We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
438
194
34
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
194
34
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews round building vila lido direct access to the ocean sea view huge supermarket well stocked supermarket through rci happy hour excellent supermarket small kitchenette pool area owner relations sound of the waves breakfast restaurant steep hill shopping complex self catering
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful hotel for a week at Funchal. It was our first visit to this paradise island and we loved every second of our stay here. Our room was on the 8th floor overlooking the ocean and so commanded a magnificent panoramic view . It was spacious, sparkling clean and felt like a ‘home’ away from home! The staff were very receptive and made sure all our whims were satisfied. We loved the old world charm yet modern facilities at Pestana Palms. Our photographs taken at various hot spots in the hotel gardens are a reflection of the high standards of upkeep here. Well done to the Pestana team for raising the bar on hospitality services !

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sanjay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Guest Sanjay B,
Thank you for taking your time to evaluate us on this website.
It is very good to know that on first visits to our lovely Island guests simply enjoy it as much as we do.
Thank you for the sincere comments about the hotel and also for the compliments addressed to the staff and service.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

This was our second visit to funchal and as like last time we were not disappointed. Our main reason for visiting at this time was to see the flower festival, well all I can say is wow it was amazing and one of the highlights of our trip along with a trip to see whales and dolphins of which we saw plenty. The hotel is about a 20 min walk from the centre. We did have a few problems with our room the first had a very nasty smell in the bathroom but once I spoke to reception we were moved to another room straight away. Our second room was nice and clean but on day 2 we did have a few ants but again once I had mentioned it to reception it was dealt with straight away. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank nic0lagreg0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Guest nic0lagreg0ry,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this website.
I am very glad to understand that you have enjoyed, again, your stay in Madeira.
The Flower Festival is truly amazing with all its colors and variety of events occuring. Whales and dolphins are also always nearby to please our visitants all year round, it is an extraordinary experience.
We regret the inconvenience during your stay regarding the smell and the ants in your rooms, nevertheless we hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

This was our 2nd visit to the Palms. We wrote ahead to ask them to hire a wheelchair for me which they did. They also gave me a bottle of sparkling wine and a card on my birthday, a nice touch. The rooms and gardens are beautifully kept. We were on the 5th floor of apartments with a great sea view, we saw dolphins on several occasions. If I were to be critical, the receptionist on our last day insisted my husband return to the 5th floor to bring her the electricity card even though he had left it in the room which the maid was cleaning and our taxi was waiting. An unnecessarily pedantic ruling which meant we left feeling rather irritated. Otherwise everything was just as good as last year and only my condition may mean we cannot return. It really is an oasis of calm.

Room Tip: We choose high rooms for a god view but they all have a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radnorrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Guest radnorrover,
We would like to thank you for this post on this website, as well as for the very friendly comments addressed to us.
We regret the inconvenience caused by our reception staff, however they were just complying with the service instructions they have.
We hope that this happening did not diminish your favorable memories about Pestana Palms and that we shall be welcoming you in a near future.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

People want different experiences from their holidays. If you want to swim in the sea or lounge by the pool you can do it at The Palms If you want to explore the island by car or public transport and walk the levadas you can do it from here. If you want a choice or restaurants you have them at The Palms. If you want to make a snack or get a cold drink from your own fridge - every room has a kitchen. If you want to walk for several kilometres along a promenade at the edge of the sea you can. If you want shops you can walk to them. If you want a library and quiet lounges they are in the Quinta or country house at The Palms. If you want a city you can get there in a few minutes. If you want the friendliest staff at any hotel they are at The Palms.

Room Tip: Ask early. The hotel is usually full.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _geo_ingle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Guest _geo_ingle1,
First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Pestana Palms.
We would also like to thank you for posting your comments on this website, specially with the detailed information and with the very positive comments addressed to us.
We look forward to welcome you again among us.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first week staying in this lovely apartment.

Beautiful and spacious lounge. Very large bedroom, two well equipped bathrooms. What's not to like.

The poolside bar does fabulous fish and chips on a Wednesday lunchtime. Washed
down with a lovely crisp Vinho Verde. Beautiful ocean views too.

It would be unfair to single out a member of staff as all those we met treated us like valued guests.

Do look out for Gabriella though as she really steals the show! (A small hint, she is the cat without a tail).

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Guest Carolina N,
We were very happy to welcome you for your first time.
We were also very glad to understand that you have enjoyed the facilities and the meals by the pool side.
We hope to welcome you in a near future and we will sure be addressing your compliments to Gabriela.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews