We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,139)
Filter reviews
1,139 results
Traveller rating
906
201
23
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
201
23
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar third floor top floor honor bar ancient art lovely library de arte honor system library bar library room complimentary port wine boutique hotel until noon where breakfast is served tagus river small hotel bus routes
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 1,139 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

As Janelas Verdes is a great boutique hotel close to the center of Lisbon, but far enough away that you don't get all of the noise. The hotel has an older European style, with a great courtyard. Rooms are nice, and large for European standards, with the exception of #1,2 (a bit musty and right next to the garden where breakfast is served). Breakfast is simple, but is taken in a quaint outdoor courtyard with beautiful vines reaching along the walls. What sets this place apart are the people. The staff here is amazing, and incredibly accommodating. They went over and above to help us find restaurants, take care of sick relatives, and give recommendations on things to do and see. The crowd here is older, not walker and tennis ball old, but older. This made for a few uncomfortable moments with my rather active and exuberant 3 year old.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tupoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel that had been in my radar for some time for a future future visit to Lisbon because I had read so many good reviews. No wonder!

We came from Spain by car and had just one day left for Lisbon in this trip, a city that I am passionate about.

And of all the visits to Lisbon "As Janelas Verdes" was a perfect fit for all of us. This is a hotel (actually they prefer to be seen as a guest house, as I was told by the front desk) of a tremendous personality. The hotel proposes to welcome their guests with lovely, charming lounges that are extremely confortable and pleasant. There is opportunity, if time allows and one wishes, to sit in one of their lounges and say hello to other guests. It is perfect for a solo traveller not to feel alone, for example. Guests like this ambience where they can relax confortably.

My husband and I stayed at the room with the Tejo river view. Even our huge carrara marble bathroom had a magnificent Tejo river view! Our friend did not have a Tejo view, but that's not a problem at all! The library - yes, there is one - in the upper floor where you can reach by elevator, or stairs is absolutely gorgeous, charming, and with a big varanda that looks to the Tejo, so you can appreciate the view as long as you wish, day or night.

There is tea, coffee and biscuits at the main lounge 24 hours.

Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, included in our reservation.

Last but not least you can enter the museum of antique arts for free, and it's just outside, in the same sidewalk. It is a gorgeous museum to visit, not a giant museum but with a very interesting
collection. There is also a free entrance to another museum in Chiado if I am not mistaken, but we did not have time to go to the second museum, unfortunately.

This is a very enthusiastic review because the hotel deserves it!

If I were a hotel I would like to be "As Janelas Verdes"!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SouDoRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely words that we were all delighted to read.
The other museum in Chiado, that we offer free entrance all year round, is the National Museum of Contemporary Art that I hope you have the opportunity to see it soon.
Thank you once more for your review and I am sure that if “As Janelas Verdes” were a person it would like to be you :)
Looking forward to welcoming you back to your home in Lisbon.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The hotel is excellent with breakfast patio, drinks on rooftop terrace and honesty bar all just right to allow visitors to relax before and after sightseeing. The complementary port also helped. The rooms were quiet and spotlessly clean and larger than expected.

Room Tip: Top floor nearest kitchen/bar.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DD2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was our first stop on our trip in Portugal. The hotel is lovely and the staff could not be more accommodating. We arrived well before normal check in time but they made up our room early and offered us breakfast while we waited. The room - a twin bedroom - is comfortably appointed with a large en suite bathroom. Breakfast is varied and is served in their pretty private garden. The rooftop patio is a relaxing spot with a view of the river. The location is good: the bus stops nearly in front of the hotel and the train is nearby. Despite its location on a busy street the rooms are quiet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SheilaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Stated this August for Four nights. Once again an overall relaxing and outstanding experience. It does not get any better than this in Lisbon. Highly recommended.

Jim and Linda McGowan
Palm Desert, CA

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mcgj4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews