We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AAAAAMAZING!”
Review of Alma

Alma
Ranked #51 of 4,931 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Chiado & Carmo
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chiado & Carmo
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We ate here last week during a long weekend in Lisbon and I can safely say it was one of the best meals and experiences we have every had. We have eaten in other Michelin restaurants but this was so special, from the warm welcome at the door to the fantastic and friendly staff whose knowledge and pride of their food and wine couldnt be faulted.

We chose the Alma tasting menu fo 5 courses but perhaps wern't quite prepared for the other 5 amuse bouche that came first - all very different and full of surprises! I didn't like a couple of the courses but they were more than happy to change these for me and I got some fabulous subsitutes with no fuss. Everthing was explained in detail when it arrived and our waiter and waitress were very keen to know which dishes we enjoyed the most. We both had the chefs speciality of confit suckling pig and it was amazing.
At 125euro per person this is not a cheap night out but worth every penny and we thought it was so nice that they constantly topped up our mineral water but only charged for 1 bottle. Thanks to the lovely staff and the chefs for a truly memorable evening in Lisbon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank White144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afonso M, Guest Relations Manager at Alma, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear White144, thank you so much for your visit and such positive and detailed review. You're always welcome at our restaurant! Best regards, Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 55 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018

WOW... a fantastic meal from start to finish. Did the tasting menu with wine pairing and it was perfection. The foie gras was life altering! the service was impeccable. The chocolate bomb is a must.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nomansisanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afonso M, Guest Relations Manager at Alma, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Nomansisanisland, Thank you for your visit and kind words. Best regards, Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

There are some restaurants you begin talking about the place, the staff, etc. ALMA has all of it, but you MUST talk about the food. A superb, unforgettable ,incomparable food. Everything, from the "amouse bouches" to the deserts is absolutely flawless. Of course the place is beautiful and the staff is super attentive and courteous.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afonso M, Guest Relations Manager at Alma, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Carlos, Thank you for your visit and positive review. Best regards, Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Restaurant Alma was our first real meal in Lisbon. We had heard about it from several sources. We reserved at 7, which is definitely early by Portuguese standards, but as we had just arrived we didn’t want to fall asleep at the table! We should have waited a bit. We were alone in the restaurant for quite a while, and a sit was there was no energy. The very knowledgeable servers are also quite sedate, though friendly, which only added to the lack of atmosphere. It is a plainly decorated restaurant, with no danger of the room outshining the food. Once we ordered, the food was very very good (not quite excellent) but there was something lacking. The room filled up as we were dining- but still a quiet spot.
We started the meal with some lovely amuse bouche, in particular a tasty version of gazpacho.
I enjoyed a starter of glazed carrots, the signature cod main dish was quite delicious, and beautiful. My husband had a pork dish that was very rich and satisfying. The chocolate bomb dessert was very delectable as well. The most interesting feature was the lighting. It seemed there was a spotlight at each table which made it very easy to photograph the food! It was a big help in capturing the dishes.

Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afonso M, Guest Relations Manager at Alma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Lisa, Thank you so much for your visit and such a detailed and positive feedback. Best regards, Team ALMA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

we loved everything about the restaurant. very knowledgable and motivated staff. the food was stunning in every aspect. wonderful dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank hirnograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afonso M, Guest Relations Manager at Alma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear hirnograph, Thank you so much for your visit and such positive review. Best regards, Team ALMA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alma also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing