We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
260
270
44
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
270
44
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews municipal gardens rooftop bar central location old town the ritz la vie small pool great shower excellent location breakfast room shopping centre noisy at night the main hotel area air con sized room easy walking distance walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We only stayed here for our last night before leaving to go home. It is centrally located, near the cathedral and close to the Old Town. There are restaurants and bars very close, and several more within about a 15 minute walk. We thought it was very nice - clean, comfortable room, nice bathroom, little balcony, and lovely helpful staff. We had a late flight home, and we were allowed to stay in the room until we needed to leave, without charge. The breakfast was good, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to be in the centre rather than the hotel zone. Oh, and the roof terrace was super. We sat (alone) up there for some time in the evening with a glass of wine, just looking at the lights of the city. It was a good way to end a lovely week's holiday.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Margaretjoe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Lovely hotel in the middle of Funchal. Easy reach of the harbour and town. Clean rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. Artur was particularly helpful when we needed to sort out our pick up for the airport.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel very clean and super nice people Arthur helped us with heating and was very kind and helpful we stayed for two weeks of heaven much better then any other 3 star I have ever been to before

Date of stay: February 2018
2  Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

after a bit of a hiccup with the room at check in which was sorted out straight away thank you
the hotel is the best we have stayed in in funchal from the clean public areas to the bedrooms and the staff are wonderful.
special mention to miguel who is in the bar a few nights and beakfast he is a nice guy and been there for 20 years i think he said a credit to the hotel.
one criticism are the kids who go to the bar who get one coffee smoke and at times are annoying why they let them in i dont know although when asked to be quiet they at least did tone it down.
will we go again yes and hopefully for new year this time

ps yes you can hear the music mainly elvis from the ritz but finishes at 11pm

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank nigelpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Excellent position near the Marina and on the relatively level section. Good clean room, comfy bed, nice shower room, plenty of room for toiletries. Streets on three sides, but quiet at night. Good breakfast, friendly staff. Nice rooftop pool and bar area and lovely bar manager. But where do all the teenagers come from who more or less monopolise the roof terrace and smoke and squeal at every comment - in the manner of teenagers everywhere? At one point they had all the chairs from all the tables and there was no room for guests.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews