We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
28
55
44
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
55
44
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station bread rolls hotel is located nice hotel rooms are small minute walk cascais prom euro beaches
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights with room on the 3rd floor at the back had a sea view and although the trains were going by it was a good experience and no problem. The staff were very helpful especially Nadir who always welcomed us with a smile. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and I would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: Have a room high up. We were on 3rd but there are 4 floors all together. Room at the back.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 726karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this 2 star hotel for one night. At reception, a cellphone call was enough for the receptionist to interrupt my check-in and while talking handing me the room's key and two remote controls (TV and A/C). Room assigned was 503. On entering the lift I realized the elevator's last floor was the forth. Going back to the receptionist that in the meantime had finished his phone call, he told me the elevator would only go up to the forth floor, and then I would have to use the stairs to go up to the fifth. Carpets on corridors are dirty. The room's door had been tampered and was in a miserable condition. The room itself was small, smelly, and looked like one of these cheap one night stand places. Even setting it to its best, the A/C airflow went directly on top of one of the beds, the only one which had a bedside table as the other one was stuck to a wall and only accessible if hopping over the first one. I chose the bed with no sidetable, but from there the drapes would obstruct 1/3 of the TV screen. The bathroom had a air dryer and was modern but only fitted with 2 small soap bars. No bath gel, no shampoo, just 2 bars of ordinary soap. Overall this hotel has a very low standard of quality and I would recommend paying 5 or 10 bucks more for better options in the vicinities.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank ruis443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Dear Valued Customer,
We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. Unfortunately the renovation works are not finished yet.
Maybe on the end of this month will be set! We hope so!
Right now , of the 5 floors, 4 floors are ready!
Then, they will remove the carpet of the stairs, polish the marble, paint the stairs corridors , reception, lobby and breakfast room.
We believe our service quality and hotel facilities will certainly be better when we complete the refurbishment.
Our team is currently working towards resolving this, Our goal is to serve you better, thank you for choosing ,thanks again for staying with us !

Best Regards,

Nadir Nunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

This is a lovely 2 star hotel. The rooms are small but clean and quiet. The price we paid was amazingly good value. The breakfast isnt great but it's so cheap I wouldnt expect much more. Will definitely return again...

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank ItsaDublintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Dear Guest,
First of all , thank you for sharing with us and all TripAdvisor readers your recent staying over Hotel Sao Mamede. We sincerely are appreciative of your kind review and for commending our professional team, central location and efficient service. We are happy to hear that you felt at home with us! We hope to welcome you again. With our Best Regards, Nadir Nunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Amazing location right on the beach literally a few minutes to go down to the sea. Good clean hotel. Of course at this price the hotel is worth the money. Very clean bathroom. Beds could've been more comfortable. Breakfast typically Portuguese. :)

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Michał Ś
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear guest! Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Sao Mamede Estoril. We are delighted to hear that you felt at home with us. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again! Warm regards, on behalf of the Hotel Sao Mamede Estoril Team,

Nadir Nunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

The good: The hotel is in a convenient location near Estoril rail station for Lisbon and the bus to Sintra (€12 for the day on any normal bus - not tour buses). The best way to get there (apart from a taxi) is Aerobus 1 (91) from the airport to Cais do Sodre (40mins every 20 mins €3.60) then the train to Estoril (35 mins every 15 mins €2.50). It was cheap at £280 for 2 people for a week. Our room (406) was clean and reasonably sized, with a good bathroom equipped with a bath. The windows were double glazed with thick blackout curtains. There were many TV channels in English (BBC World and American programs with Portuguese subtitles). There is a nice sea view from some rooms like ours on the right of the hotel towards the top and back. There were 2 good lifts, but note they only go to the 4th floor, not the 5th.

The bad: It's noisy. It's located between a busy main road and the railway line, so noise is to be expected, as the manager Asif explained to us. We started off in room 209 and thought it would get quieter during the night and the air conditioning would mask any residual noise. But motorbikes kept screaming past, trains rumbled past sup to midnight or so and the a/c was noisy when it stopped and started. We seriously thought we would have to change hotels and saw the manager the next morning. He moved us to room 406 which seemed a bit less susceptible to the road noise and had a different a/c unit which was much quieter, so we stayed for the whole week in the end. Other negatives include stained carpets, a rather indifferent reception staff member, a basic (but acceptable) breakfast where scrambled eggs,fruit and yogurt cost extra, and having to ask for the a/c to be turned on in the warm downstairs breakfast room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the right of the hotel, looking from the front, on the 3rd or 4th floor, towards the back.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElTelDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Sao Mamede, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Guest,
We sincerely are appreciative of your kind review and for commending our professional team, central location and efficient service.
Please accept our apologizes for any inconvenient.
We look forward to your next visit at the Hotel Sao Mamede Estoril in one of our renovated rooms.

Yours sincerely,

Nadir Nunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews