We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
barbara C
Zurrieq, Malta

Definitely not a 5 Star Hotel

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Nov 2023

This hotel falls well below the expectations one would have for a 5-star establishment. We had reserved two rooms, specifically requesting interconnecting rooms for our family with children. However, the rooms we were initially provided were in a deplorable state. They were incredibly dirty, with hairs on the bathroom floors, and a lingering stench of smoke from previous occupants. To make matters worse, the bathrobes and towels were stained and torn.

When we brought these issues to the attention of the hotel manager, they were kind and attempted to find us alternative rooms. While we did get relocated, it was clear that this hotel did not meet the standards one would associate with a 5-star rating.

As for breakfast, it was adequate but nothing remarkable to mention. I would not recommend or go back to this hotel.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Wyndham Grand Athens and for taking the time to rate your experience with us. We hope you accept our warmest apologies for any inconveniences you had during your stay. If we have not met your expectations to the utmost, we sincerely apologize. Rest assured that we have taken all your comments on board and will look into them in greater detail with the concerned departments. We understand your dissatisfaction, but we hope that although you have had this experience, we will be able to welcome you back in the future to ensure your next stay is much more satisfactory.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$308
  • Expedia.com
    $342
  • Agoda.com
    $234
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Free parking
$317
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    $306
  • travelup.com
    $315
1.9 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$298
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $358
  • Skyscanner.com
    $252
  • Hotels.com
    $309
1.2 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$367
  • Expedia.com
    $439
  • Hotels.com
    $439
  • Vio.com
2.0 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$608
  • Expedia.com
    $650
  • Agoda.com
    $532
  • Hotels.com
    $650
1.5 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Pool
$333
  • Expedia.com
    $375
  • Vio.com
    $289
  • Algotels
    $312
0.1 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Δίκλινο Δωμάτιο με Μπαλκόνι
$121
  • Expedia.com
    $121
  • Skyscanner.com
    $116
  • Hotels.com
    $119
1.7 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
$286
  • Expedia.com
    $345
  • StayForLong
    $277
  • Hotels.com
    $383
2.2 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$391
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $382
  • Hotels.com
    $383
  • Tripadvisor
    $382
3.1 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$258
  • Booking.com
    $259
  • Skyscanner.com
    $236
  • Expedia.com
    $258
0.6 km from Wyndham Grand Athens
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Athens
Reviews (1,467)
Filter reviews
1,467 results
Traveller rating
729
371
179
84
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
729
371
179
84
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar metro station nice hotel coffee machine acropolis view reception staff hop on hop off bus breakfast buffet is an amazing view top floor magda neighborhood taxis greece greek euro graffiti
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,467 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2023 via mobile

The suite we reserved was not available at check in. 24/7 room service not available, was left with cold sliced meat. No water available, front seat was no help always saying. I’m sorry!
A conference was in place which they catered to, but not regular guests.

They said our room would be expedited and would call us. Never did. So we went to the counter at 4pm then they gave us a room.

Our bags were delayed, so they were delivered to the front desk (which we informed them with a reference number ) which they accepted, but failed to tell us our bags were there. For 5 hours.

DO NOT STAY HERE!! Terrible, a bunch of children running this place.

Room tip: Do Not Book!!
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trip15980235055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Wyndham Grand Athens and for taking the time to rate your experience with us. We hope you accept our warmest apologies for any inconveniences you had during your stay. Rest assured that we have taken all your comments on board and will look into them in greater detail with the concerned departments. We understand your dissatisfaction, but we hope that although you have had this experience, we will be able to welcome you back in the future to ensure your next stay is much more satisfactory.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2023 via mobile

After reading recent reviews I didn’t want to go, after booking. All I can say is we had a great time. From checking in until departure, staff were all lovely, friendly and helpful. Ok, hotel not in greatest area but we never had any issues. Much like other European cities. Just be careful. Room was good, clean, everything we needed. Only a couple of things, maybe another English spoken channel for later at night, bathrooms prob need a bit of tlc. Not in cleaning, our room was spotless. Lighting too! Thank you Wyndham Grand, the really bad reviews not merited.

Room tip: Just be careful in Athens generally.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Wyndham Grand Athens and for taking the time to rate your experience with us. Rest assured that we have taken all your comments on board and will look into them in greater detail with the concerned departments. We truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2023 via mobile

Not compared with US just wow. Great pool top floor. Great for business great location steps from Metro and hop on hop off busses. Looking for Greek food . Step out 25feet across to mironi restaurant just the best in town. Reservations recommended Meuter Media

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Guest,

Let us thank you for recommending Wyndham Grand Athens after the experience you had with us! We truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2023

Male staff in reception and restaurant were disinterested and rude. Female staff were excellent. Our meal was nice but I had to go and get the menus. I think the cook brought out the main meal and had no idea how to place the plates. Plates with leftovers were piled up on a table where you paid and the disinterested waiter coerced us into a 10% tip although I tried to refuse citing poor service.
We won’t eat there again. Although the surrounding area is grungy there are a couple of restaurants that look ok on the street
I think there is a small clicky group of entitled male staff causing all the problems and poor service. They would be a nightmare to work with. I feel sorry for the female staff working with them. They were professional and doing their best.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Wyndham Grand Athens and for taking the time to rate your experience with us. We are both concerned and disappointed to know that you were not pleased with our staff. We generally receive very complimentary reviews on the level of professionalism and friendliness of our staff. Nonetheless, we thank you for sharing your observation, which we will utilize as a tool in our coaching efforts. We are also sorry to read that your experience in the restaurant area was below your expectations. We strive to achieve the best levels of quality and service, and we truly regret that we fell short of our goals. Rest assured that we have taken all your comments on board and will look into them in greater detail with the concerned departments. We understand your dissatisfaction, but we hope that although you have had this experience, we will be able to welcome you back in the future to ensure your next stay is much more satisfactory.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2023

BED BUGS!!!!!!! I stayed there 1 night and was bitten so bad by bed bugs. I realized that on my flight back so didn't complain to the hotel. I got back home and had to call professional to spray my house and luggage. Surely enough they found bed bugs in my luggage. I contacted the hotel (sent 3 emails) but never heard back. I called customer service in the US and didn't get help. I really wanted them to be aware and treat the room. Very poor customer service.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Iris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeus International, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Wyndham Grand Athens and for taking the time to rate your experience with us. We deeply apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay. In regards to your comments about the bugs, let us inform you that the hotel takes all the necessary measures regarding pest control, according to Greek law and Wyndham standards. Thank you for your concern. Rest assured that we have taken all your comments on board and will look into them in greater detail with the concerned departments. We hope you accept our warmest apologies and we hope that although you have had this experience, we will be able to welcome you back in the future to ensure your next stay is much more satisfactory.

Kind Regards,
Maria Tzahani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews