We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
310
388
89
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
388
89
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terceira mar monte brasil indoor pool bacon coffee machine sea view amazing views open to the public rooms face the sea fitness room hotel service bit dated beautiful location yogurt comfortable hotel beans first floor
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

My wife and I had joined a group of about 25 other people for a Saga tour of the Azores, spending about 4 nights at each of three hotels. The Terceira Mar was the third and the best hotel of the three.

The only disappointment was our room. This hotel was unusual as it was constructed "upside down". You entered at level 4 where a few hotel rooms and most of the public rooms were situated and then went down to levels 3, 2 and 1 to find your room. If you were unlucky you got level one. We were unlucky, so we got the worst view and it meant we couldn't sleep with the balcony door open (as my wife likes to do) for security reasons.

I had a major problem with the safe. A faulty 9 volt PP3 battery was declared to be the cause and there didn't seem to be a spare in the hotel. Eventually I was told that the whole safe was replaced. It needed a 6 digit code to open it (most safes need 4) but was very easy to lock with just one button so I got to like it.

The best feature of the hotel was the magnificent pool layout. It used sea water to judge from the taste and was beautifully clear. The temperature when I took it was 27°C which was just 10° warmer than the in-room minibar. There wasn't really enough shade around it but that didn't seem to bother those people who seemed determined to contract a malignant melanoma.

The food. Far and away the best of the three hotels we used. You also had a superb view out over the sea and mountains while dining. There was an outdoor balcony on which you could take a pre-dinner drink if that is what you wanted. This was the hotel I was most sorry to leave.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoctorBrian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

The only Thing about the place is All the hils to climb when you go for a walk, but the hotel is top and perfekt balcony, Nice rooms and service ok, could use more than one chair at the balcony. My recommendation.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ITJylland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Terceira Mar for 8 nights and have nothing but good things to say about it. The front desk was especially helpful with everything from helping us reconnect with our lost luggage to booking restaurants for us. Yes, as other reviews mentioned the carpet and furniture in the common areas are a bit tired, but the bed appeared to very new and comfortable and the cleaning staff did a wonderful job making sure we returned to a spotlessly clean room every day. The breakfast provided a wide range of choices and everything was quickly replenished when items ran low. We were very busy so didn’t get to enjoy the pool area as much as we would have liked, but we hope to return to the beautiful island of Terceira and Terceira Mar will be our hotel of choice.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vichr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Nice hotel, large, clean and well furnished rooms (we were in a triple), very friendly and kind staff, terrific vista from the rooms and risto, walking distance to chief town, large open air swimming pool, top level breakfast. highly suggested for a luxurius and quick stop on Terceira (otherwise it is possible to find cheaper accomodation).

Room tip: I think that all the rooms have the view on the sea, but check before
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

This is a huge hotel but almost every room seems to have a brilliant sea view. The immaculate lawns of the hotel face out to a sea view framed by cliffs. When the Shearwaters come in to roost in the evening thier plaintive calls set off the sceen perfectly.

The hotel decor is dated but clean and not scruffy. The room and bed were what we would expect of a 4 star. Bar food fine and breakfast buffet was decent but nothing to rave about.

The downside is tht it is a short drive to the centre of town making an evening trip out to eat a bit more of an expedition.

Quiet noght once the Shearwaters settle.

Room tip: All views fabulous but upper floors are quieter
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zappaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews