We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Little Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Lounge Area
Lounge Area
Dining Area, Lounge Area, Door to Garden
Dining Area
Original Wooden Ceilings
Kitchen
Bedroom 1 with en-suite
Bedroom 1
En-suite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Family Bathroom
Original Fireplace
Hallway to Front Door
Lounge leading to Garden
Garden
Toys
Garden Chairs
Garden Sand Pit
Garden
Garden Chair
Garden Table
Garden Chairs
Garden Chair
Table at bottom of garden overlooking the Ocean
Table at bottom of garden
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Route from Airport to Cottage. 18 minutes.
Coordinates
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
capedream...
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cottage was chilly, damp, musty and needed better lighting. Lawn needed mowing badly.”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The price was very good for the week and our host was quick to respond to our needs. We were pleased to find a bottle of wine and fruit left for us by our hosts. The rental price was good.

Otherwise the cottage needed brighter lighting and a good heat source as it was chilly the whole week we were there. The one small electric space heater in the living room was not enough.The grass in the yard needed mowing, being about 10 inches tall. This gave the yard a very unwelcome, neglected appearance. The cottage was musty which made it uncomfortable to be there much. Again, a suitable heat source would help this situation.

The yard also needed a general tidying up as there were things pushed against the wall behind the laundry building that probably could be discarded or hidden from view. This would help make the area much more welcoming to guests.

These improvements would make a big difference in guest satisfaction.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Wine and fruit left for us was a very nice gesture. Edgar was quick to respond to our needs.
Liked least: House is damp and musty, needed brighter lighting, and a way to warm the house better than the small space heater in the living room.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
We believe this is a further duplication of the Review "Disappointing" however your negative Review and the other 2 others for the same Booking completely disagree on some key points, which we find puzzling. We would have expected you would at least have told the same story. Your 3 negative Reviews for one booking are totally at odds to all the other positive Reviews we receive. They reek of vindictiveness which really says more about the 3 Reviewers than the Cottage itself.

Nevertheless we shall try to respond in a constructive manner.

Musty house.
Strangely you do not mention this in one of your other Reviews and we strongly dispute it. We believe you read this on an earlier Review and decided to use it. The mustiness problem lasted only a short time and was quickly resolved long before you arrived.

Garden.
We are sorry the garden was not to you liking. We think the garden is lovely and rustic with nice authentic Azorean walls, and so do our other guests. We believe the pictures give a good representation of the garden.


In conclusion.
We do everything we can to give our guests the best possible experience and service and this is appreciated by the vast majority of our guests. However there are obviously some guests that it's impossible to please.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diggerdit...
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Azores is great - this house not so much!”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It started badly when we could not find the house because we had no written directions. The woman who met us spoke no English so could not provide any information about the house - it was all trial and error and numerous calls to the property manager. Our towels were still damp so the first thing we had to do was try to find the dryer (which then worked only marginally).
The house was cold, dark and very damp and musty. When cupboards were opened in the hutch, it smelled like something had died in there. The corrections to the mustiness problem have not been effective. We ran the specs heaters (when we could find an outlet that worked) to try to take the dampness out of the air.
The pictures of the 'garden' are very misleading. It is more like an overgrown prison yard with very high walls, very little view and two flowers. There is a large metal door at the back which takes you out to an area over the cliffs but you need to be very strong to open and close the latches
The neighboring dogs (which seemed to be at all the houses) barked all night long, making sleep difficult..
Kitchen was reasonable well equipped.
We spent as little time as possible in the house.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
We believe this is a duplication of the Review "Disappointing" however your story and the other one don't completely agree on some key points which we find puzzling. We would have expected you would at least have told the same story. We really didn't know whether to laugh or cry at some of your comments. Nevertheless we shall try to respond in a constructive manner.

Location of the property.
The following was information was made available to you :-

* The Address.
* A route map (one of the images on our holidaylettings Gallery).
* A Video showing driving on the route from start to finish :-
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BwgzGqBA0ZejNmJZSDhEUC1vT0U/edit
* GPS co-ordinates.
* A Telephone number to call if any other help was required.
* Verbal instructions by telephone.

We have never had a guest before who said they had difficulty finding the property. Most say they find the video is very useful and all they need.

Towels.
We're sorry that in your estimation the towels were damp and you had the inconvenience of putting them in the tumble dryer. We're sorry that you had difficulty "finding" the tumble dryer - it's right next to the washing machine - the property is not exactly huge. When you say the tumble dryer "worked only marginally" we are really scratching our heads because it works fine for everyone else.

Musty house.
Strangely you do not mention this in your other Review and we strongly dispute it. We believe you read this on an earlier Review and decided to use it. The mustiness problem lasted only a short time and was quickly resolved long before you arrived. There are 35 electrical outlets in the house and all are in perfect working order.

Garden.
We are sorry you found the pictures "misleading". We think the garden is lovely with nice authentic Azorean walls, and so do our other guests. We believe the pictures give a good representation of the garden. We will be adding more pictures of the garden in the very near future and hope they will not prove to be "misleading". The large metal door you refer to is for the safety and security of the guests. We have oiled the hinges for our less able guests.

Barking Dogs.
This is the first and only time we have been told about this. None of our other guests have said they had this problem. There is another holiday let property within 10 meters. We asked the owners who live adjacent to that property if they had experienced barking dogs. They answered that they hadn't and that none of their guests have said they had this problem.

In conclusion.
We do everything we can to give our guests the best possible experience and service and this is appreciated by the vast majority of our guests. However there are obviously some guests that it's impossible to please.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akenite
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

i will try to be constructive. In my opinion,written directions to the property would be more helpful than a video. After a call to Edgar we were able to find the cottage. He did tell us that we would be met by his wife,not him as expected. She is a very nice woman,however she did not give any basic information about the appliances which necessitated another call to Edgar to learn how the oven and stove worked. He did come and show us thatThe stove requires being lit with a match. The oven also was tricky to figure out how to operate. When we arrived we found clean but damp towels folded on the beds. So damp that they had to go into the dryer.
A few days into the stay , we lost hot water. Again I called Edgar who was very apologetic and did respond quite promptly with a new bottle of propane.
In my opinion , written instructions for each of the appliances in multiple languages should be provided for for guests. This would cut down on the number of calls to Edgar who we did find to be very responsive.
Another issue but not related to the property is the neighborhood dogs that bark at all hours of the night. Again, this does not relate to the property but after a long day of touring a beautiful island, who wants to listen to barking dogs ?

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
We are sorry to hear that everything didn't go smoothly for you and would like to respond to your points.

Location of the property.
The following was information was made available to you :-

* The Address.
* A route map (one of the images on our holidaylettings Gallery).
* A Video showing driving on the route from start to finish :-
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BwgzGqBA0ZejNmJZSDhEUC1vT0U/edit
* GPS co-ordinates.
* A Telephone number to call if any other help was required.
* Verbal instructions by telephone.

We have never had a guest before who said they had difficulty finding the property. Most say they find the video is very useful and all they need.

Oven and stove.
On arrival you were shown around the property, including the oven and stove which are simple and easy to use. You were asked if you had any questions and you replied that you were happy and had all the information you needed.
The next day you phoned to ask how to use the oven and stove. We were at the property within 30 minutes and showed you how to use the oven and stove. None of our other guests have had difficulty in using the oven and stove however we will pay particular attention to showing guests how to use these appliances in the future.

Towels.
We're sorry that in your estimation the towels were damp and you had the inconvenience of putting them in the tumble dryer.

Gas Bottle.
As with the oven and stove we were at the property within 30 minutes and resolved the issue.

Barking Dogs.
This is the first and only time we have been told about this. None of our other guests have said they had this problem. There is another holiday let property within 10 meters. We asked the owners who live adjacent to that property if they had experienced barking dogs. They answered that they hadn't and that none of their guests have said they had this problem.

In conclusion.
We're pleased that you praise us for responding quickly, willingly and efficiently as we are keen to give our guests the best possible service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanita G
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of Local Character”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a spacious house with beautiful high ceilings and lots of character. The ocean, cliffside location is a nice one--although the town was not my favorite in Sao Miguel. We did have some small hiccups upon arrival, but our host Edgar was responsive. If you are looking for an older place with character and a local feel, this is a nice choice. Upgrading the windows/doors (flying ants made their way easily through the front window, covering it) and adding a heater/dehumidifier/AC unit would have made our stay a lot more comfortable. The damp feel and musty smell of the house made sleeping difficult for me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the architecture and character of the house
Liked least: the musty smell and the flying ants that covered the front window
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2015
We were very surprised to hear about the dampness and musty smell as this has never happened before and no other guests have ever reported it. In fact the cottage is normally dry and fresh and this is how our other guests have always found it. We performed a thorough investigation and discovered that a contractor had blocked a water drainage pipe and the result was that dampness was penetrating one of the walls. The drainage pipe is now permanently unblocked and the wall is quickly drying out.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and we're sorry that you encountered this issue. We only wish you had told us during your stay instead of informing us later through a review. If you had just phoned us straight away then we could have investigated and done something immediately to remedy or alleviate the problem.

With regard to the flying ants. We have never experienced this act of nature before and probably never will again. We will look at the door and see what can be done to stop any possible ingress in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N
Collingwood, Ontario
2 reviews
“Nice Little Cottage”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely little cottage with everything to make it our home away from home. The only thing we were missing was a nice tall standing lamp so we could read at night. Otherwise, everything was as described. Thank You.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing