We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,325)
Filter reviews
6,325 results
Traveller rating
3,645
2,010
479
122
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,645
2,010
479
122
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge sky lounge tipico restaurant guest services swimming cap metro station junior suite sete rios city centre jardim zoologico excellent hotel indoor pool business district business hotel five star hotel blue line close to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 6,325 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decided to stay here on a last minute break as we found it on Expedia where it was highly rated.

The hotel is located a ten minute drive from the centre of Lisbon, in an area of predominantly high rise flats and some semi industrial, this however is not a problem as access to the centre of Lisbon is made easy by cheap and plentiful taxis as well as and its close proximity to the rail station.

First impressions were excellent with an impressive reception and friendly efficient staff. The room was very good with all the expected extras for a hotel like this.

A few gripes however. Breakfast is utter chaos. A large buffet style breakfast with everything you can imagine on offer but frankly it's a free for all melée and general carnage ensues. Staff look stressed and you are lucky if you are offered tea and coffee. We had to go looking for it 2 of the 3 mornings that we had breakfast. I had to stand for 10 minutes trying to toast bread in a wholly inadequate commercial toaster, by which time my cooked breakfast was of course cold.

The food served in the restaurant and bars was excellent. No complaint at all. However the staff were mixed. Excellent friendly people on the whole keen to make the stay a pleasure but we also had the extraordinary incident of a waiter in the bar making it very clear that he was not happy at our request to have a clean glass for a second glass of wine!! A touch of Basil Fawlty in Lisbon....

Do NOT expect your room to be made up in the morning. We returned from a trip at 3pm Saturday and the maid had still not got to us. That is NOT 5* Hotel service.

Another issue that I would take with the 5* status is when I requested (twice) that a few €100 notes be changed into smaller more usable notes the reception area were unable to do this - despite advertising a 24hr Bureau De Change. That's not 5* service either guys. A real 5* Hotel will go out of their way for you and find a way, not just "sorry we can't help."

One last gripe. My partner and I took advantage of the beautiful Spa facilities. She had a massage which was fantastic. Whilst she was there I went to the Spa (at a charge of €30 per hour) The facilities looked magnificent. They were however hugely disappointing. The Sauna wouldn't achieve a heat greater than 50c, the steam generator was insufficient to make the steam room an adequate steam room (I was able to create more steam in the bathroom in my room than was ever achievable here.) Finally the array of impressive showers were let down by very poor water pressure.

In conclusion the hotel is a decent four star hotel with elements of five star and sadly three star too, as long as you are not coming here expecting the very best you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank guy7766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickM202, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guy7766,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us following your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that the the impressive reception, the friendly and efficient staff and the room, the service and the food served in the restaurant and bars made a great impression on you during your stay and stood out.

We would like to share that the rooms are made until 05:00pm, in case our Guests request to have at a particular time or early, our housekeeping Department will assist accordingly. Please accept our sincere apologies for any misunderstanding.

We took good note of your comments regarding the Spa facilities and we will shared them with our Spa Manager.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and restore your confidence.

Kind Regards
Roderick Micallef
General Manager
CORINTHIA HOTEL LISBON
Hotel: +351 217 236 300
Direct: +351 217 236 340
Email: roderick.micallef@corinthia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend have been to this hotel twice. It is our favourite hotel. The spa is brand new and so relaxing. The outside garden in the sun is a lovely place to chill in the morning to start the day. It is a bit further out of Lisbon but taxis are super cheap to the centre and only takes 10-15 mins. We brought my boyfriend’s mum on her 70s birthday and they upgrade us which was super sweet. Would highly recommend the fado local experience if you are a gha member that was a lot of fun. The staff are beyond excellent in terms of service they accommodate every situation. The doorman Domingo was super nice and helpful. Fernando had great restaurant recommendations which we tried and loved. Vera and Marta at reservations were lovely. Will always stay here when in Lisbon.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kathocatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickM202, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kathocatering,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to read you experienced such a delightful stay and that you considered your favorite Hotel!

Thank you also for your kind words complimenting the high levels of friendly service afforded to you by our discerning colleagues, Fernando and Domingos, they do indeed take great pride in delivery exceptional service at all times!

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcome you back next time you travel to Lisbon.

Warm regards,

Roderick Micallef
General Manager
CORINTHIA HOTEL LISBON
Hotel: +351 217 236 300
Direct: +351 217 236 340
Email: roderick.micallef@corinthia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is definitely not a five star, more a four star. Stunning floral displays and spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and a pleasant room. However the staff attitude was variable, some very helpful and welcoming, others the opposite. The bar food was expensive and unimpressive. In contrast both the staff and food in the Erva restaurant were exceptional. Overall it was fine but if you go don’t expect a 5 star experience.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickM202, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs Julie C,

Thank you for choosing the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon on your recent visit.

We have made detailed notes of your many useful comments and will consider them to improvement. Our company offers extensive training programmes and we should never get customer service wrong. Unfortunately our team could have handled this better and we apologize for getting it wrong this time.

We know that this does not change your experience but you can feel confident that we have heard your concern and are taking appropriate action.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future so that we may show you that we stand behind our commitment to grand hospitality.

With our kindest regards,

Roderick Micallef
General Manager
CORINTHIA HOTEL LISBON
Hotel: +351 217 236 300
Direct: +351 217 236 340
Email: roderick.micallef@corinthia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Frequent customer in this hotel meaby 5 time in a month, all the time very bad approach from the receptionist and long waiting without any information regarding room availability , the rest it’s very nice and cozy especially the breakfast.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank lorisitalian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickM202, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lorisitaian1,

For us is always a great pleasure to have you as our Guest in our Hotel and we thank you for your loyalty and your preference for Corinthia Hotel Lisbon!

We were happy to hear that you felt comfortable and cozy in our Hotel and enjoyed our breakfast!

Your comments regarding the reception approach were duly noted and we will share your opinion with the Management Team in order to take the appropriate action to improve for future stays. Wherever possible and despite check-in time is after 2.00pm we do our utmost to deliver the room as soon as a guest arrives. Unfortunately, due to the hotel high occupancy, it appears this was not possible this time. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meet your expectations during your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon at our Hotel and we remain at your entire disposal.

With our kindest regards,

Roderick Micallef
General Manager

CORINTHIA HOTEL LISBON
Hotel: +351 217 236 300
Direct: +351 217 236 340
Email: roderick.micallef@corinthia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

The Corinthia offers great value for travellers. The breakfast buffet was excellent, guest services staff were very helpful and our room was spacious with great amenities. While not located in the heart of the city, the two transit stations a 2 minute walk away take you into the city or out to Sintra in no time at all. The gardens offer a quiet oasis after a busy day of sightseeing.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cerim204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoderickM202, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear Cerim204,
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon for your recent stay.
We are constantly striving to provide the best service to our guests and I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience and you have appreciated our fresh and sumptuous breakfast, the helpfulness of our Guests Services Team and enjoyed the great transport links that we have that allow our guests to visit the traditional spots.
We were happy to read that you have relaxed in our Soul Garden Bar, where you may appreciate nature in the middle of the city!
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Lisbon!
Kind regards,
Roderick Micallef
General Manager
CORINTHIA HOTEL LISBON
Hotel: +351 217 236 300
Direct: +351 217 236 340
Email: roderick.micallef@corinthia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews