We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location to relax and explore Lisbon”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of CASA ALTA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tony W
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect location to relax and explore Lisbon”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This small but very well-equipped flat is in the heart of old Lisbon and is ideal to both experience local life and to,explore the city. Paula and Carlos are terrific hosts who can't do,enough for,you including bread, milk, fruit and yogurt awaiting as well as other goodies. Away from most other tourists, but close to the stations, the sights and the 28 tram. Full marks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
We always try to welcome our guests the best we can. Your review show us that we must keep to do it and even try to improve it. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haub
Bilthoven
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, complete, cosy apartment on a great location !”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The apartments is extraordinary clean. There is a separate bedroom with a good and comfortable double bed. The living has a couch/bed which we did not use. There is a table with four chairs so I think two grown ups and one or two children should be OK.
The apartment is on the fourth floor so not suited for people who do not want to climb stairs. There are very high ceilings and windows so there is plenty of light. The furnishing is modern and cosy. The view gives you the impression of living between the Lisbonese !
The owner (Paula) is a very friendly women and she was very accurate in the appointments for the keys.
We stayed for a week in the apartment and found a complete breakfast including fresh fruit, bread and the local custard specialty waiting for us for the first morning ! That makes you feel welcome ! Coffee, tea, sugar etc.: all present. In the kitchen there is everything you might need to prepare a meal, which we did not.For some it will be a problem that there is no TV, but we did not miss it, on the contrary ! And there is free (fast enough) Wifi to keep sight of the world.
There is plenty of documentation about sights and recommended restaurants nearby, we tried two of them and they were quite OK, and nicely priced.
Location is great, near the famous tram 28, and on walking distance of Bairo Alto. Paula will warn you for the pickpockets on tram 28 which is a serious matter as we almost saw this happening: take care !!

So, we certainly recommend this apartment, it is value for money, with a very hospitable host.
Tip: if you have plenty of time, take the ferry from Sobre to Cacilhas, make a walk there (Tourist Info in the centre will inform you) and enjoy the sight of the city from the other side of the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Properheid, vriendelijkheid eigenaresse
Liked least: Bij koude niet zo makkelijk goed warm te krijgen
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
I am truly sorry that I never answer your nice review. Thanks for all the details that can be so useful for future guest. Hope that you can visit Lisbon again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy D
adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place too stay”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in this lovely apartment for a week in July. Located in the historical neighbourhood of lisbon it was a perfect location for us. Very clean, airy and comfortable ,with a balcony to sit outside on and take in local life.
Paula was the perfect host -there to meet us on arrival, a much appreciated welcome pack of goodies, and contactable if we needed her.
Found many bars,restaurants to enjoy meals, fado music and to watch the sunset over the water.
We both would definitely recommend this apartment and when we get back to lisbon will stay there again.
Tracy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness of the apartment
Liked least: Nothing I can really think of
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
How can I apologize this late response to your useful review. I like to be a host specially when my guests help me to improve my way of welcoming them. Tanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nathalies...
Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“wonderful place !!!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in September 2012

First we arrived and Paula came meeting us at the taxi ,the appartment is so peaceful,clean and bright. You live on the tops of Lisbon very near from the historical center by foot or with the little tram 28. Just enought far to be very quiet when you come back to relax.Everything is there for your first night and your first breakfast so no need to go at the grocery on the arrival...very appreciate :) even the gel bath thai spices will make you relax.Had a wonderful time there and highly recommend it.thank you so much Paula and Carlos !!!!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
For us it's always a pleasure to welcome our guest and the best thing that can happen to us is when our guest felt welcomed. We try, at each staying, to do our best and we are very glad that it worked for you. Good memories from your holidays we can't ask for more.
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
576phil
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful winter break in Lisbon”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a lovely week at Casa Alta which lived up to all our expectations. The apartment was spotlessly clean and included all the amenities we needed. Thoroughly recommend this apartment to anyone wishing to stay in Lisbon with easy access to transport and restaurants.
The owners made us very welcome and provided first day refreshments after our journey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed
Liked least: 42 steps up to apartment!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2014
We are so glad that you left Lisbon with some good memories of your staying. Welcoming and trying to make everything nice and easy it's our aim. Five stars guest has you are will be always welcome at CASA ALTA.
Thank you
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$76
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing