We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
55
21
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
21
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspedestrianised streetrecommend casafreshly squeezed orange juiceloved portocity centresmall balconybed was comfortablelocation is greathamstayed for nightsfirst floorwithin walking distancericardopropertyruahostsstylish
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

This is a fantastic, charming place to stay in Porto. I recently stated here with a number of my family and I cannot say enough good things about the rooms, the house as a whole, and the staff and manager!!!

The house is an amazing and beautifully resorted townhome on a lovely shopping street with lots of shops and restaurants. It’s also maybe 5 min from the historic center of the city so you are close but don’t have to feel you are staying in the touristy part of town. Breakfast on offer was healthy and filling, the beds were comfy, everything was very clean, and the staff were very helpful. Strongly recommend

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if available as its great to sit outside and relax there
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahS4112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

While the rate is reasonable the owner is not accommodating or hospitable, which is not the type of service you would expect at a bed and breakfast. He charged us 25 euro for late check in - claiming it was “policy” and that he had sent us the check in details when we booked so it was our fault ( this email was sent 7 months prior to our stay and was never communicated to us again at any point in the last 7 months). There are many other cute bed and breakfasts with charm and better service in Porto. I’d stay elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Alissa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We stayed for 4 nights in Casa Carolina and knew as soon as we walked in that we couldn't have found anywhere better. The house was beautifully renovated with lovely retro and period pieces of furniture. We stayed in a standard double room at the front of the house, overlooking the main street. The room was spacious with a lovely bathroom and amazing shower. The owner Ioli was so generous in her time, highlighting places to go on the map. We had already done our research and had lots of places we wanted to visit but Ioli still managed to find us a few places we wouldn't have known about. The breakfast was wonderful, freshly squeezed orange juice, a selection of bread, rolls and pastries with fruits, yoghurts,cheeses and ham, we were also offered eggs any way we preferred. Marianna who served breakfast was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Rua de Cedofeita is a lively, busy street by day, with an abundance of little shops, cafes and a gelataria. We enjoyed sitting in the house garden late afternoon with our ice cream from the shop opposite. The house was centrally located and within walking distance of the centre of town and very near the metro which we took to and from the airport. We were not bothered by noise from the street but did not stay over a weekend when I think more bars may be open . Yes we could hear some other guests coming and going but you are staying in a house so this is to be expected, but this in no way detracted from the enjoyment of our stay.

We loved Porto and hope to return one day, we would certainly hope to stay again at Casa Carolina, for us it was perfect.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms at the back of the house may be quieter but we were not bothered by noise from the street.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mystarrynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile


We had a great time in Casa Caolina. The host was amazing very helpful and friendly. She helped us with traveling tips in porto, reservation for restaurants and to locate our lost luggages.
The breakfast was great, fresh, healthy and tasty.
The room was big, spacious & beautiful.
We will defiantly come back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Amir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Friendly staff, delicious breakfast (except scambled egg). The location is great, the rooms are nice. Unfortunately, late check-out was not possible, but is next time we are in Porto we will return here.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews