We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
53
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
9
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A Lagosta Perdida is a modernised old stone house nestled in Montesinho, a small mountain village that time forgot hidden in the Montesinho National Park about 30 mins drive from Braganca. This ancient village, with its narrow cobbled streets and alleys and old stone houses could be a film set. Its location is stunning surrounding by pristine countryside.

Robert, the owner (a Dutchman who spent many years lobster farming on the west coast of Scotland - hence the name of the house, 'The Lost Lobster'), has done a wonderful job in making the house very comfortable and cosy whilst retaining its character - lots of beams, stone interior walls, tasteful wooden furniture, candles, etc. We had a bedroom with stone steps down to a cobbled alley with eye-catching views over the swimming pool area and the fields and hills beyond. It was large, well furnished with a big bed and a modern bathroom. A couple of light bulbs had blown in the bathroom and the bathplug did not retain the water but they were minor inconveniences.

We ate a 3-course dinner there and it was tasty and the portions generous. A carafe of wine was included. Breakfast was similarly good with a wide choice of yoghurt, breads, cereal, juice, eggs, coffee, tea, etc. Robert could not have been a more helpful and nothing was too much bother.

Parking is in a secure, underground garage which is useful as there is little or no on-street parking nearby.

A Lagosta Perdida is a great base for walking which is why most guests come. It is slightly out-of-the-way but well worth the effort getting there. If you like beautiful countryside, a charming old house, a welcoming host and waking up to birdsong in the morning, this is definitely the place for a few restful days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twofreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

. Wonderful traditional house which has been renovated to boutique hotel standard, whilst retaining the charm and relaxed atmosphere of a friendly home. Our lofty ceilinged bedroom was beautiful with tea/coffee facilities, a huge bed and balcony. Our delectable dinner was served by convivial host (Robert) as was our generous and delicious breakfast.

The village is extraordinary and enchanting, as is the landscape - A Lagosta Perdida is a magical place.

Room Tip: Reserve dinner in advance.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just stayed 4 nights in this charming guest-house/hotel. Beautifully and stylishly restored but never "stuffy". An attentive but relaxed and friendly welcome from Robert and his family - it felt like a very beautiful version of home! We did several walks in the stunning hills and valleys around Montesinho, meeting almost no-one. Robert provided detailed advice and maps, - the path was tricky to find in places and we did get a bit 'perdida' but Amy the Lagosta dog led us faithfully all the way. The village is extremely tranquil, views wonderful. Excellent homecooked portuguese food. Could not recommend more highly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilaryos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It's like stepping back in time, this really characterful place has been restored lovingly and carefully by the present owners.

The rooms have touches of wooden beams and remnants of old stone walls, and the whole place is charming. Our room was comfortably furnished, with a small seating area, and modern bathroom, equipped with kettle. However, this time of the year (November) is very cold, and our room took a long time to heat up (which wasn't helped by the pilot light on the furnace that kept on blowing out). The mattress, however, was very hard.

We arranged to have dinner here, which was a good decision, since it's a long drive, at night on winding mountain roads, to Braganca. Dinner was served in a cute dining room, with wood stove. Servings were generous, and our meal was delicious. Being winter, we didn't have the opportunity to make use of the outdoor spaces, which included a vine-covered patio and nice views.

Parking was in their garage which was handy, as there is no real parking on the streets. It was a good location from which to explore the surrounding mountain park and other small stone villages.

Very unique, and definitely worth a visit to this magical B&B!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were originally booked to stay in Lagosta Perdida for just one night, but both the beauty of the Montesinho National Park, the wonderful walks (very well mapped, and described by the Lagosta Perdida) made us stay another night....and in hindsight we should have stayed even longer.

Lagosta Perdida feels like home, and Robert was a great host for us - cooking incredible meals, letting us play with his gorgeous dogs (once we had assured him that we loved them), and gave us great directions for the walks, and even a dog to take with us :)

I would highly recommend this place to anyone. They also have horses and can organise horse trips just down the road in the next town.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews