We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the balcony Living and dinning room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
View from the balcony
Living and dinning room
Mirror bedroom
Kids room
Games room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Thomas M
Meschede, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We (a family of four, the children 9 and 15 years old) have spent a wonderful holiday in Madeira in July 2015. Casa Sao Paulo, which has even exceeded our expectations, has contributed considerably to a holiday to remember.

First I have to mention Patricia, the landlady: very kind, very helpful, but never intrusive. Right after booking the contact was already very pleasant. The transfer from the airport, which Patricia organized kindly, worked perfectly.

When we arrived at the house, we were greeted heartily. The house was tidy and clean inside and outside, everything as it should be. The rooms are tailored conveniently and are decorated lovingly. We felt at home right from the beginning.

The equipment is more than complete. Everything that we needed was available (except a tin-opener, but probably we just haven't found it in the plenty of kitchen equipment and my pocket knive did the job, too). The beds are fine and there is plenty of storage space and even a safe big enough for documents and cash reserves. The internet connection worked well and with sufficient speed.

The location of Casa Sao Paulo has been perfect for our requirements to a holiday home: quiet, but nevertheless only a 10 minutes bus ride from Funchal's city center. The bus stop is a staircase with 103 steps (our children have counted them) plus an extra 100 meters walk away from the house; alternatively you can walk up the street (about 300 meters with 10% incline). There is another bus stop with even more connections 300 meters further down the road from the nearest bus stop. Together both bus stops offer regular connections from early morning until late evening from and to Funchal. If you are physically fit and has no problem to use public busses on principle, then a car is not essential. We explored whole Madeira (well, what you can manage in two weeks time - there is so much to see) by bus. By the way: get the 'Unofficial Madeira Bus Guide' by Trevor Franks if you intend to travel by bus overland - it is very helpful.

I should not forget to mention the views: from the terrace, the living room, the bedroom - magnificent. One cannot get enough of this views!

We will visit Madeira again and we are looking forward to stay at Casa Sao Paulo again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jan 2013
Dear Ferreira family
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are sure it will help our future guests to choose our villa in Madeira.
We had a great pleasure having you at villa São Paulo and we wish to have you back again one day.
We also want to thank you for taking such good care of the villa.
warm regards
Patrícia and Fernando
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zdrombi_b...
vienna
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome place”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Given the chance, we would definitely return to this awesome villa on the Madeira island. Patricia - the land lady - is one person you do want to meet! Warm, helpful, laughing - just the kind of host you want to have.
The villa lives up to the expectations, offering uninhibited view over the city of Funchal, clear panoramic view of the ocean. Three bedrooms, sleeps 6 people easily. good location to start day trips accross the island, or to enjoy a easy day with a book in the sun. the barbecue adds the possibility of a nice self made dinner. And speaking of dinner: the super market is less than 10 minutes away by car and is very well supplied. Fresh fish and fruit at good prices, everything else as used to. A vegetable garden accress the street from the villa offers a nice green view and fresh greens.
We were Patricia's and Fernando's guests over Xmas, and enjoyed both the villa and the island. A pleasent surprise was the Xmas atmosphere (Xmas tree, music in the villa, all villages and cities decorated).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
Dear Catalin
Thank you so much for your kind words about your holidays at our Villa.
We are so happy to know you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
warm regards and best wishes for the New Year
Patrícia and Fernando
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
335Norwol...
Elverum, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa”
Reviewed 29 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

A fabulous villa with a magnificent view of Funchal. Have no doubt, villa Sao Paulo has all you could ever want for your holiday. We had pretty high expectations after reading other review, but we were still impressed. The pictures does not justify the villa, and it is actually bigger than you might expect. Patricia and Fernando are the kind of hosts you can only dream of getting. So nice and warmhearted, and the best of service from day one until the day we left. The house and it owners make you feel like your coming to an actual home, visiting old friends. And believe me, without mentioning all particulars, you will not miss anything in the house. If you should, I am pretty sure it will be taken care of by your hosts very quickly.
When we arrived, the villa was spotless clean. It was fresh flowers inside, and lots of fresh fruit on the kitchen table. Patricia had also provided wine, cheese and crackers as a welcoming gesture. My brother in law celebrated his 70 birthday during our stay. Patricia reserved us the best table at Zarco's and she had even baked a birthday cake and brought it to the restaurant as a surprise. Fernando, had great knowledge of the Island in general, and particular the many levadas. He gave us many great hints for hikes and tours. They also took the trouble to pick us up in their private cars at the endpoint of a levada and drove us back to our car.- impressive service ! Since we were exploring Madeira every day during our stay, I feel we just did not get to spend enough time at the villa and enjoying all its comfort, the games room, the pool etc. I must say thought that we noticed all the small details inside and outside that really makes a difference, and showing that the owners really do care about the house and your well being. If we ever go back to Madeira, I will not consider any other alternative to stay. I will know that by contacting Patricia and/or Fernando ,everything will be in the best of hands and my vacation will be a success,- again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great view over Funchal
Liked least: The mattress was a little to hard for my liking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUVEAU C
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We will follow your suggestions. Kind regards Patrícia and Fernando
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing