We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place close to Lisbon”
other travellers have booked this property
It´s super to have a drink by the pool while watching the children playing in and out of the pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
It´s super to have a drink by the pool while watching the children playing in and out of the pool.
The green surrounds the house that spreads itself on the lawn .It is a proud house . This is the eastern side : you can have your breakfast by the rising sun and listening to the birds.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
It´s super to have a drink by the pool while watching the children playing in and out of the pool.
The green surrounds the house that spreads itself on the lawn .It is a proud house .
This is the eastern side : you can have your breakfast by the rising sun and listening to the birds.
Everywhere you look is green: the water , the lawn , the trees.
Do you like relaxing under a tree that hides you from the others ? This is the place.
A forest ? No , the woods side at Quinta do Divino Menino  at Lau .
Another view of the woods , the lawn  and every part is for you to enjoy as you wish .
Eastern lawn for the kids to play football , do exercise or running along the terrace around .
At sunset : in winter the light is amazing!
Here is the proud house at sunset !
The sitting/dining room inside.
Another view of the room.Do not forget that you have four more spaces where you can have your meals.
All the bedrooms have two big windows that open to the outside :some to the east , some to the west.
This bedroom opens to the south and east.
This one looks directly to the pool :in the west side
A bathroom with two windows !
The , what we call , the social toilet . It has a window ,too.
The kitchen : and one of the four places where you can eat if you can resist having your meals out.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Palmela, Setubal District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Wouter v
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place close to Lisbon”
Reviewed 4 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We have enjoyed our one week stay at the Quinta. A warm welcome from Maria and Helga. Quiet surroundings in a lovely garden with orchard and swimming pool. Super to enjoy our summer holiday. Lisbon and other places of interest are easily reached by car or train.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2018
Thank you for your words. You are a very friendly family and we are happy you came .
Best regards
Maria and Helga
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M
1 review
“Perfect peace and family time”
Reviewed 12 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Very special property with a very special, cultured landlady. Located in farmland, vineyards, only 30-40 minutes from Lisbon, it is an oasis of perfect peace.

Very special property with a very special, cultured landlady.

The area felt remote and authentic eventhough it was a relatively easy drive from the capital city. Farmers, not tourists, in the local café and local families in local restaurants and towns. Farming cooperatives rather than museums, etc. dot the area. You do need a car in this location.

Landlady, Maria Simão, set the tone from the moment we arrived with an understated yet very warm welcome. An array of refreshments (I won’t spoil the surprise) indicated the good old-fashioned hospitality which we would experience at this Quinta.

Within minutes of arriving I was in the hammock listening to the sounds of the birds and local farming while the rest of the family, including two teenagers and two 10 years jumped in the pool around the other side of the house.

The next discovery was the delicious fruit in the orchard which was ours for the picking. The varieties which were ripe while we were there were divine oranges, peaches, nectarines, figs, some lemons. Other fruit would be ripe soon after including pears, apples and some berries I think.

We ate on the porch enjoying the view of the lovely pool - with shallow and deep ends - and the property’s many trees and landscape beyond.

The pool area is lovely and perfect for our needs, but not fenced off so travellers with younger children shoukd be aware of this. There are swings and other fun to discovery in the shady trees.

In the morning and evening we all enjoyed identifying the sounds of the peacocks, other birds and insects while watching the colours of the sky change from the porch.

We daytripped around the Setubal peninsula and Troia quite a bit, studying the map Maria kindly gave us. Recommendations include the myriad unspoilt, uncrowded beaches especially Portinho, Lagos de Albufeira (lagoons and sea), Aldeia do Meco, Arrabida National Park, the ferry to Troia (we spotted dolphins) and towns including Alcochete, Vila Nogueira de Azeitão, Montijo. We did not feel the need to go into the city of Lisbon having spent a week there last year at Easter time.

Water pressure not amazing, hard to find English speakers locally and Internet slow. We didn’t mind the first - there are four bathrooms and the latter teo we considered an advantage.

Enjoy. Hope to see you again Maria Simão!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
Hello Cathy!

Thank you for your kind words.

You are a fantastic family! Hope you come again!

Best regards,
Maria Simão
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you Wendy and family ! I appreciate you have felt at home .
I hope the children recognise that the slow wifi was useful for them to enjoy the Quinta !
Best regards.
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FinlandTi...
Turku, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent house, garden, pool and hosts as well as a very good location”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this house through TripAdvisor for a two-week stay in July 2016. We have rented villas for many years and have a rather long list of requirements. This holiday rental ticks almost every box.

The first contact by phone with the owners was excellent and everything has worked extremely well.

Important note: A car is essential. As you will have to drive on motorways, make sure the car has the payment transponder to allow you to drive through the automatic toll stations (1-2 leftmost gates). The lines to gates with manual payment seem to be very long.

The floor plan ot the house is smart. The house is rather big, with 4 bedrooms, one with a double bed and en suite bathroom, the rest of the bedrooms (one with double bed and two with twin beds) sharing one bathroom and one toilet. There is also a bathroom with access from the patio as well as a poolside shower (cold water only). The living room space with a dining table, is vast, there are also two terraces/patios with dining tables. The kitchen is well equipped (mid sized fridge+freezer, 4-flame gas stove, electric oven, dishwasher, microwave, water boiler and nespresso machine) as well as enough all kinds of kitchenware to prepare meals. There is a charcoal barbeque on the patio just outside the kitchen. There is a separate utility room with a washing machine. There is no air conditioning but the house can be kept cool with not much effort.

The terrace by the pool is comfortable and the pool, divided into shallow and deep parts, is good sized and comfortable. There is a garden of about 5.000 sqm with fruit trees (lemon, orange, figue etc.) with crops depending on the time of the visit. We picked some lemons and made fresh lemonade. There are also plenty of bed linen and towels. There are some pool toys, some lawn area with a badminton net, a football goal etc. for the smaller kids.

We liked this house a lot and it is one of the best we've ever rented. There is very little to even mention. E.g. the water pressure is not very strong. But these are tiny issues just to note something. - I hope everyone renting this house respects the fact that the owner has invested a lot of her time, effort and love to the benefit of her guests. A wonderful, very warmhearted lady with a lot of attention to her guests' comfort.

The house is quite well located with access to motorways A2 and A12 within a few km. There is a local road from Palmela to Setubal. The local road passing the gate of the house is quiet. During the night, there has been complete silence.

Within some 5 km there is a local co-operative Supermarket covering much of the needs as well as Intermarche supermarket and Continente (small hypermarket) within some 10 minutes drive. There are a few restaurants nearby and more in Palmela and Setubal as well as Pinhal Novo. In Setubal, there is a mid sized shopping mall Alegro with a major hypermarket. At Montijo, there is a major shopping "paradise" called Forum Montijo, access by motorway A2->A12 or by smaller local roads. The Montijo itself is not an interesting place.

There is a railway station at Palmela with access to Lisbon, if you do not fancy driving. We drove into Lisbon center by A2 and continued to Oceanario, returning home by A12. There is also a train access to Cascais, Estoril and Sintra from Lisbon.

Places worth to visit for a day/half day trip include Sesimbra and Arrabida area (beaches and nature), Castelo de Palmela, Setubal and maybe Troia (by ferry or catamaran); Sintra, Cascais, Estoril and Lisbon. Check TripAdvisor for restaurants in the area. To note, there is a major wine attraction in Azeitao.

The local wines are nice, nearby Adega de Palmela and many others have shops to visit. The local food in restaurants is mainly quite simple yet fresh and tasty: grilled fish, potatoes and salad is the most common dish. Focusing on seafood is highly recommended visiting the area.

Internet: there is a mobile router with low capacity only: In case you need broadband capacity, simply buy a prepaid mobile data 4G SIM at e.g. Forum Montijo shopping center with many operator shops to choose from. We chose Vodafone and paid EUR 20 for max 30 days and max 30 gigabytes and shared from one mobile phone. The operators with best coverage at the house, though, seem to be MEO or NOS.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total package is excellent.
Liked least: Nothing to mention. Honestly.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Dear Timo and Family ,
Your review is so detailed that it could be " The Manual to your holiday at Quinta "! Thank you very much for your kind words.
You are super! Au revoir .
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auswil
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa, brilliant pool & outside area & fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks in this truly beautiful villa. Quiet location but within easy reach of Lisbon, Sintra and beaches. Very clean and spacious with plenty of good linens and towels. Outside kitchen used daily - great built in BBQ and outside eating areas.
The pool and gardens are brilliant - perfect for families. Lots of fruit trees to pick lemons, figs, grapes and oranges.
Very generous hosts - from meeting us at the airport and taking us to the villa, to bringing breakfast for our early start on our last day! A holiday we will all remember. Don't really get that much better than this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and gardens
Liked least: Bit more kitchen equipment would be good
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing