We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,266)
Filter reviews
2,266 results
Traveller rating
1,619
428
131
56
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,619
428
131
56
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building national monument valle flor new wing outdoor pool public rooms garden view tagus river taxi ride amazing hotel beautiful room city centre pastries spa taxis belem luxury
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,266 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disappointed by the service, especially at breakfast. Waiting for coffee, for plates, in front of empty plates at the buffet. Employees doing their own without consideration.

Mattress not confortable, no coffee or tea in the bedroom, random cleaning from time to time.
Sauna and Hammam, old fashioned without any nice scents...more feet smell...
Bar and lounge crowed with children running and jumping on the sofas...

Nothing special, more a 3 or maybe a 4 *

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenwether032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana P, General Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MS Helen Wether,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Pestana Palace Lisboa - Hotel & National Monument. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pestana Palace Lisboa - Hotel & National Monument, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Joana Soeiro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two nights in this beautiful, traditional hotel with spacious rooms, where you can even open the windows. Friendly staff, nice pool. Service by the pool was slow and there were lots of flies but I cannot fault it otherwise. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank zsr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana P, General Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Palace Lisboa - Hotel & National Monument. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Joana Soeiro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic building, real wow factor, public rooms are like being in a palace, but haphazard service. Hotel had issues with hot water whilst we were there and did nothing to acknowledge this. However, breakfast quality good, concierge service good and all very clean and tidy. Although slightly out of town, 6euro taxi gets you in and its lovely to come back to this oasis.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana P, General Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Catherine B,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Palace Lisboa - Hotel & National Monument. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Joana Soeiro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly, check the internet and see where this hotel is located. It is not walking distance from the centre of Lisbon, but rather in a charming upmarket neighbourhood on the hill above Bélem (you can walk to the Monastery in about 25 minutes).
Remember though, this is Lisbon so the taxis/UBERs are cheaper than almost anywhere and you can get from this hotel to anywhere in the centre for about 10€ or less.

This hotel is a national monument (listed building/stately home) - i can best describe it as being like staying in a stately home. The communal areas of the main building are straight out of a Portuguese Downton Abbey.

Breakfast is first rate, although the regular coffee they serve is particularly terrible - easily resolved if you ask for a double espresso (at no extra cost)

The hotel has an excellent gym and indoor pool, and an outdoor pool that is an absolute delight with an ample sun terrace. The hotel gardens are simply amazing, and if you are lucky like we were you might get to see a Monarch butterfly.

Put simply you could easily spend two or three hundred euro a night on a hotel in Lisbon and get an anonymous international chain where everything is first class but a little antiseptic. I sincerely recommend that you stay in this hotel however, because you will be spending time in a piece of history, and that kind of experience is worth it at any price.

Room Tip: Very few rooms are in the historic building part of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana P, General Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Palace Lisboa - Hotel & National Monument. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Joana Soeiro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

This property does not qualify to be a LHW hotel anymore. The garden and the swimming pools are fabulous.
But, hotel is very noisy, service is not up to the standards ( deficient turndown service, understaffed reception...main building needs to be refreshed, broken windows need to be changed )
Some of the staff are nice, especially when you speak Portuguese to them. But the word they prefer to use when you ask something is « wait »
Location is very nice, but some other hotels in Lisbon offer better service.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fernand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana P, General Manager at Pestana Palace Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Guest Fernand M,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Pestana Palace Lisboa - Hotel & National Monument. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pestana Palace Lisboa - Hotel & National Monument, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Joana Soeiro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews