We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
186
151
34
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
151
34
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool old house wing mirrors san pedro french doors gorgeous location nice garden rooms are large moor castle step back in time great pool a real gem charming house railway station a special place the ground floor free parking
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Very warm welcome by the receptionist, very clean and fascinating room with beautiful view in a wonderful former aristocratic mansion. With wifi. Perfect for people with historical or literary sensibility. Very helpful and genuine staff, at walking distance from Palacio Nacional

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MilanoOreste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Overall this would have been 5 stars, the continental breakfast was a nice change from the UK slap up bacon and eggs. The scenery was lovely and staff friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We didn't eat at the hotel for lunch or evening meal, so I can't rate the quality evening meal. The only reason I gave 4 stars is because there wasn't much soundproofing as I think we had half of a suite, with a locked door to the other half and we could hear people coughing and talking. It wasn't loud or disruptive though and we had a comfortable stay overall, it depends how romantic you want to be I guess! I didn't want to be negative as this is really excellent value for money and well worth the stay

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Guitarman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Stayed 4 nights here in late September, as part of a self guided walk package. Just loved staying here in an "Olde Worlde" atmosphere. Big comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and staff that were just so friendly and helpful.Beautiful garden setting. They could not do enough to be of assistance, particularly Susana, who was a real gem. The hotel does not normally do evening meals but during our stay they had a large group and did an evening meal on 3 nights. We stayed in one night and had a great 3 course meal at a very very reasonable price. The hotel is some way from the railway station and also the historic centre of Sintra bit there is a bus (erratic service!) at the front door and it is a 20 minute pleasant walk to the old town, downhill and partly through lovely gardens. This hotel is highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank itsingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

There is no doubt that this is one of the most friendly hotels. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our room had a charming balcony and views out over the garden. The morning breakfast included in the room rate was very generous and the breakfast room was a charming way to start our day before we left to spend hours walking the various estates of this remarkable region. The hotel gardens and pool are beautiful and well looked after, look out for the turtle in the water feature by the entryway! The hotel itself could use a little more love. Its very old and creaky and the fittings and furnishings are worn with the stories of many travellers. While the rooms have newer ensuites, much of the hotel is in its original state. So if you don't mind some real character this hotel is just great. Free wifi. The 434 bus at the door (handy from when you are coming back from one of the palaces or castle) and a very short walk to the central village, this hotel would be a comfortable base for couples, groups or families.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

In this hotel you feel like you move to end of 19th century, very big ild style rooms, nice bar and game room, fantastic old garden with big pool and view to castes, good breakfest, top service and great value. Location 5 min walk to old town of Sintra

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews