We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Aurora

Aurora
Ranked #291 of 2,114 Restaurants in Porto
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Menu End of year 2016-2017 Amuse de bouche Tuna Tuna with Celery Cream Drinks: Sparkling wine Tonic port Dry white port Cold entry Crab cake with mix of lettuces and old mustard vinaigrette Foie gras and fig Hot entrance Cream of cauliflower, floured scallop, and chive oil beverage Rosé sparkling wine Main dishes Fish Cod confit in butter of crustaceans, and mini glazed vegetables beverage White Wine White House of Captain Mor Alvarinho Cut flavors Lime and ginger ice cream Meat Piglet belly, green apple and sweet potato chips beverage Alentejo Red Wine Herdade do Rocim or Douro Red Quinta do Cume Selection Dessert Tribute to Abbot of Priscos with cream of sparkling wine beverage Taylor's Port Wine To finish The coffee and Mignardises (bonbons and truffles) 00h.00 Sparkling wine and raisins This is a menu that we prepared for 85.00 per person. In the event you prefer without drinks included the price will be Euros 60.00 per person. We have the room available to keep you going until you want with a good selection of music. I would like to hear your opinion and, if need be, discuss an alternative. Once again very grateful for your contact and the firm expectation of receiving you here at Aurora, Always available. Best regards Maria Castro Aurora Restaurant Rua de Entreparedes, 34-38 4000-197 Porto
Reviewed 31 October 2018

The menu is limited, so you should look at it before committing to eat here. If you do the foods were all very well prepared and tasty. The service was friendly and professional.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rich1234Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

I obviously just looked at 4 rating without reading the detailed reviews! Downstairs was full but the waiter said to go upstairs. There is a limited menu and having decided, we waited 15 minutes at least to get our order taken, even get a drink. Various customers left, despite having risotto on the menu, they were only offering potatoes with mains. Having waited 45-55 minutes for starters, we asked how long for main, it came quite quick after, but my duck arrived over done with no sign or apology for missing mushroom risotto. I could leave quick enough. Over priced, poor service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LouiseH562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I was the early bird and received lots of attention.
The fish soup was truly stunning with nice chunks of firm fish and a prawn. Beautifully spiced and not salty at all. My Octopus main is what I came to the place for. It was perfectly cooked, nice and tender, perfectly seasoned and the potatoes and spinach ideal accompaniments.
Overall a most satisfying meal of a good standard and good service.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Horst B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

They took over 1 hour to serve us and there were only about 10 pax. We could her the chef and the waiters fighting in the kitchen.

The waiter ws rude and with no matters.

Food was okay but certainly not worth the price.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Because Aurora is so close to the NH Collection Hotel, and because it looks quaint and charming, the temptation will be there to give this place a try. Don't do it. Leaving aside everything else -- including the hour wait-time for our starter, and another hour for the entrees -- nothing can really compensate for seafood that isn't fresh. And the prawns I ordered were far from fresh, both by taste and by smell. This is just an absolute deal-killer for any restaurant. I am giving Aurora a second star mainly because the waiter seemed like a nice guy, and the salad was fine, though hardly worth the wait.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurora also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing