We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
30
51
31
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
51
31
9
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Moderna is a great hotel centrally located near the historical part of Coimbra and next door the train station. Reception staff were super friendly and attentive, always ready to help with anything! They even printed out train and bus times for us, and helped us explore the towns nearby. We had a very pleasant stay and definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamilaDiCivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Basic Hotel, More like a Bed and Breakfast!! Breakfast was simple. Host was helpful.
Rooms were comfortable and clean. Coimbra is a small town - Hotel is walking distance from the downtown and close to the university. Parking is 0.3 miles away in a garage.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoaib Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

My first time to Coimbra, lovely city, though not near any airport.

I had booked Moderna as it was close to the station and to the University where I had a conference. It's run by a very friendly family and we managed to communicate in Spanish :-)

The room was small, neat and tidy and with a small attached bathroom. The owner told me that they had recently installed the elevator. I had a room on the top floor with a little balcony!

Room Tip: Top floor with a small balcony
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Basic clean room. The breakfast was fine you could get free parking if you asked which was nearby. The only downside, our window overlooked a noisy bar and there was some building work going on. Why do people expect every hotel to speak english?

Room Tip: Dont get back rooms
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stackridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel takes only cash payment, which they do not tell you when you book. There was not hot water for the showers and when we complained as none of our party of 5 could shower they offered no compensation. The tv in one of the rooms was only showing Snow! And once again when we complained no offer of compensation. Not even a free coffee or complimentary breakfast. I will never recommend this hotel - we were all truly disgusted!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sbart4161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews