We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveller rating
265
626
239
75
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
626
239
75
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view pool area good size minute walk town centre room safe junior suite small kitchenette golf trip beautiful park lovely hotel buffet breakfast top floor rooms are large pleasant walk reception staff boca do inferno
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel with extremly good location. I had a room with seaview and it was magical. A complete breakfast with everything a Scandinavian guy could want.
And the staff is super friendly and willing to help and serve.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 735niklasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Guest,

It's so difficult so express our enjoyment after "reading" and feeling your happiness.
Our customers satisfaction is our first priority.

Hope to see you here in the future.
Kind regards

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Pros: Stayed here for 3 nights. Had requested a handicap accessible room, but they did not have one, so had to negotiate a slippery tub, which seems common in Portugal. The bath was good size though, and our room was quite comfortable and roomy. Had a couch, table and 2 armchairs. Great view of the ocean and lighthouse. Restaurant wasn't that great, but the "Pro" was that the salad bar was good. Bar area was nice, and the staff very friendly.
Cons: You have to pay rental on the safe which we have not experienced at a hotel before. Food in the restaurant was cold on the buffet at breakfast, and staff seemed "put out" when you complained. Dinner food was not memorable (half-board option). Soup was good enough, but used for 3 days in a row. Mains were overcooked, and not seasoned well.

Room tip: Room overlooking back of hotel on the water/pool side.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vikingbymarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We spent a week in Vila Gale in Cascais in July 2016 and it was a wonderful experience.
The hotel is located across the street form the ocean, in the close vicinity of a a beautiful park, little far from center Cascais, but offering perfect accommodation. The rooms are very large and clean, breakfast great to my own personal taste, the garden surrounding the hotel very pleasant and well kept.
The town of Cascais and surroundings are magnificent.
I would surely return.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

An excellent hotel,perfect location,room with sea view amazing,very good breakfast with a lot of selection and very helpful staff,would definitely recommend ,free parking available which is very good

Room tip: Excellent room with a perfect view
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The hotel is in the coastal resort of Cascais, also known as being in the Portuguese Riviera. The hotel is exception and is one of 27 hotels owned in Brazil and Portugal by the same chain. Most are at least 4* and we were treated like royalty the entire time we stayed. Children are allowed in the bar, not the norm in Canada or the US. Besides the amenities of this hotel you are able to walk to the town centre. It's a very easy walk taking perhaps 10 - 15 min just strolling. Do watch out for runners and bicycles. They are everywhere. Despite the claims that Portugal is a very inexpensive country to visit, it turns out not to be true at all - unless - you are far away from any kind of tourist destination, of which Cascais of course is. So expect to pay NA prices at least. You should also know that even though you will be told Tips are frowned on - don't believe a word of it. Tips are actively encouraged and very few places will refuse or don't actually expect one. This should not stop you from going. Both the hotel and the city are well worth a visit - and the wine - OMG - It's is worth a visit. Oh yes the wine. You can get a really good bottle for about $10 and a typical one for $5 or $6. :-)

Room tip: Try to get a room facing the water - the Sunsets is spectacular in March.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews