We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,677)
Filter reviews
1,677 results
Traveller rating
817
594
189
55
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
594
189
55
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews design hotel sea view indoor pool beautiful hotel perfect view small balcony common areas breakfast buffet is beach towels amazing location surf school high season the cliff local restaurants martinhal beach yogurt mimmo
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,677 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We decided to visit Sagres after hearing good things about the area from a friend and wanting to see the coast. Not having an idea where to stay, we came upon the Memmo Baleeira and decided to stay here. Were we lucky!

Such a wonderful place. A comfortable room with an ocean view, relaxing bed and the best breakfast of any hotel we have stayed in. While I enjoy a coffee in the morning and not much else, this buffet was amazing! You could have anything from bread to eggs and sausage to lox and bagels, champagne to coffee. All with an amazing view of the ocean.

Can't say enough about the property and staff. Price point was right on. No other place to stay in Sagres!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank outdoorgirlnj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We stayed here for one night at the end of our holiday in Portugal. The hotel has a lovely location over the harbour and has good big rooms, comfortable beds, great (but very busy) breakfast and a nice swimming pool. However our stay was spoilt by being asked for Eur 5 for about 100ml of fresh milk so we could have a cup of tea in our room (we are English!! :-)). I told the guy he could keep his milk and walked 5 mins down the road to the Spar and bought a litre of milk for Eur 0.79. So a 600% mark up! I would have been happy to pay something - it is worth noting this is the only hotel we were asked to pay in a week in Portugal, however sadly my whole attitude to the hotel changed from being excited to be staying there to being annoyed and negative.
So my review can be summed up as do stay there - it is lovely - but expect to pay for the simplest of things.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view away from the pool.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjnaylor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We took a group of Californian guests for a culture trip & yoga to Portugal and stayed at this hotel for six nights. A few problems with one of our 5 rooms got easily resolved. Every member of the hotel / restaurant staff we dealt with, was very friendly and cooperative. Our rooms were quiet with a nice view to the harbor / ocean, also clean, comfortable and equipped with good beds. It's a nice treat to wake up with a sunrise over the ocean and then to enjoy a nice breakfast (splendid buffet) with a view. We also had dinner in the hotel's restaurant twice. Good food and beverages for a fair price. Pleasant regional wines. A place definitely to be recommended and ideally located to explore the south-western and western Algarve.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel has one of the best locations we have ever seen. You have the beach. Then the pier. And an endless view of the coastline of Portugal. It can get a bit windy here so carry a jacket. The staff was friendly and quite humorous. The room had a bathtub. This hotel has an outdoor and an indoor heated pool. The breakfast spread was superb. But the room I think is a bit pricey.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank arpita012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Spent a week here enjoying the sunrise over the port. Room was ok and the selection at breakfast was better than expected.
The hotel has lots of great restaurants within walking distance so we didn’t eat in the hotel

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Narmitag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews