We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
104
250
130
34
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
250
130
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationswimming poola la carte restaurantnice hotelsea viewexcellent locationchoice at breakfastthe air conditioningreception staffreasonable sizehotel roomhuge selectionroom was largebuffet dinnerrestaurants and shopscomfy bedshort break
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

This is certainly not what I would classify as a 4 star hotel.

It has not been refurbished in what feels like decades. The air conditioning unit in our room trickled out and even though I asked for it to be fixed, all they did was remove the rotating panel, which solved nothing.

The safe in our room had no lock, so had to carry valuables around with us all week. No iron available.

The room was clean but room service failed to clean on one day.

What was really poor was the build quality. We could hear conversations in rooms either side of ours and were constantly woken by guests simply opening and closing their doors.

Breakfast was average, so we ate at the highly recommended pastry cafe opposite.

The staff were pleasant.

I have stayed in much, much nicer 4 star hotels.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KingsKaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you taking your time to give us valuable feedback regarding your stay.

We are sad to hear that we failed to surpass your expectations on this occasion on different aspects that you have advised. We do offer an option on room safe but there is an associated cost, and we apologize we couldn’t facilitate the other requests you mention during your stay.

Depending on availability and requests, our team is happy to bear in mind any preferences you may have.

Nevertheless, we are happy to hear that you found our staff pleasant and we sincerely hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back again an give us the opportunity to re-gain your trust in our services and facilities.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Positives: Rooms are larger than normal with good amenities.
Breakfast has good choice and is regularly refreshed.
Staff are very friendly and helpful
Good value for money
Negatives: The lifts are a little cramped and wasn't possible to borrow an iron

Room Tip: pay the estra for sea view rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Manager at Vila Gale Estoril, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Estoril when visiting our city and for taking the time to give us your opinion on your stay with us.

Its always a pleasure to hear such a great feedback on both our services, facilities and colleagues. We strive to build our overall quality based on our guest’s comments and surely we will let them all know of your kind words.

We hope you will be able to visit you anytime soon and please feel free to contact us if you have any request.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

One night was enough! Old, dirty, it's like being back in the 80's, this place hasn't been refurbished since then. Air conditioning machine out of the window very noisy, used bed blankets and the bed sheets are too short, they don't cover the lenght of the bed (never seen anything like this). Personel on the other way is very kind and professional especially at the reception.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank saendreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Very friendly staff, the rooms were clean, nice pool to relax, close to the beach and train. Perfect hotel for combination of citytrip (to Lisbon) and beach holiday!
I would return here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inezkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Stayed for 2 nights in January with breakfast included as part of a city break package by British Airways.

The inclusive breakfast surpassed my expectations. Pretty decent spread at the buffet and good, kind service.

Front desk was welcoming and helpful. Check-in was very quick, which was nifty considering how late we had arrived at the hotel (10PM).

Room was clean and tidy. Daily housekeeping services re-tidied the room adequately. Bathroom seemed quite dated but clean nonetheless.

Was a comfortable stay and rest.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrFood-MsWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews