We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place to Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting area
Living room Sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Sitting area
Living room
Sitting area
Sofa
Dining area
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
The stairs
Double room
Double room
Twin room
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
The house
Cristo Rei
Estrela Church
City view
Steps nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Scodge
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in this rental property for a week in November, 2015 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner, Justo, was very welcoming, and gave us some good advice about what to do, where to go, and where NOT to eat! He also helped us with printing our boarding cards and booking a taxi to return us to the airport at the end of the stay, so all in all great support which we really appreciated.

The house is spread over two floors, connected by a large spiral staircase. The living and dining accommodation and kitchen are located on the upper level, with the bathroom and two bedrooms on the lower. We had no problem sleeping and found the double bed very comfortable. The bathroom was cheerful with a bath (with shower over), bidet, wc and wash hand basin. The kitchen, though small, was fully equipped with microwave, oven, gas hob, fridge-freezer and washing machine/dryer. Outside the kitchen window is a clothes line. The living area has a comfortable leather couch and two chairs plus an LCD TV (I would guess around 40"), which has a very large selection of channels in Portuguese, English, Spanish, French, German and Italian.

The location of the house is in a quiet residential neighbourhood with a corner shop about 20 metres away, and a 'Mini Price' small supermarket about 250 metres away. We found it more convenient to shop there for the regular household necessities than to go into the city where bigger supermarkets can be found: (at metro stops Sao Sebastiao, Oriente and Colegio Militar).

One point that should be made is that Lisbon is hilly, and to get anywhere means a reasonable amount of walking. We moved around the city by tram, bus, metro and train, but we were pretty tired by the time we returned home each day. Anyone with mobility issues would find Lisbon a difficult place to get around, unless by taxi. (Taxi fare to the airport was €12.00 at midday for a short 15 minute ride.)

In conclusion, although we stayed for a week, we really didn't get to see all the things we had on our list, but plan to return next year to appreciate the facilities and 'feel' of this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great wifi and big selection of TV chanels. Good 'atmosphere' and friendly, professional approach of Justo, the owner.
Liked least: A little bit far from nearest bus stop/metro.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genette F
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in a truly fabulous area of Lisbon”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely house is a home from home. It has everything you need. It was spotlessly clean. The beds were vey comfortable & it had wifi & TV if you required it.
We loved the extra touches that Justin & Simon had left in the house to help us enjoy our too short a stay.

We will definitely be back.

The city of Lisbon is truly an amazing city and we would love to have our own place there one day. However, it is not for the infirm, as we found out - it is built on 7 hills - so being fit & able to walk is essential, however, there are also many taxi's if you do require to visit places & they are cheap.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the house is so cute.
Liked least: Possibly the locking mechanism of the front door - safe but very difficult to use
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S
Москва
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have a real privacy inside and care from Justo (owner),you will find inside all that you need and small shop just a 10 metrs ( next door). Car do not need and give you a trouble with parking. Contact to the owner and you will get a real support and care. Justo give you real advice and support.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIArtist
Bushmills, United Kingdom
1 review
“Self Contained Apartment, Good space, clean and quiet location”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Apartment is self contained and accessed directly off the street. It is well decorated and mirrors are used to make the apartment look spacious. Has TV, Wi-Fi etc and all equipment function well. Marble floors and spiral staircase. Small windows at low levels which need to be locked & shuttered for security, so we left most of them closed over all the time, which made the space dark and enclosed, but that was our choice. As the weather was very hot when we were there we had the air conditioning on for most of the time and this kept the apartment temperature at a comfortable level for most of the time. However, the air conditioning tends to frost up even on low settings, so we did have to switch it off now and then to let it defrost. We were met by Justo, who gave us info and said we could contact him at any time and was very helpful. The location is also good in a quiet part of Bario Alto, a small shop for basic food is close bye and there are options for eating in the area as others mention. Be prepared for hills, dog dirt, and slippery polished paving all around Lisbon.... bring good shoes. Also double check Museum opening times as we wasted our last day as opening days had changed! Would recommend The Oceanarium which is expensive but worth it! Also the Antique Art Museum and Oriental Museum. Also we got to experience real Fado in a bar called 'Chico ???' or something like that in Barrio Alto, which made the trip! Trams are like Fairground rides and the 28 tram is a good way to get to the Caste area in Alfama. The Metro is very good, or if your in a small group or a family, taxis may work out an easy and cost effective way to get around.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobcat012
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage in Ideal Location”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Having decided to go to Lisbon at very late notice we managed to book the cottage for 5 nights, All correspondence with Justo was by return and the whole booking process was hassle free. Please note once confirmed Justo will send you all details of the property. The cottage was very central to all the attractions and about a 10-15min walk to the centre of the city. It is in a very nice area with several good restaurants and a small supermarket and local shop nearby for any provisions in close vicinity. We really liked Cantinho Lusitano which was 10mins walk away. On arrival at Lisbon airport we texted Justo and he was at the cottage to meet us when the taxi dropped us off (15Euro). Justo took an hour to take us thru details of the cottage and to spend time explaining where everything was in the city including good restaurants nearby, etc. This was very much appreciated and a great start to our holiday. We really enjoyed coming back to the cottage after a long hot days walking and it felt like a real haven and home from home where we could relax and have a glass off wine and put our feet up. The only down side was some noise from a recycling centre close by in early morning but by the second and thirds nights we hardly noticed it during our sleep. I would certainly use the cottage again for any future visits and considered it really good value for having your own place. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Thanks so much Bob! Glad you both had a great time! All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing