We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Hera Hotel”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #18 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2017

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon, and I cannot say enough good things about it! I highly recommend Hera Hotel!!

Our room overlooked the Acropolis (as did the Peacock Restaurant and Bar on the top level), their customer service was incredible, and it was clean. I felt like a princess staying at this boutique hotel! It was ideal for a honeymoon.

Also, the food at the Peacock Restaurant and Bar was incredible, some of the best food we had during our entire stay in Athens - (esp the Olive Paste and the Sundried Tomato Paste that comes with the bread . . . . mmmmm, yum!)

Their front desk staff was professional and courteous and so friendly and SO KIND! I actually got quite sick one night during our stay, and one of the men working the front desk did everything in his power to ensure I was OK, giving my husband all sorts of information about local medical clinics and hospitals, and even gave me a croissant to help settle my upset stomach!!

The location is ideal . . . walking distance from the Metro (subway) and lots of shops and cafes and bakeries within walking distance. Also, some great sight-seeing items are within walking distance: Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Olympic Stadium and more!!

If I ever go back to Athens, I hope I have the good fortune of being able to stay at Hera Hotel once again! LOVELY place!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2017

This is a nice, clean, if somewhat 'dark' hotel in the heart of Athens. The staff here were very helpful and pleasant and the front desk staff double as a Concierge, helping us to book tickets for local attractions and tour services. The Peacock rooftop restaurant which was open air, was a great place to watch the sun set. There is a clear view of the Parthenon on The Acropolis which is illuminated after the sun sets. The drink menu was creative and the meals were delicious. Reservations are recommended though it was not very busy on the days we visited. Whereas most Greeks take their meals late at night, if you go earlier for dinner (6-8 PM) you may have the restaurant to yourself. The hotel rooms are 'european' which means a little small and a bit cramped but the bed was roomy and comfortable. We had our own very small balcony, just barely room for couple chairs and small table - which we took advantage of a couple times for an evening bottle of wine and some cheese and crackers. There are a great many restaurants less than 2 minute walk from the hotel. Perhaps the primary reason for selecting this hotel - access to the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum is within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was delicious.

Room Tip: Higher floors can yield better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Hera. Our check in was fantastic. The staff were very accommodating and we booked day trips right off the bat. The room was comfortable with a lovely balcony which overlooked the Acropolis. We had similarly great service when we received a packed breakfast because we had an early check out the day we left. The hotel is right over the road from the Acropolis Museum and many restaurants and cafés. The Tiki Bar next door spotted some cool live music worth checking out. A fun stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hendricks-Henley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Booked here with other friends. 5 rooms altogether. Brilliant hotel. Clean and tidy. Staff went out their way to accommodate breakfast at 5 in the morning along with complimentary bottles of water, bananas and a snack in the rooms. Great views from the Peacock Restaurant. Lovely views from there to enjoy your meal and a lovely glass of wine while watching the sunset. Only a short walk from the Acropolis Museum and many restaurants as well as a short walk to the Flea Market where you can get some lovely souvenirs.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank chubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The Hera Hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Athens. It is centrally located and walking distance to so many sites, the temple of Zeus, the Acropolis Museum, the Acropolis, the Plaka, the center of town, shopping, the Parliament building and the changing of the guard.

The hotel staff was very helpful in giving directions and recommendations of restaurants (there are so many in the area). Our room had a view of the Acropolis. It was a nice size and clean. The bathrooms were up to date and large. The internet was fast and worked with no issues. We included breakfast with our reservation. The dining room was pleasant and bright. They had different breads and rolls, fruit, fruit juices, cereals, yogurt, etc. They had hot trays with sautéed vegetables, sausage, prepared eggs. They would make omelets, if you wanted one. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

I am very sorry that I did not take any photos of my room, bathroom and dining room.

I would stay at the Hera again on a return visit to Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks at the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,470 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,465 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#48 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $128 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing