We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Age Hotel of Athens
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Melia Athens(Athens)
US$246
US$214
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$275
US$267
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$121
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$205
US$185
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$312
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$307
US$148
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$330
US$284
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
US$166
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
240
370
110
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
370
110
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationmegaro mousikisnice hotelgreek saladroom was spacious and cleanconvenient locationsyntagma squarefree wififour star hotelsmall balconynice stayblue linethe air conditioningsafe arealycabettus hillbreakfast buffetdouble bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay at Golden Age. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were small, but to be expected in Europe. Good variety of foods for breakfast and convenient location to all of the major Athens tourist activities!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Golden Age is a very nice hotel in downtown Athens. It is very close to the Megaro Moussikis metro station which is 2 stops from the central square, Syntagma. One evening we inquired about early morning room service, since we had an early tour the next morning that picked us up before breakfast started at 7am. The hotel instead was able to prepare us take-away breakfast boxes at no charge since breakfast was included, and we could pick them up before breakfast opened. Fotini and Vassilius were excellent servers in the restaurant,

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DHC518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We recently stayed at the Golden Age Inn in Athens. Hotel was quite good with very helpful staff. It has a wonderful breakfast. It’s location was close enough that we were able to walk back from the Plaka district in about 45-60 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisin_n_r_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

This is a very nice hotel. I had a standard room which was on the back of the building with not much of a view but had a small balcony with table and chair. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had hot water immediately. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety of food which included Greek dishes. The staff served coffee to you at your table. The fresh flowers on the tables was a nice touch. The metro station is a short two block walk and it's only a couple of stops to the central area. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are quiet. The ones in the front have a view of the street but you also get the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myk9rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

First off, I should explain the title.
The Golden Age is advertised as a 4-star hotel, and the entrance greets you with decor featuring tones and textures which are befitting of that. The service on arrival too, is very warm, welcoming and helpful, however, once you walk past the reception, the interior of the building (and the rooms) are looking quite tired and dated.
I stayed here for three nights - two of which were in an executive room, and the last in a standard room.
Basically, from what I can deduce, the executive rooms are a little larger and with a park/street facing view and small balcony. The standard rooms generally face toward the innards of the surrounding buildings (which aren't very pretty!).
However, I should stress, whilst the room decor screams '90's', and the finish is not the best quality, I used room service on all three nights, and, the service was quick and efficient, and (as a veggie) the choice was actually pretty decent. Greek salad was particularly tasty (but then you'd expect that in Greece!).
As for the breakfast buffet - nothing special, but something for most people there (if a bit basic), and again, the service was quick, efficient and polite.
I didn't get a chance to visit the fitness centre, but the mere existence of one always earns extra kudos with me.
Furthermore, it is located quite conveniently - took me about 3 minutes to walk to Megaro Mousikis Metro Station, which is on the blue line - this means you can get into the centre (with all it's historic sights and bars/restaurants) in a matter of a few minutes. You also have a direct connection on this line to Athens International Airport.
One word of note on the metro system - you can buy tickets readily across the network (and I did initially purchase a 5-day pass, which was incredibly cheap), however it became abundantly clear that nobody actually bothers with tickets at present - all the gates at every station are permanently open, and I didn't see any officials on any stations, so really, a bit of a free for all. I wouldn't condone riding for free, but it appears you can get away with it quite easily...
With a few touches of modernisation, this hotel could be a very sold four-star offering, and I would stay here again for business purposes. For leisure, I'd probably choose somewhere with a little more character.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Sherif H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews