We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and amazing seafood”
Review of Bacalhau na Vila

Bacalhau na Vila
Ranked #3 of 293 Restaurants in Sintra
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Description: O restaurante "Bacalhau na Vila" tem um conceito de petiscos, onde a ideia é partilhar vários pratos feito com o ingrediente principal, o bacalhau.
Restaurant details
Description: O restaurante "Bacalhau na Vila" tem um conceito de petiscos, onde a ideia é partilhar vários pratos feito com o ingrediente principal, o bacalhau.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Came here with family and ordered codfish sandwiches and octopus salad, both of which were great! Would definitely come here again next time we are in Sintra. Also, the port wine was lovely!

Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo C, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Bacalhau na Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thanks Jamie W. for your comment and rating.
We are always very happy with the good comments we have received, as we feel rewarded for our work and this gives us motivation to improve so that our Customers can come back to visit us and be surprised.
See you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

This restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. In spite of the fact that the restaurant was crowded, the food we ordered was served within 5 minutes, which was very pleasant. The prices are very reasonable.
We ordered the koriander soup with cod, which for my taste did not leave me wanting more. It was too much koriander for my taste, and I told the waitor about this. We then ordered some bread, and in my opinion the bread would have been better if it was grilled and served with olive oil and seasalt. The food is not bad, but for me it is not worth full stars.

Thank malinih639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo C, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Bacalhau na Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you Malinih639 for your comments.
We are very grateful to mention:
- lovely atmosphere; - Friendly staff; - Have been served quickly (5 minutes); - Reasonable prices.
We have, in fact, the always crowded restaurant which is a big compliment to all the work we have done and a great sign that we are on the right track, and a great reward that our customers are very happy when they visit us.
Thanks for mentioning that the coriander soup had indeed coriander. From what you wrote, we realized that you did not like coriander, but you could order another soup from our list, so that their experience would be even more positive.
Thanks for your suggestion of how we should present the bread, we take note and when we have a new concept of restaurant, we will take into account your suggestion.
We are waiting for your next visit to Sintra.
See you soon, Best Regards.

Obrigado Malinih639 pelos seus comentários.
Ficamos muito agradecidos por referir:
- A atmosfera encantadora; Os funcionários simpaticos; Ter sido servido de forma rápida (5 minutos); Os preços razoáveis.
Temos de facto o restaurante sempre lotado que e um grande elógio a todo o trabalho que temos feito é um óptimo sinal que estamos no bom caminho, e uma grande recompensa saber que os nossos Clientes ficam muitos contentes quando nos visitam.
Obrigado por referir que a sopa de coentros tinha isso mesmo, coentros. Pelo que percebemos não e apreciador dos mesmos mas podia ter pedido outra sopa da nossa lista para que a sua experiência tivesse ter sido ainda mais positiva.
Obrigado pela sua sugestão de como deveriamos apresentar o pão, tomamos nota e quando tivermos um novo conceito de restaurante, levare-mos em conta a sua sugestão.
Ficamos a sua espera numa próxima visita a Sintra.
Até breve, Cumprimentos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We came here after a long day trip taking in Cascais and Sintra . It is a real gem, hidden in the winding back streets of Sintra on a lovely hot day where we were able to take refuge in the cool interior of this little restaurant.
The menu offered up an interesting mix and was delicious.The staff were lovely and attentive. I am perplexed by some of the recent reviews as we did not experience slow service at all. We were offered plenty of complimentary port as well which was rather nice.
I would highly recommend this little restaurant, away from the tourist hordes in the main streets of Sintra and savour the flavours and the atmosphere of the backstreets of Sintra.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alis0n007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo C, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Bacalhau na Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank alis0n007 for your kind comments and ratings.
First of all, I would like to thank you for mentioning at the moment your perplexity as well as ours, for these comments are rare and do not help us improve and correct what can be corrected.
We work hard every day to receive comments like yours, thank you on behalf of the whole team.
We hope to have the privilege of receiving.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Food was fine staff friendly but service very slow. In fairness they gave us a refund for cold food and free port but we were disappointed. Could not recommend.

2  Thank redcrestedduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo C, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Bacalhau na Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018
Google Translation

Thanks Redcrestedduck for your comments.
We are very grateful to mention: The quality of food and the kindness of the staff.
We take note of your comments, we are sorry that you did not mention them at the time you started your dinner so that we could correct the mistake and make this pleasant moment and your vacation a set of positive and unforgettable memories.
Referring to the mistakes in writing we will not be able to correct and make your moment in our restaurant, in a pleasant moment of experiences and new visions of how to make codfish.
We look forward to your next visit to Sintra.
See you soon, regards.

Obrigado Redcrestedduck pelos seus comentários.
Ficamos muito agradecidos por referir: A qualidade dos alimentos e a amabilidade dos funcionários.
Tomamos nota das suas observações, temos pena que não as tenha referido no momento que iniciou o seu jantar para que pudessemos corrigir o erro e tornar esse momento agradável e a suas férias um conjunto de memórias positivas e inesquecíveis. Pois referir por escrito não vamos corrigir o erro nem tornar a seu momento no nosso restaurante, num momento agradável de experiências e novas visões de como confecionar o bacalhau.
Ficamos a sua espera numa próxima visita a Sintra.
Até breve, cumprimentos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Good food - many options available on cod fish - but sadly very slow service which was disappointing after reading all the positive reviews.

1  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo C, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Bacalhau na Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you Susan E. for your comments.
We are very grateful to refer to the quality of the food.
We take note of your comments, we are sorry that you did not mention them at the moment so that we could correct the mistake and make this pleasant moment and your vacation a set of positive and unforgettable memories. As noted in writing will not correct the error or make your time filled with positive memories.
We look forward to your next visit to Sintra.
See you soon, regards.

Obrigado Susan E. pelos seus comentários.
Ficamos muito agradecidos por referir a qualidade dos alimentos.
Tomamos nota das suas observações, temos pena que não as tenha referido no momento para que pudessemos corrigir o erro e tornar esse momento agradável e a suas férias um conjunto de memórias positivas e inesquecíveis. Pois referir por escrito não vamos corrigir o erro nem tornar a seu momento repleto de memórias positivas.
Ficamos a sua espera numa próxima visita a Sintra.
Até breve, cumprimentos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacalhau na Vila also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Bacalhau na Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing