We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
430
322
111
33
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
322
111
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spectacular sunset cliff top sea view spectacular location public areas octopus cape st vincent nice pool balcony portugal fortress beaches fireplace henry west portuguese coast
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 913 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018

This was probably the nicest place we stayed on our tour of Portugal. You just can’t beat the awesome sea view. The pousada is located on the edge of the sea cliffs, just at the edge of the small town of Sagres, about 5-10 minutes walk to all of the shops and restaurants. The extensive grounds are beautiful and well cared for and there is ample area in front for parking. There are numerous hiking and biking trails nearby the hotel. Our room was good-sized, bright, and airy with those amazing ocean views, sun streaming in. There was a good TV with extensive English language programming and the Wifi connection was strong and fast. The breakfast was amazing and we had some of the best pastel de nata pastries here. We found this to be exceptionally good value as we only paid about 90Euro for the room, a real bargain. We really loved this place and would highly recommend it to all travelers wanting the pousada experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAlhais, General Manager at Pousada de Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Dear DanO68,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about the memorable Experience you had at Pestana Pousada de Sagres!

We are so happy to read that you had a wonderful Experience and that our staff made part of your valuable stay. Our Team is passionate and strive to provide our Guests the most fantastic Time of Their Lifes.
I am pleased to share your kind comments to every member of the Team.

We have indeed a beautiful Pousada in an outstanding location!!
Our breakfast is something out of this world in terms of quality and freshness ;) totally home made just for our Guests.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at Pousada de Sagres.
See you soon then...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Great location and love the hotel. In May 2018 they didn't have enough staff so food took an incredibly long time to arrive and staff hid when we asked them what was happening. Returned from a day out to find that a disco had been arranged on the terrace with 2 massive loudspeakers just under our balcony. We aren't disco people and neither were 99% of the other guests so it was just the DJ annoying everyone. Food was good when it did arrive and we did have a great holiday there. Please just have enough staff and ditch the disco.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank stevew2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAlhais, General Manager at Pousada de Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear stevew2009,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about the memorable Experience you had at Pestana Pousada de Sagres!

We are so happy to read that you had a wonderful Experience and that our staff made part of your valuable stay. Our Team is passionate and strive to provide our Guests the most fantastic Time of Their Lifes.
I am pleased to share your kind comments to every member of the Team.

At the same time I would like to apologize for the mentioned points regarding to the wedding event.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at Pousada de Sagres.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

The setting of the hotel was lovely and the views from our room over to the fortress were impressive. The grounds were quite extensive.The staff were very helpful and attentive although the bar was not staffed. Once we worked out that you needed to ask a member of the restaurant team that worked well. Food in the restaurant was very good.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank SisterScholastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAlhais, General Manager at Pousada de Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear SisterScholastica,

We would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Pousada de Sagres once again for the place to enjoy the Time of Your Life in the magnificent Algarve!

We are so so proud of the positive comments you addressed to us, this being also a great incentive for a constant improvement of our services. Exceeding the expectations of Guests is our main goal!

On behalf of All Pousada de Sagres Team, we Thank You for your contribution.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Yes, there is a lovely view of the beach. That means that the hotel is not on the beach and because of the elevation and distance, we wouldn't characterize the walk to the beach as easy. The bar was poorly staffed and the bartender was absent completely for long periods. Several large tour groups were apparently leaving on the same schedule and the breakfast buffet was compelely overwhelmed. We had to fight to get the scraps that were left. The rooms were large and quiet and it met our needs for the one night that we stayed.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and the ocean beyond have the best views.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILMtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAlhais, General Manager at Pousada de Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Elton E,

We would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Pousada de Sagres for the place tor enjoy The Time of Your Life in the magnificent Algarve!

We regret to hear that we didn't meet your expectations and on behalf of the whole Pousada de Sagres Team, please accept our sincere apologies.
Please allow me to share with you that our breakfast is known as highly above average in terms of quality, quantity and freshness. Fortunately we are on high demand from our Guests which may lead to short and sudden buffet refilling needs. Yes, it happens occasionally as all our breakfast buffet is moment maid/prepared in order to offer all our Guests a quality meal.

Our Pousada in not advertised as located on the beach, but sea and fortress view depending on the room type.

We hope to have a second chance to change your mind about our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

This Pousada in Sagres is a must stay place at the bottom western corner of Portugal. It has the most stunning views, the rooms are lovely and the pool is amazing. Pay the extra and get a room with a terrace and a view, you won’t regret it

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank skinnies16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAlhais, General Manager at Pousada de Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Dear "skinnies16",

We would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Pousada de Sagres once again for the place to enjoy the Time of Your Life in the magnificent Algarve!

We are so proud of the positive comments you addressed to us, being also an incentive for a constant improvement of our services. Exceeding our Guests expectations is our main goal!

We are indeed located in a special place with priceless views!
You did great by choosing to upgrade your room as I am sure it worth the small difference.

On behalf of All Pousada de Sagres Team, we Thank You for your contribution.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews