We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Familie welcome”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gutspeis
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Familie welcome”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

When we arrived at midnight, Susanna awaited us at the garden gate and helped us with the luggage. She is a very welcoming, friendly and bubbly person who makes you really feeling at home in her house. To the rear there is a lovely garden,walled by hybiscus shrubs surrounding a pool.We spent quite a few very relaxing hours there after a long day hiking and sightseeing. The place is especially inviting for people who like the attention of friendly cats and of an old dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimster33
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing host, wonderful house and garden and perfect guests!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A really warm welcome when we arrived, typical Tercera dish cooked for us 1 day, beautiful garden and swimmingpool, nice room and such a nice host that makes you feel at home!! Really sad that we had to go home again, would love to stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you Kim for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting your beautiful family! Come back ant time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabian v
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Choice to Stay on São Miguel”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The stay at Casa Dos hibiscos was the best Casa during our travels on the acores. Susana is a lovely host who really cares about her guests. We had really funny evenings sitting together and drinking wine! She was always available for giving advice and asking questions! We enjoyed the stay a lot and can totally recommend this place. There is no better casa to stay for your holidays!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure sharing my home with you and spending some time together chatting and laughing. You are always welcome to Casa dos Hibiscos!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet H
Cortland
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Refreshing Azorean Retreat”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Casa dos Hisbiscos really was easy to find once I found my way out of the narrow and usually one way streets of Ponta Delgado and onto the highway towards Capelas. There was off-road parking right in front, and the house number 81 easily visible. Susana could not have been more welcoming. She greeted us warmly, fed us homemade jams, delicious breads and cheeses and local yogurt for breakfast. She had excellent suggestions for dinner restaurants. A favorite night was sitting around the table with other international guests, drinking wine and conversing in English, French and Portuguese.

Susana's home has an upstairs living area with fireplace and 2 bedrooms and a shared bath reserved for guests. There were plenty of clean towels, bath products, and a hair dryer. But we were welcome in the dining and kitchen areas as well as the guest area upstairs.

I love Casa dos Hibiscos gardens... the hibiscus flowers, which she named the B&B after, were just coming into bloom. Her yard also has an inviting swimming pool... sadly we never used it as we were out on tours all day and wouldn't get back till after dark. There were also a BBQ area featuring the Azorean blue tile, and charming water fountain.

Casa dos Hisbiscos is the perfect combination of more modern amenities and Azorean cultural charm. The location about 15 minutes out of Ponta Delgado made it a real retreat.... every evening we would heave a sigh, releasing any stress, as we crossed back over green hills studded with black & white cows, drive past historic stone fences and admire the calla lilies and camellias, and coast down the hill to the roundabout just before Susana's house.

We not only had a refreshing vacation, we made a new friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Thank you for choosing Casa dos Hibiscos and for your kind words. It was a pleasure sharing my home with you and your daughter, Angela. Come back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chouen
Cardiff, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The highlight of our three weeks in the Azores”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderful. From our arrival until our departure five days later we were treated like special guests and yet we were also treated like family. Susana is a gifted hostess who is as welcoming as anyone you could encounter but has also created a homestay where you have space and time on your own whenever you want. Her house is delightful and she has two lovely dogs and two cats. Breakfast is provided and is an array of local produce including a variety of delicious cheeses and homemade jams. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Susana who made our stay on San Miguel just that more memorable. thank you, Susana, for looking after us so well and I hope this review will encourage other travellers to choose to stay with you in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Susana is a top hostess.
Liked least: Nothing really. It was all good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. All I do, comes from my heart and it is a pleasure getting to know people from different parts of the world and meet people as nice as both of you! Come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing