We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,256)
Filter reviews
4,256 results
Traveller rating
2,010
1,547
475
154
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,010
1,547
475
154
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar viking cruise rooftop restaurant star hotel nice hotel outdoor pool avenida liberdade top floor excellent location nice room breakfast buffet central location city douro concierge euros portugal
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 4,256 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were in Lisbon in July for 2 nights.We love Lisbon and were looking forward to our stay in this hotel before travelling home.We travelling around Portugal and this was our final destination. Once we checked in we went to our room it was small but that didn’t bother us as we would be out and about, we also notice that the welcome letter was addressed to someone else, The carpet in the room was so dirty and full of stains.We complained , the person in charge at the time asked if we would like to be moved we said” certainly would”We were told that we would be moved as we hadn’t unpacked we said it was ok to do that whilst we were out. Upon our return we were very disappointed to find that we were in an even smaller room and a tiny bathroom and a lower floor , thankfully the carpet was cleaner. Not once during our stay did anyone ask if we were happy with out stay! They waiting until check out . We could be bothered to tell them as it would have fallen on def ears. I woul never recommend this hotel to anyone. Such a disappointment.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mariai299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGarcia1933, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Mrs. Maria I,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your candid feedback. We strive hard to provide great guest comfort and service to all of our guests and are disappointed when we fail to do so.

I am surprised and disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Here at the Tivoli Avenida Liberdade, we pride ourselves on the high standards of service that we provide, that our guests enjoy and have come to expect from us over the years, and the experience you have indicated is very unlike us and certainly not how we usually operate.

Conscious that any explanation cannot completely erase the unsatisfying experience you have been through, I hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence

Once again, thanks again for your review, and I do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Miguel Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Perfect location. Professional, friendly staff. Staff was able to get restaurant reservation we could not and also arranged private driver with AC for day touring Sintra, top notch service. Tropical pool a lifesaver in during the heatwave.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank sgbrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGarcia1933, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear sgbrandon, Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Hotel Tivoli Avenida Liberdade. We are happy to know that we met your expectations and rest assured that I will share your comments with the entire Hotel Team. Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon again in Lisbon! Kind regards, Miguel Garcia General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

It was a Heat Wave in Portugal with real feel 43C and I was very happy to finally arrive after 4 hours in a train from Lagos with no air conditioning. Sadly our room had no air conditioning either but they made sure that they find the best room with AC even in asking to visit some rooms with them to make sure that I'm happy. Very appreciated as a negative became a great experience!Service at this hotel is unbelievable, staffs are very well mannered, extremely polite and helpful. You feel like you're a VIP and see that they really care about your well being & satisfaction

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGarcia1933, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Mrs. Louise Gagne,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Hotel Tivoli Avenida Liberdade.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations and rest assured that I will share your comments with the entire Hotel Team.

We are specially happy to know that we provided good service recovery to the AC problem and that at the end of the day, your experience was positive.

Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon again in Lisbon!

Kind regards,

Miguel Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Best of Best

Stayed with my son. Tivoli Liberdade is located at the magnificent Avenida Liberdade. A world class hotel, with the best personal attention. The concierge Catarina arranged for all the details of our stay; train tickets, best guided tour (tuk-tuk), best restaurant recommendations, and every tip needed to enjoy this marvelous city. Make it a point to have a drink at the Sky Bar at the hotels roof, great drinks and super atmosphere.
Highly recommend, super value for your money.
Yours truly
Santiago and Roberto Escalante from Mexico

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank rescalanteking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGarcia1933, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Hotel Tivoli Avenida Liberdade. We are happy to know that we met your expectations and rest assured that I will share your comments with the entire Hotel Team. Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon again in Lisbon! Kind regards, Miguel Garcia General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Stayed here before a Viking river tour. Like Viking itself, this was a great experience to start our river cruise with. We enjoyed first class high level service favilities and food. Good location safe and interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Blake4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGarcia1933, General Manager at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Dear Mr. Blake4,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Hotel Tivoli Avenida Liberdade.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations and rest assured that I will share your comments with the entire Hotel Team.

Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon again in Lisbon!

Kind regards,

Miguel Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews