We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay in a unique villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Firdaus

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

exchanges
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a unique villa”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed for five weeks having done so three years ago. The experience was as uplifting and pleasing as last time - in other words perfect. I can confirm that the description is accurate although I would have added a few more superlatives. It was great to be able to host our parents at different times during the stay but only pay for the rooms when used. So great value for money. For comings and goings to the airport and a couple of day trips in the island we used Madeira Airport Transfers (Funchal Low Cost Transfers) and can recommend them highly. They charge 19 euros per minibus for an airport transfer irrespective of the number of people and you
can book online.

Philip Prowse

Date of stay: March 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was great to welcome you back again Philip and we are glad that you had an excellent holiday. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Thank you. Kind regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Thank you Erin for your lovely review which is both complimentary and informative. We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to review the villa and we will attend to the main fire in the living area. Thank you again and we hope that you will stay with us again. Kind regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nick and...
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful villa in a wonderful place”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This must be the best equipped rental property we have ever stayed in. We loved cooking our "finds" from the local shops and sitting on the veranda watching the bay. The bed was really comfortable. We had no problems but had we done so I am sure Joao (the perfect host) would have been there to help. The villa is well placed for exploring. We rented a car and found it very useful.
The gardens of the villa are fantastic. We suspect you would not be disappointed if you stay!

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review Nick. We greatly appreciate your feedback and so very happy that you had a wonderful holiday at Villa Firdaus. We hope that you will visit us again. Thank you again. Kind regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Cham...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect villa, location and hospitality. Funchal at Chistmas is magical.”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Beautiful villa, great views and a lovely garden to look out to.

Funchal is Christmas. The Christmas lights were amazing, food was excellent, views were breathtaking, and the villa delightful. Joao made us very welcome and had great advice on the area. Weather was fantastic - we swam in the sea and the lido and ate outside in the evenings.

The only advice I would give for Madeira is make sure you get a large engine size from the car rental. We'd booked a 1.2 Ford Focus for 4 adults and they upgraded us to something bigger. Madeira has a lot of hills - we drove from sea level to 1800 metres up Pico do Arieiro - you're above the clouds. I passed roads with a 37% incline! If you go inland you will spend a lot of time in 1st and 2nd gear - totally worth it with the countryside and views.

If you get the chance, see the Mandalin Orchestra, take the Catamaran out to see the dolphins and take time to enjoy the villa - its great for just relaxing with a glass or two (or three) of Madeira wine and looking at the lights in the evening over the town.

Thoroughly recommend the Villa, and Funchal for any time of year !

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Thank you so much Paul for your wonderful review of both the villa and of Madeira. We are so glad that you had a wonderful holiday and that you enjoyed your stay at the villa. Joao is a fantastic host and we greatly appreciate everything he does. We hope that you will visit us again. Thank you again for your wonderful review. Kind regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destinati...
2 reviews
“A wonderful week in Villa Firdaus”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a fantastic villa heartily recommended. It is stunning, beautiful and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our requirements for a fabulous view, a garden and a relaxing outdoor space,both sunny and shaded, were completely fulfilled here. The villa is well placed forgetting around the island by car and is also a short drive from Funchal centre. Joao, the on-site manager was extremely helpful in advising about trips and restaurants. Hope to return one day.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Thank you for recommending the villa and for your very positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the villa and Joao is a wonderful asset who does an amazing job for which we are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back at the villa very soon. Thank you again for taking the time to review the villa with such wonderful comments. Kind regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.