We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,645)
Filter reviews
1,645 results
Traveller rating
1,057
398
114
54
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,057
398
114
54
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club village square garden house main pool young children o terraco play area os gambozinos family holiday villa mimosa tennis courts small children terrace restaurant half board self catering ocean villa welcome pack
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,645 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

First class service, accommodation and food. However, the weather could have been better. The weather in itself is not a criticism of Martinhal Sagres, but there is not a great deal to do in the rain (the property could do with a larger indoor pool and some additional indoor entertainment (e.g. a small ten pin bowling alley).The resort is family orientated and they always have lovely touches - e.g. our daughter loved hunting round the resort for the 11 fairy doors.The breakfasts are a treat to be enjoyed, the staff are always helpful, and we sometimes had pools to ourselves. Despite the weather, we had a great family holiday (our third time here, so they must be doing something right).Thank you to everyone at Martinhal.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N3085LGstephenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Our sincere thanks for your very lovely compliments. It is very rewarding to know we are succeeding to provide the luxury hospitality we strive for.
We look forward to your return as we are sure you will enjoy many more fantastic holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Just so very bland and very over priced. Staff lovely, resort and villa very clean, mattresses in desperate need of being replaced unless you like sleeping in a divit. Pools were excellent but we were there very out of season so they were almost empty. Kids play areas again fine out of season but must be horrific in school holidays. And then there's the 17 euros for a gin and tonic.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

While we are happy to hear you found our staff to be helpful, we are equally disappointed to hear about your experience as it is not a reflection of our standards of operation by any means. We would like to assure you that your comments have been reviewed by members of our Management Team and are being addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Amazing week with family.
They certainly know what a family need for a stress free holiday!
Beautifully equipped villas,daily maid service.
Swimming pools with toys on the side.
Restaurants that produce amazing meals.
Staff happy and always ready to help.
Not cheap but you get 5 star service!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sunloverSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

It is our goal to exceed expectations and we appreciate you letting us know we did in so many ways. Thank you!
We hope you will continue to make Martinhal Sagres your first choice and we look forward to welcome you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed in an ocean view house. It was amazing, so clean and well equipped. We relaxed from the minute we arrived. We travelled with a 6 month old and an almost 2 year old.

The pools were great for young children. There are plenty of communal toys by the pool and beach, my boy loved them, every day he had various different toys to slash about with.

Our children nap in the afternoon, it gave myself and my husband an opportunity to sit out on our terrace enjoying the sun and the amazing view.

The resort is so clean and family friendly. The play areas in the restaurants were brilliant. The baby chairs in the restaurants were a life savior for my 6 month old, they had a lovely recline, she relaxed in them and I enjoyed my dinner! We ate out every night, the staff in the restaurants were so accommodating, they were very good with children and really made an effort to chat and entertain them.

We went to the play ground in the village square most evenings before dinner. There was a lovely family friendly atmosphere.

My only criticism is the slope to the beach pool is extremely steep, it was fine going down but I struggled pushing our double buggy up it ( I assigned this task to my husband!)

We hope to return to this resort next year.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Thank you very much for your review and fantastic compliments, especially toward our staff.

It is our mission to provide the best service possible, and to read your review makes us all feel as though we are achieving our goal.

One of the most flattering compliments that we could receive is your loyalty and your desire to continue to visit us, and for that we are extremely grateful and look forward to many more visits from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

It’s our 4th year of visiting martinhal Sagres and was just as good also nice to see all sun beds had been upgraded and beach pool had been relined. Lucky to have great weather and as always staff so friendly. Thanks for the cake and port which arrived in our villa on my husbands birthday. Breakfast buffet was superb and again like the addition of the omelette/egg station. Our partial ocean villa had a great view. We will be back next year and bring the grandparents next time. X

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank joandwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

We do appreciate your loyalty, thank you for making us your first choice for 4 years and for your many kind compliments. We are very glad to know how much you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of your Ocean Villas as well as all our superb facilities.
Many thanks for your high praises and compliments on our service. We know how friendly, attentive and professional staff make all the difference therefore your recognition in highly valued. All of us at Martinhal Sagres look forward to your return so that you and your family may experience our positive progress and enjoy a truly perfect stay with plenty of pampering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews