We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,203)
Filter reviews
1,203 results
Traveller rating
604
389
126
53
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
389
126
53
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aveda spa infinity pool shuttle service sushi local beaches beach shuttle carmichaels restaurant all inclusive option all inclusive plan nest beach free shuttle steak night land rover breakfast plan main restaurant sheer rocks main pool
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,203 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

We were treated wonderful by everyone.
Our room was wonderful. The hotel was clean and the food was excellent ! We got shuttled to the beaches. And all around the hotel property. All the staff made themselves available if needed. Beautiful grounds !

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Caren Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Lovely to read you had a wonderful time with us and you were treated well.
Please don't wait too long before coming back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

We had an incredible time at Sugar Ridge! The staff was friendly, always greeting us promptly and with a smile. The property/rooms were clean, quiet and well-appointed. Food was yummy (we loved the grilled ham & cheese with fries at the pool bar)...and the rum punch served upon arrival became our “drink of choice” for the rest of the trip. Massages at the Aveda spa were amazing too!

The resort is within walking distance to two beaches and Jolly Harbour. Of course, the views of Antigua adds to experience at Sugar Ridge resort.

We had so much fun! We are already talking about a return trip!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank iugirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank for your review.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the food staff and Aren't the rum punches amazing!
We would love to see you all again soon....dont forget to let us know when you are going and well do our best to get you into the room you'd like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We only visited Sugar Ridge. We dined there three times for breakfast & one time for dinner at Carmichael's. We also rented a car from their facility. The entire staff was more than friendly. The food was the best quality we found around Jolly Harbour. The grounds were immaculate and the restaurants were spotless.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience when coming to dine and rent a car.
Our staff try very hard to make everyone feel at home .
Please come and see us all again soon and maybe next time stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

The rooms were nice and clean. The view we had from our room was nice. We did request a room with a plunge pool but one was not available when we were checking in and the one that was just becoming available didn't have a good view so we went back to the room with we originally were given.

There are steps to get to most of the rooms. I repeat THERE ARE STEPS. Our room was 94 steep steps from the entrance. There is a shuttle, but you may have to wait a little to use it.

My one real criticism is the staff are kinda unforgiving and some were not very helpful. When we went to go checkout it turned out that all the Bills in the Sugar Club restaurant were in USD even though all the food was listed in EC. When i asked at checkout what she thought about my $13 US tip for a $15 meal, She just shrugged her shoulders.

To protect yourself from this type of overly unforgiving abusive power, I suggest you not TIP. I repeat DO NOT TIP! There is a service charge fee included in the price of things Island wide. Do not make my mistake. The hotel may not like to hear that, but it's better than getting shrugged at.

If you feel like tipping make sure you write in ED or USD next to the amount you think your tipping.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have an obstructed view. Be sure to ask.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank howie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Firstly, Thankyou for your comments and pleased to read you enjoyed your room.

We regret any confusion over your bill and that you found our staff to be unhelpful.
If you look carefully at your paper receipts the totals are printed in both US and EC Dollars, there is also a clear notations of a 10% service charge.
I assure you that a tip of 13$ on a 15$ bill is more of a math error than anything approaching "unforgiving abuse of power"

We would be glad to refund your 13$ and are sorry again that you found our staff unforgiving,

Please contact Jolie in reservations and she will organize the refund onto your card.

We wish you well with any future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

We were greeted with a lovely rum punch and a friendly smile from reception. We were shown to our room within minutes. We did have 47 steps to climb to our room. We were a little disappointed at the size as we thought being a deluxe room there would be more space. The photos were deceiving! We also thought it would have more secluded las they said that in the hotel review, in fact we had people walking past our room frequently.
The food was good, however, service was inconsistent, sometimes we were served the correct order with a smile other times we didn’t get what we ordered and the staff acted as they didn’t want to be there. This is a shame as this could be a lovely, friendly hotel.
Transport to the beaches were spot on, never had to wait more than 5 minutes and took us to our preferred beach every time even though there are set days to go to certain beaches. Well done guys, sorry did get your names.
The pool areas were always quiet, which we loved and we had an amazing lovely lady look after us. Cynthia knew are names, knew what we drank and knew when we wanted them, we never had to ask. She even made sure we were topped up with water. She is a real asset to the hotel and I hope she gets the recognition she derseves. She was the main reason we stayed by the pools. A very jolly, care free lady who brightened everyone’s day.
The overall holiday experience was mediocre, it could be a fantastic place to stay but a few things let it down. The main one being the early evening closers. They had excellent bands, singers, however, they started early and finished early. Once they finished, there wasn’t any other back ground music and staff were clearing everything away. You left by 10 you were in the way as they all wanted to go home. This isn’t how clientele should feel.
Positives, Cynthia and my facial, the best I’ve ever had, well done ladies, you two made my holiday experience worth while

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you Debbie for taking the time to write a constructive review of our hotel , we take them all very seriously and we will make sure we pass along all of your comments both good and bad. We are all working on doing better .
The staff you mentioned in particular will be thrilled for their shout out.
Please come back and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews