis which is illuminated after the sun sets. The drink menu was creative and the meals were delicious. Reservations are recommended though it was not very busy on the days we visited. Whereas most Greeks take their meals late at night, if you go earlier for dinner (6-8 PM) you may have the restaurant to yourself. The hotel rooms are 'european' which means a little small and a bit cramped but the bed was roomy and comfortable. We had our own very small balcony, just barely room for couple chairs and small table - which we took advantage of a couple times for an evening bottle of wine and some cheese and crackers. There are a great many restaurants less than 2 minute walk from the hotel. Perhaps the primary reason for selecting this hotel - access to the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum is within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was delicious.

Room Tip: Higher floors can yield better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,470 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,465 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#48 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $128 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing