We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rolandgebara

Worst experience for a very expensive hotel

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jun 2024
The rooms were dirty. The coffee machine was not working. They did not clean the room all day long. The front desk was rude. There is no concierge for help. The pool area was tiny for such a big hotel. The breakfast area was small for so many reservations.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this review
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

We would like to inform you that we have a dedicated Guest Relations desk located in front of the reception to assist with any inquiries or requests during your stay.
We appreciate your feedback and would like to assure you that your concerns are being taken seriously. If there is anything else you would like to share or discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a more enjoyable stay in the future.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$344
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $344
0.5 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Δίκλινο Δωμάτιο με Μπαλκόνι
$121
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
$383
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $383
3.1 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$254
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
    $254
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $311
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $283
  • Expedia.com
    $360
1.2 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $407
  • Expedia.com
    $440
2.0 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $602
  • Expedia.com
    $652
1.5 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $353
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $277
  • Expedia.com
    $346
2.2 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Athens
Reviews (1,467)
Filter reviews
1,467 results
Traveller rating
729
371
179
84
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
729
371
179
84
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar metro station nice hotel coffee machine acropolis view reception staff hop on hop off bus breakfast buffet is an amazing view top floor magda neighborhood taxis greece greek euro graffiti
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,467 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2024

The Wyndham Grand Athens is a solid hotel located centrally in Athens very convenient to the Acropolis and lots of good food and shopping. Its clean and has a great am breakfast spread on its rooftop level. While their pool may be a bit chilly for ny liking nothing beats their amazing day and night views of the acropolis. Breathtaking

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmyii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!
We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be centrally located, offering convenient access to the Acropolis, as well as a variety of dining and shopping options. It is wonderful to know that you appreciated the cleanliness of our facilities and enjoyed the extensive breakfast spread offered on our rooftop level.
We are especially delighted that you found the views of the Acropolis from our hotel to be breathtaking both during the day and at night.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another exceptional experience in Athens.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2024

The pool bar has a good vibe and a decent menu. The pool itself is very small.
Staff were busy but mostly still attentive after all it was a Saturday night.
Cocktails were great and quick to arrive. Music was from the 70’s and 80’s
Gets busy around 8 pm.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the vibrant atmosphere and diverse menu at our pool bar, complemented by a stunning view.
We appreciate your recognition of our staff's attentiveness. It's wonderful to hear that you found our cocktails to be excellent and served promptly.
Our selection of music from the 70's and 80's aims to create a nostalgic and enjoyable atmosphere for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another delightful visit.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2024

Apparently a 5 star hotel, but in my opinion, more 3 stars, out dated, needing renovation & repairs. For example, upon arrival, we found our toilet shoots water out of bowl every-time you flush, needing repair, and weighing machine doesn’t work. Caters to large groups, especially Americans. House-keeping atrocious, beware! You need to constantly call front desk for things like toilet paper, towels, kleenex tissue, replenish coffee/sugar/milk (which the front desk staff state they charge), however this rule seems to fluctuate, depending upon housekeeper & seems random, with no signage to indicate this policy. Front desk uncaring, unconcerned and overwhelmed, similarly with the servers on the 9th floor at breakfast- over worked, understaffed & really don’t care. We witnessed another guest having an issue at checkin and were surprised by how nasty & defensive the front desk attendant was. Few bright spots- Niki at the travel desk is outstanding to help guide you around the city and find great restaurants and plan your day. The breakfast manager is also amazing, always smiling & looking to help you find a table during peak times. Breakfast is reasonable with multiple choices, but not of the standard of a 5 star hotel, as stated. Location of the hotel is questionable with noticeable ghettos between the hotel and tourist areas. Best to use taxi at night. The metro station is next door, as is the hop on- off bus company stop. Walking to the main tourist areas are 15-20 min, but through run down areas. Another highlight is the 9th floor terrace top with great views of the city and Acropolis. Would I stay here again??- doubt it, until they improve their operations & housekeeping standards.

Room tip: Don’t be fooled by the beautiful pictures, it’s not a 5 star.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed the breakfast and the stunning views from our 9th-floor terrace.
We appreciate your comments on housekeeping and amenities, and we're committed to making improvements. Our prime location, close to the metro and tourist attractions, offers convenient access to the best of the city.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2024 via mobile

Our stay at Wyndham Grand Athens was decently average. Upon arrival, the hotel couldn't find our booking via Voyage Privé, even when presented with the printed confirmation. This led to several calls and a delayed check-in, but we got there in the end. The lobby, however, was lovely and created a welcoming first impression.

The room was decent and comfortable, albeit quite small (especially for a 5 star hotel) with a view of the hotel atrium, which wasn't very appealing. Cleanliness could have been better, as there was dust in the corners of both the bathroom and bedroom. The lighting was also incredibly dim.

The rooftop pool was a nice feature, though much smaller than anticipated, and the water was very cold. The breakfast selection was enjoyable and offered a good variety.

Unfortunately, the surrounding area of the hotel was unpleasant, with lots of graffiti, rundown alleys, and a pervasive smell of urine.

Overall, while there were some enjoyable aspects of our stay, there were several areas that could use improvement.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us following your recent stay at Wyndham Grand Athens. We truly appreciate your detailed feedback as it helps us improve our services and facilities. We are pleased to hear that you found our lobby to be lovely and welcoming upon your arrival. Creating a positive first impression is important to us, and we're glad that aspect of your stay met your expectations. We're also delighted that you enjoyed the rooftop pool, and that you found our breakfast selection enjoyable with a good variety. Providing a pleasant dining experience is something we strive for, and we're glad this was reflected during your stay.Your comments about the comfort of your room are duly noted, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured, we will review the cleanliness and lighting issues you mentioned to ensure a more comfortable and enjoyable experience for our guests in the futureYour feedback is invaluable to us as we continue to enhance our guest experience.
Thank you once again for choosing Wyndham Grand Athens. We look forward to welcoming you back for an even more enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2024 via mobile

Good value at a reasonable price during off season. Service is good as well. The area around the hotel is probably safe, but since the streets look a bit neglected and dirty, it didn’t feel like a 5-star experience. But close to the must see places of Athens.

Room tip: Uber/taxi overcharges for transfer from the airport, should be a flat rate. Ask Uber to adjust it.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ElifLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your positive comments about our service. Providing excellent service is a priority for us, and we're glad to hear that it contributed positively to your experience.Regarding the surrounding area that the rest assured, the safety and comfort of our guests are paramount.Our deepest apologies for the inconvenience we caused during your stay. We would like to inform you that our hotel is well protected by the police for our guests’ safety. We're pleased that our central location provided convenient access to the must-see places of Athens, making your visit enjoyable and convenient.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another better stay.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews