We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
36
28
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
28
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstonel beachfull kitchenrooms are spacioustop floorminute walkplace to staywalking distancegreat locationbeachesreception
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We have stayed at these apartments several times, 1 month at a time every 2 years.
New double pain sliding doors and heating panels made for added comfort for off season stays.
Very clean, spacious room and kitchen with south facing terraces get full sun in winter.
Walking distance to markets and restaurants and easy 5 minute distance for an early walk on beautiful Tonel beach or to watch a stunning sunset.On days with high surf you can hear the waves from the terrace.
Internet is good, even able to "facetime" Canada with clear image and sound.
Staff very friendly and egger to help with any nee. Recommended!

Room Tip: in winter ask for south facing to get more hours of sun on the terrace
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed here just for 1 night on a drive from Lisbon to the Algarve. Basic little apartment with a full kitchen which was nice. Very clean! Not very soundproof, but thankfully it quieted down at night for sleeping. Very hard bed in our room, but we managed to sleep. Extra blankets but no extra pillows. No bathroom toiletries - or dish soap in kitchen. We were on the second floor, small balcony to enjoy the outdoors and view. TV in the main living area, not in the bedroom. Hair dryer available from front desk. There is a pool on site with bathroom facilities but as it was fairly chilly the evening we were there we didn't make use of it, but it looked very nice.

Easy walk to beautiful Praia Do Tonel (beach) and easy drive to the lighthouse to watch the sunset at "the end of the earth". Very friendly front desk staff. Easy access to town with shops and markets, groceries. Really couldn't beat it for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadtennisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

These apartments are clean and roomy and a short walk to restaurants and bars and beaches. They did laundry for us too at a reasonable price. They are located just on the edge of town near the magnificent fort and we enjoyed exploring from there and being in a quiet area.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosNascimento, Gerente at Tonel Apartaments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Dear costumer,

Thanks for your comment.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay here at our apartments and all sights of this town.

Let us inform that we are ending our outdoor pool with a big garden area to for you to enjoy our sun, and we are making more arrangements in common areas (with more garden space) to improve your satisfaction. All modifications would be ended at May.
Hope having you here again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

I spend a lot of time in Portugal, especially in the Western Algarve. Sagres itself it a bit of an end of the road town but it does have two stunning beaches and the surfs good. It is a good base to explore bot the South and West Coasts both of which are beautiful, especially the National Park.

I have stayed at Tonel Apartamentos Turisticos over a dozen times. It is where I stay if I haven't got the family with me, simply because there aren't any facilities for children. I did note however on my last trip that they are digging a pool out!

The apartments are tucked away in a quiet location at the edge West edge of town just off the road to Cape St. Vincent. Tonel beach is just a short walk away - ideal for an early morning surf check. There is plenty of parking.

The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The decor is a little bit old fashioned but again, on my last trip the bathrooms had all been re-decorated to a high standard. All the rooms I have stayed in have large balconies with sea and countryside views. There is free WI-FI and if you are so inclined a TV. The kitchen is great and there are enough utensils to cook a large meal. The smaller rooms have a nice sheltered and sunny area with sun loungers to relax.

If the waves are good you can surf out front all day. Otherwise it's just a short drive to any of the South or Western facing beaches. There are endless opportunities.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. I am looking forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eastcoastsurfuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosNascimento, Gerente at Tonel Apartaments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

Dear costumer, thank you for your comment.

Hope having you here again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

The loaction of this hotel is fantastic so close to the beach. The rooms are very spacious with nice big balcony, plenty of cooking utensils and very clean & plenty of on site parking. Only downside is there is no pool other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RuthandDan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosNascimento, Gerente at Tonel Apartaments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

Dear costumer, thank you for your comment.

Hope having you here again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews