We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
1
4
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
4
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The only good positive thing about this hotel is their staff, always very welcoming and friendly, but the quality of the hotel is poor. Even in budget hotels I never slept in such uncomfortable bed. The air conditioning was very noisy too so we couldn't keep it on during the night. Breakfast was very basic. There's free WiFi but it didn't work in the room, only in the lobby. I definitely don't recommend this place to stay. But congratulations to the lady who was in the reception and serving breakfast. Very friendly and nice lady

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Pousada was was full unfortunately, but the Hotel Varandazul, while being rather overshadowed (in TA review terms) by its rather more interesting and glamorous uphill neighbour, is a good-value family-run hotel. Expect extremely friendly staff, a perfectly OK room and pretty good breakfast. Turn left out the hotel, up the hill a bit and enjoy the view from the garden of the nearby friendly bar.

Palmela is a pretty, unspoilt little town that's divided pretty much down the middle between the 'old' and the 'new' quarters. Wandering around the atmospheric castle with its magnificent views on our own was memorable. We ended up eating dinner in a small cafe-cum-bakery at the top of the 'high' street (on left has you walk down) - worth visiting in any event for the excellent bakery and traditional Portuguese cakes/desserts all made by the owner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VandALondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I enjoyed staying at the Varandazul for one night in my way south. Felt warmly welcome upon arrival, and was spontaneously informed about the surroundings, including restaurants and how to get to the castle. Breakfast is included in the rate (excellent value). I will go back, Palmela is a great place to spend a few days and Varandazul is a very affordable yet wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with Wi-Fi connection. Not all rooms are within the range of the wireless network
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nontroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mejor habitaciones dobles.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews