We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,414)
Filter reviews
3,414 results
Traveller rating
1,440
1,287
505
130
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,440
1,287
505
130
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice roomoscar niemeyerdockside barindoor poolbalcony furnitureoverlooking the harbourold townhalf boardfive star hotelsteam roombuilding sitecruise linerslarge hotelpublic areasgreat positionplenty of choicetown centre
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 3,414 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Quoting five star but really only a four star, rooms nice but a little tired. First impression from the staff was excellent checking in. All the staff were very good. Good choice of breakfast but some items such as beans and mushrooms were always cold. Nice coffee and variety of teas. Spa area was very nice but disappointed ice room and Turkish out of order for the week. Great location with a short stroll to the centre of Funchal and some good restaurants opposite. The bus from the airport stops directly outside with a 5 Euro fare each.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoA_Carrico, Gerente at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Mr. Stephen P. ,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and views. At Pestana Casino Park, we take our guests’ feedback seriously as this is the only way we can truly measure and continuously improve the service we provide to our guests.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the Ice room and Turkish bath. We can understand your level of disappointment and we express our profound regrets for this unfortunate incident. We would like to assure you that this is not the normal standard of the Pestana Casino Park.
Unfortunately there were urgent maintenance works that needed to be done and we had to temporary close theml in order to solve the problem. We' ve already reopened the ice room and turkish bath to our guests and now we are running in our normal way.

On a positive note thank you for your comments about our staff, breakfast offerings, coffee and teas and SPA area,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we will be delighted if you return.

Kindest Regards
Fernando Carriço
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We have experienced helpful staff before, but they were always very distant and cold. In Pestana, however, we were amazed by how friendly and professional the staff was at the same time. They helped me with a big and genuine smile with any of my requests. We really had great time.
Of course the rooms could get a so-called face-lift, but as they are cleaned so properly, it did actually not bother us.
At the breakfast, they ALWAYS had gluten free bread and HOT lactose free milk ready for me very fast. Just ask for it. I also asked for a separate beacon as theirs was served on the toast (I understand it gathers the fat). No one rolled their eyes at me and just brought me some from the kitchen. What a service. Oh and their chairs are so comfortable. This, plus the view - I didn't want to leave the dining area.
Really good massage experience too, can only recommend!
Sauna is good, specially after getting soaked outside thanks to the storm. The inside pool water is about 27 degrees, it could be warmer as it is really not a long length swimming, but rather a relaxing pool and usually those are around 36 degrees.
Another plus - they have a gym. So when it's a bad weather you can work out there.
The lobby bar could carry some fancier rum that one could enjoy and sip without coke. I love Havana 7 that they offer with coke, but it is not good enough for me to just sip it pure. The lobby was somewhat cold, but we didn't freeze. Actually, after ordering some drinks it was quite nice. But I can see how old people could complain.
Location is also excellent, not far from the down-town and it has many super good restaurants just in 5min distance.
We will be staying there again. Hopefully soon! Thank you Pestana staff for making our stay so enjoyable. You had a best employee of the month competition, but they ALL deserve a medal.

Room Tip: There is a construction site near by and you might want to ask for a room facing to the other direction.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2UM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoA_Carrico, Gerente at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest " 2UM",

Warm greetings from Pestana Casino Park. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for having praised our staffs and facilities, I will certainly share your comments to all our staff and for their exemplary service attitude.

We certainly cannot wait to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Fernando Carriço
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is prominent on the coastline but could use some updates in rooms. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. The casino is next door to the hotel and was a nice way to spend a little time in the evening.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank suzanneamendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoA_Carrico, Gerente at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Guest "suzanneamendt",

Thank you for taking your time posting your review about your most recent stay with us. At the Pestana Casino Park, we take all guest comments very seriously as many of our guests have our best interest at heart when they take the time to give us constructive feedback to help us improve.

Thank you for highlighting our staff for their exceptional service. I will share your comments with the team who will be glad to hear them.

Please do make the time for another visit in the not too distant future and we are all glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Best regards,
Fernando Carriço
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Interesting that many people have marked this hotel down. It's big, and carries the history of a named architect, but get beyond that and it is fine. We had a city facing room - not sea view, but it was spacious. In fact, it was perfect for looking over the balcony at a whole range of great restaurants and pubs (Moynihans is clearly visible as is Berninis).
We did have a faulty mini fridge - and once we reported it, it was replaced within 20 minutes. You cannot ask for more in terms of response.
We had bad storms during our visit, but I would really like to try this hotel in good summer weather. Its outside pool is an infinity one looking out over the harbour towards any cruise ships that may be in. It does have a pool bar - but closed when we were there for obvious reasons - Storm Emma was thrashing the island.
We had breakfast here - nothing to complain about here - excellent choices, hot or cold, including eggs cooked to your individual taste. And great views from the dining room .
The reception area is immense - but let's call it grand. It is. The reception staff are very good and helpful and attentive.
On the whole, I wonder what some people have complained about. We had a great short stay there and hope to do the same again. In fact, given its location to restaurants, its easy walk down the hill to the town and frequency of buses back up the hill why would I stay elsewhere?

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gvs951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoA_Carrico, Gerente at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Guest "gvs951" ,

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience with fellow travellers, we offer you our gratitude.

I am extremely delighted to know that you had an amazing stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Fernando Carriço
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

This was classed as a5* however whole place could do with a facelift. Our room was small and dark. at the end of a long poorly lit corridor. It faced a busy road junction so was very noisy. Bathroom had no ventilation. Hairdrier very poor & award to use. Buffet breakfast was ok but when dinning room is busy it can be very chaotic. Our weather was bad so all outside facilities were closed for the period of our stay but we did use the indoor pool which was very pleasant. Not a lot of holiday atmosphere so would class this more for business travellers.

Room Tip: High even numbers face a busy road junction and can be very noisy but would get the afternoon sun. Odd numbers would get the morning sun but might be quieter
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernandoA_Carrico, Gerente at Pestana Casino Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Mr. William M. ,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and views. At Pestana Casino Park, we take our guests’ feedback seriously as this is the only way we can truly measure and continuously improve the service we provide to our guests.
We are disappointed to hear you didn’t find our accommodations offerings excellent, and we apologize for being unable to impress you in this aspect. I will certainly share your feedback with the relevant heads of department to ensure maintain the highest standards of service are maintained at all times.

On a positive note, I am very glad that you have enjoyed our indoor pool.

Thank you once again for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We aim to improve and we look forward to serving you better in the future.

Kind regards,
Fernando Carriço
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews