We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Ridge Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tamarind Hills(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,171)
Filter reviews
1,171 results
Traveller rating
580
385
123
52
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
385
123
52
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaveda spainfinity poolshuttle servicesushilocal beachesbeach shuttlenature walkcarmichaels restaurantall inclusive optionall inclusive plannest beachfree shuttlesteak nightmain restaurantbreakfast plansheer rocksland rover
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,171 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently returned from our vacation at the Sugar Ridge due to Aveda Pure Privilege, which means we had three free nights stay due to points from Aveda and we stayed an additional three nights for which we paid. Positive thoughts: Pretty and spacious rooms with beautiful views, some cheerful and friendly staff (Yvonne at the pool towel stand, the woman who works at the pool bar, and housekeeping staff are upbeat and welcoming each day) and a great pool area. The hotel is somewhat secluded so the setting is very peaceful and with beautiful views of the ocean and the mountains. Carmichaels, the restaurant on top of the resort, offers beautiful views and a decent, albeit very overpriced, dining experience. The manager is very friendly and welcoming. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job each day cleaning our room. Vorn, the resident hike guide, was amazing and we did three hikes with him during our stay.

Negative comments: Overpriced food in small portions, unfriendly, nonchalant, and unhelpful staff in the reception and Sugar Club restaurant, and horrible experience at the spa. We received complimentary massages at the Aveda spa and it was a terrible experience. I am very familiar with Aveda and other spa experiences and this spa was inconsistent with Aveda's philosophy on well being I felt as though I was being smacked, jolted, and manhandled during my massage. When I complained about her roughness, my "masseuse" firmly reminded me that this was a "complimentary" massage and that she will provide the massage as she saw fit. Our facials were similarly rough and not at all relaxing. She expected a tip at the end even though we felt that she did not deserve it.

Breakfast was included with our stay and the portions were stingy. Ask for breakfast potatoes with your eggs and you will either get 10 potatoes or none at all (despite repeatedly asking your server for them). Order ice cream for dessert after dinner and you will receive one tablespoon sized scoop that will cost you US$8.00. Make sure to carefully review every bill as we were overcharged on every bill at the Sugar Club Restaurant (e.g. charged for two steaks during 2 for 1 steak night, charged US$32.00 for a US$22.00 dish, charged for alcoholic drinks when none were ordered, etc.). We were also charged for the "complimentary" massages at the spa and had to have that corrected as well. When we checked out, we discovered that we were charged US$40.00 for the pool towels even though we returned our pool towel passes. We felt that the resort attempted to make additional money at every chance it can.

In addition, beware of the automatic 10% "service charge" for everything, This is essentially a gratuity even though the staff vaguely claims that it is a "hotel service charge." We found the staff constantly expecting additional gratuities without earning it. You are charged a whopping US$20.00 gratuity each night of your stay in your room so I do not recommend leaving an additional tip for housekeeping upon your departure.

Accordingly, I do not recommend the Sugar Ridge Resort as I am sure there are other resorts that offer more relaxing experiences and employ and train their staff in a manner appropriate for a vacation destination.

Room Tip: If you have a disability, this resort may be inaccessible to you.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank CALMFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review,
Firstly we are pleased to read your positive comments ....
However, we are so sorry to read your negatives
Yes, there is 10% service charge on your bill when you check out and for this reason there is no need to tip anyone any extra at any time as this is divided up amongst staff (like every other hotel on the island).
.....If there were accounting errors please again accept our apology and be assured we are not trying to make any additional money any chance we get.

We have looked through our Spa records and have found the services you had. Our Aveda trained staff were under the impression you had a relaxing time with us,
We are afraid we have no record of complaint on file (We highly encourage guests who have a complaint to let us know whilst they are in resort as then we have a chance to make any wrongs right).
Again please accept our apologies for any oversights and should you ever wish to return to stay with us please make us aware and we assure you Your stay will be excellent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We chose this hotel for a spring holiday, needing some sun. Most things about it are quite nice--the rooms themselves are well appointed and comfortable, the views are quite stunning, and the food in the restaurants was tasty and well-prepared, as a rule. We met several staff members who went the extra mile and were quite engaging, so no complaints there. We were, however, unpleasantly surprised by a couple of things, and thought it only fair to warn others if these things were important to them. First, we chose the hotel because it had individual plunge pools (that's the room type we booked.) It was very disappointing to find that, although the pool looked inviting, the design was such that it was almost completely in shade all day, so it consequently was miserably cold---we didn't use it at all. If this is important to you, beware! Also, if you don't like climbing up and down steep hills, this may not the be place for you. The stroll down the hill was perfectly fine, but it is very steep going back up, particularly if you want to go to the restaurant or pool all the way at the top. Yes, there are transport carts you can call, but in our experience, this always took a LONG time, which got annoying. If you try to find your way up to the restaurant at the top, and decide to go via the path (not the road) after dark, BRING A FLASHLIGHT! It's not lit, and is a bit dangerous if you can't see where you're going. We found getting there very stressful, with broken steps and rocks along the path---you really need to be able to see to go that way. As this was a while ago, perhaps they've added some lights---I hope so; it seemed like an accident waiting to happen. My last word of warning is, if you're accustomed to being close enough to walk out onto the beach, you may find this frustrating, as that is not possible. You have to go to the beaches via shuttle (driven by a wonderful guy, in our experience), so you have to plan to go on their schedule, not your own. These few things sort of ruined the holiday for us---as I said, your expectations and needs may be different and you may love it--I hope so. Just know what you're booking before you go, ok? One last note: the pool at the top of the resort (by the restaurant) is a gorgeous little oasis--very small, but quite tranquil most days, and definitely worth investigating.

Stayed: May 2017
5  Thank ksott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Its lovely to read you enjoyed our rooms , view and food.
We are sorry you felt our transport to Carmichaels' took to long and will pass your comments along to our driver.
We do as you mention also have a complimentary shuttle that takes our guests to the beach but when hotel is full we have to run a set schedule, we hope that guests like yourself understand why.
Should you ever visit Antigua again please do consider staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a week long trip to beautiful Antigua and I stayed at the
lovely Sugar Ridge Hotel. It’s an interesting site with self contained rooms located in
the hills (four rooms per unit of accommodation). The higher the room the
better the view of the sea. (NB room 25 has stunning sunsets!)

Rooms were well appointed and of a very good size. Attractive, modern
and very comfortable.  In order to access the rooms there are very steep concrete stairs or pathways. The shuttle service provides an alternative route but either
way bring suitable/walking shoes (Heels will be hazardous)!

The hotel is nestled in the hills near Jolly Harbour and is further out from
the main Jolly beach strip. However, the beach is accessible via the hotel’s
complimentary shuttle service to 2 local beaches (Valley Church andTurners).

My preference was Valley Church beach it was stunning, beautiful and very busy as it attracted cruise ship passengers. But by 3pm the beach was far less busy - almost deserted!

The hotel is approximately 5 miles away from St. John’s so the capital was
accessible via taxi or by local bus (number 22 or 20 from outside the
hotel). The bus was easy enough and provided a taste of the real Antigua.

During the week there were some good entertainment in the evening (Calypso
and Steel bands).

Staff were friendly and was happy to go the extra mile to help. Shuttle drivers (Jervon & Cartwright) were efficient. Reception staff were always
professional (Nafuna and Cherrisa).

Service at breakfast was ok and the supervisor was very attentive. After having all inclusive on my first night, I decided to stick to the BB option as the food was not as good as other hotels that I’ve
experienced across the Caribbean. This was probably the only negative about
the hotel.

The Sugar Ridge is a Hotel for those wanting a quiet break - whether
honeymooners, solo travellers or families. I had a relaxing time and I was
able to unwind and forget about work and home...

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
3  Thank Annie27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Annie for such an in-depth review. Im sure other readers will find it super useful.
Its lovely to read our staff were working hard to ensure you stay with us went well and those mentioned will be thrilled with their shout outs.
Please come back and stay with us all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Stayed in Room 19. Would recommend not staying in room 30 and upwards as there if a multi storey building going up obscuring your view. There was a visiting yogi there the week we stayed so we enjoyed twice daily yoga in the fabulous new Yoga shed which is on an elevated platform above the resort with stunning views of the bay. Carlene at the pool bar is a great character and mixes a mean cocktail. Carmichael’s Restaurant food is very much better than the regular restaurant offering but pricey. The food in the general dinning room is disappointing, unnecessarily complicated and generally bland. Didn’t use the spa but fellow guests complained about not being able to get a booking. Nice rooms, very comfortable bed. Staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. I found the noise from the road a nuisance when sitting on the balcony - it didn’t bother my husband.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ROUNDSPRING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Sorry to read you werent wowed by the food in Sugar Club but lovely to read to enjoyed Carmichaels and our staff.
We do get booked out in our Aveda Spa and always recommend booking in advance just to be safe:).
Please come back and visit with us all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Having just come back from Antigua.I cannot say enough about the sugar ridge resort.Everything about this resort was great.From the staff to the facilities.We went to the beach every day in a shuttle provided by the hotel.Some of the staff from Carly at the bar,Rose in the dining room,and Glendon who drove the beach shuttle are the people that you want to go back to the resort for.

Room Tip: Choose a room up near the reception should you wish to get a nice view from your room.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christ093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Its wonderful to read you had a great time with us and enjoyed not only The hotel, The beach but the staff too .
We will ll be sure to pass along your kind words..they will be thrilled for their shout outs.
Please come back and see us all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews