We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an ocean view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Lounge Area
Lounge Area
Dining Area, Lounge Area, Door to Garden
Dining Area
Original Wooden Ceilings
Kitchen
Bedroom 1 with en-suite
Bedroom 1
En-suite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Family Bathroom
Original Fireplace
Hallway to Front Door
Lounge leading to Garden
Garden
Toys
Garden Chairs
Garden Sand Pit
Garden
Garden Chair
Garden Table
Garden Chairs
Garden Chair
Table at bottom of garden overlooking the Ocean
Table at bottom of garden
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Route from Airport to Cottage. 18 minutes.
Coordinates
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
tcass_12
Dundalk, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What an ocean view”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Cottage on the cliffs is a great location. There is a terrific view of the ocean literally in your own backyard. Edgar is a great host and will give you all the info to make your holiday enjoyable. He welcomed us with wine, fruit and water and his charming personality. The cottage comes with everything you will need, and it will be in spotless condition. There is a hiking trail at the rear of the property. The natural pool is an easy walk and so is the terrific pizza parlour (off one of the side streets before the natural pool) My wife an I enjoyed our stay in the cottage and plan on returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean view
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2016
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick A
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We loved staying at this charming cottage. It has everything you could ask for; great location, lovely views, fully equipped, comfortable and clean. We loved to spend time relaxing at the cliff top table with a glass of wine and a bite to eat, looking out over the beautiful ocean. Or in the garden having a family bbq. Idyllic. We can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting by the sea
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlc5000
Rock Spring
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay on Sao Miguel!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I can't say enough good things about our stay at the cottage. It was an easy 15 minute drive from the airport to the cottage. The cottage itself is charming with many original features while offering every modern convenience that we needed. A walk through the back garden brings you to a breathtaking view of the northern coast of the island. Watching the waves crash against the cliffs was nothing short of a magical introduction to such a beautiful island. Edgar was the perfect host. Warm, inviting, and providing us with invaluable information about the island. The welcome bottle of wine and fruit was also much appreciated after our flight. He even provided us with a cell phone that we could use to make local calls and encouraged us to call him if we had any issues at all. All of this for an incredible price. I can't recommend Cottage on Cliffs over the Sea enough!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely Review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and the island. It's heart warming to know that our guests love the cottage as much as we do, and appreciate the effort we put into making your stay there as pleasurable as possible.

John, Lorna, Edgar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicca17
italia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is on the North coast of the island. It took us only 14 minutes to get there from the airport. It was very easy to find it.
The house was perfectly cleaned and we received a fruit basket and a botte of Portoguese wine as a welcome gift.
We had breakfast on the stone table outside in the garden and we could admire the Atlantic ocean and its waves. The view is beautiful.
After a short walk you get to the natural swimming pools.
There are three food stores close to the cottage (only 5 minutes by car)
a bakery, a gas station and a couple of restaurants.
The house wasn't humid at all and all the eletric appliances worked perfectly. The kitchen is very well furnished and the dishwasher detergent is provided too.
Edgar and his wife did their best to make us feel at home and Edgar got in touch every two days to check if everything was fine. Great host!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
103JL3
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house, great ocean views, very clean, very well furnished, everthing you need is there”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, ocean views are amazing, very clean and quiet rustic property, I will be going back for sure, Edgar is very helpful, I ran out of propane, he was there in 20 minutes to replace the bottle, I am from the Azores living in Canada, I recomment this house!!

Looking forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely Review.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Cottage and look forward to seeing you again next year.

John, Lorna, Edgar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing