We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Santiago the Portuguese Way (Central Route)

It was my husband's very first trip to Europe. He had never been off of the North American... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2018
OnAir40755529524
Best of Rota Vincentina was the best!

From beginning to end Portugal Nature Trails staff helped make our self guided hike the most... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2018
LTraveler99
,
Olympia, Washington
Read all 155 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sintra
from US$86.30
More Info
from US$86.30
More Info
from US$66.70
More Info
from US$143.80
More Info
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
148
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided wild coast cycling tour porto covo off road rota vicentina luggage transfer excellent accommodation hotel desk portuguese coast mountain bike ride perfect weather local phone lovely trip amazing trails hybrid bikes great support
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

From beginning to end Portugal Nature Trails staff helped make our self guided hike the most wonderful experience. The lodging selections were a great mix of local small inns. Most had pools, all had wonderful staff and were great places to end the day. Many places worthy of a layover day on the path.

The self guided hike route was easy to follow and they provided alternatives off the usual paths. We appreciated having a decent amount of mileage each day and also having time to linger along the way and enjoy the end of the day.

The staff was wonderful every step of the way. They were the best!

I highly recommend Portugues Nature Trails

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank LTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

An all around excellent adventure. Portugal Nature Trails organized a self guided hike for us from Cascais to Sintra and it was fabulous! Guided by a Garmin gps that they had programmed with our daily hikes we hiked from hotel to hotel, moving every two days while our bags were delivered by PNT. They could not have been nicer or more competent. The hotels, especially the convent we stayed in, were very nice and the varied scenery along the hikes was exceptional.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful independent ride with Portugal Nature Tours. The route was well thought out to showcase the Atlantic Coast. The accomodation was generally very good bearing in mind that some of the overnight stops are in small seaside villages.
Unfortunately 2 of our friends suffered illnesses during the ride and PNT sent a taxi to a very isolated spot to collect them and they were subsequently transported with the luggage transfer until they were well enough to ride.
Something to consider would be having one rest day, maybe in Sintra or even Ericeira to enable some sightseeing because unless you are a fit regular rider some of the days are quite tiring.
A great way to see the country!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank jackandzoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio-Gavinho, Owner at Portugal Nature Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with Portugal Nature Trails!
We hope your friends are better now and hope to see you again in Portugal!
I just want to let you know that we have the flexibility to accommodate extra days/nights along our tours!

Thanks
Antonio Gavinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Thank you Antonio and Sophia/Paulo and Felipe and Jose Luis / what a great support team you organised for my friend Jim and I to undertake this truely " epic" 8 day road cycling challenge from Madrid to Lisbon.

From the moment go on arrival at Madrid airport to picked up by Felipe snd Jose Luis and actually for the 6 months before when I was in communication with PNT there was always a quick clear answer and efficient service.

Antonio makes it clear this cycling challenge is "extreme" with over 1000km ridden and over 17000 m of climbing and probs let more desending through some of the quite and most beautiful roads and small villages - I was totally dependent on my wonderful lead rider Felipe on the route but others in s group had the GPS files loaded on their Garmin by Antonio and were happy to self navigate - typically there are only 8-12 riders plus Antonio and Felipe at front and back of group who all ride at their own pace and capability -
I took my time with extra drink and food and photo stops which Felipe accommodated without any problem, but I also appreciated that he was very careful about keeping us all safe during the ride.
Ride briefings were given at beginning of dinner before the great wines of Spain and Portugal took their beautiful effect! All meals and drinks were includr

I would recommend arriving at least 1-3 days before the ride starts in Madrid to enjoy this beautiful city - Prado and Sophia Regina Museums, Royal palace, Buon Respiro gardens and more and likewise take a few days rest after the ride to explore Lisbon one of the most beautiful cities In the world.

Remember it is summer so expect hot weather up to 35 degrees so hydration is important during these tough rides. As we approached the Atlantic Ocean cooler weather prevailed and apparently for the first time in 7 years we had headwinds instead of tailwinds the last 2 days heading to Caps Roca the most westerly point of continental Europe where the Ride officially finished but still requires a climb out if Cape Roca and then downhill before flat run in to celebrate in Cascais.

The amazing route Antonio has drawn up
Is simply charming though beautiful landscapes and has almost everything ! Huge steep long climbs and the longest descents comparable to Dolomite rides though cute small village roads where one can stop for an expresso or pastiche sonata (Portuguese tart) coke etc or a Sagres beer in our case during the last 10 km of ride knowing we had a downhill easy section to get to the next town.

The quality of hotels and food though not 5 star were all good and some excellent in World Heritage listed places such as Avila in Spain and Obidos Portugal.

Obidos we went to Book and Cook Hotel Restaurant - google the literary man

So many great memories and photos which I took myself or others in the group and Antonio and Felipe have a photographic talent too!

Also cheap compared to Giro or Le Tour de Frsnce

So do it but be physically and mentally ready!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Traveler76664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Very professional organisation . Brand new hybrid bikes , great detailed information , maps , garmins and emergency phones all supplied . Hotels good for tired cyclists at the end of each day and good advice supplied on where to eat .

Would definetely use them again for trips in Portugal .

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio-Gavinho, Owner at Portugal Nature Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you so much for your time writing about Portugal Nature TRails and our services! It is a pleasure for us to receive people from all over the world and help them organizing great holidays in Portugal! All the best and hope to see you again in Portugal
Antonio Gavinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews