We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
528
304
68
39
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
304
68
39
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk roof terrace bed apartment washing machine indoor pool mos beach hotel restaurant main building fully equipped kitchen turkish bath lovely beach nice resort local beach nearest supermarket cleaning service reception staff steam room
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018

We stayed in room C3C which was a two bedroom roomed apartment with a roof terrace. Amazing views and fabulous space!
The hotel is just a 3 mins walk to a beautiful beach with a couple of good restaurants.
Only down side to this hotel was the breakfast - its a bit basic for a 4* hotel only one coffee machine working and generally a queue! The supermarket is a quite a walk (20mins up hill!) away so stock up while you are there.

Room tip: Top floor room shave great sea views.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaB5452, Manager at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you very much for your feed back.
We will have your comments in consideration as our objective is guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

This facility is a complex of condos so that your "one bedroom" rental also has a small kitchen and large living room. You have plenty of space. It is a 5 minute walk to a lovely beach with a nice restaurant. Breakfast is substantial and tasty. The location is outside the downtown area, so you need a car or be prepared to "taxi". On the other hand, parking is ample; and it's easy to get around the town. We walked along the marina area in the heart of town in addition to visiting several of the magnificent beaches actually quite close to the hotel. Nice for a relaxing weekend away from the hordes of tourists in the marina. Easy access to Sagres for a nice day trip.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank weiss782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaB5452, Manager at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you very much for your feed back.
We are very glad you have enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in Lagos. The beach was spectacular and the Belmar was great. I would go to town for dinners.
Don Sebastia Restaurante was excellent!
The pools at the Belmar were very nice. We had a folk dance from an old Portuguese group that was fantastic.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 689larryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaB5452, Manager at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you so much for your feed back. Much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We’ve just spent 16 nights here and I’m glad to be home which is not something I would normally say. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was very nicely furnished and initially clean. But there’s a problem with getting clean linen and towels. We didn’t get clean bedding for 10 days and had to go to reception to complain (nothing was done about it until the following day). You can’t get clean pool towels (these are tiny any threadbare) daily (approx every 3 days) and you have to use these for the pool, the gym, and even the spa yuk! Apparently this is to save laundry and in turn the planet, the housekeeping staff clearly don’t worry too much about the environment when they leave your lights on and put the dishwasher on with just 2 cups and a plate in it. The pools are really awful, there’s no atmosphere and it’s a bit grubby. You have to get dressed and go to the restaurant if you want any food or drinks, they don’t like you to take the menu away to choose! We ordered chicken burgers and were told to go collect them in 20 minutes but someone did actually bring them out to the pool. The food was in tin foil containers, we got no cutlery or napkins, disgusting service! But the very worst part was the awful attitude of the reception staff, it was shocking to see how badly they dealt with guests, they make you feel like you are an inconvenience rather than a guest. The kitchen sink plug leaked water so we asked for this to be dealt with, it still hadn’t been done when we left even though we chased it up and were sent away with a flea in our ear. I’ve never stayed anywhere that didn’t want to deliver good customer service, but this place was just awful. The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything from the next room bathroom. The beds are really uncomfortable, so hard! The pillows should be burned never to be seen again, they are tiny and the most lumpy unsupportable items, the pillow protector under the pillow case is too big so it’s all crumpled up which is so uncomfortable. We had to go to reception to get a key to use the safe even though it’s a digital one (it’s obviously broken), why they couldn’t give us the key when we checked in I don’t know! But there’s a €50 fine if you lose the key so take great care! Just poor all round, not worth money, stay somewhere else if you can.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joyb355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaB5452, Manager at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you very much for your feed back.
Clearly your recent stay at our Resort fell way short of expectation due to the issues you have explained. For this you have our unreserved apology.

Fortunately this is not the general experience of our guests as can be seen in our ratings in several websites. We will of course, take as always, our clients comments in consideration, so we improve the standards of our service. Our main goal is our clients satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Modern 4 star hotel, with well-kept facilities like beautiful green spaces, elegant halls/lobby and great swimming pools.

The location is perfect IF your priority is being close to the beach (2 min walk) but not if you want to explore Lagos or even get your grocery supplies (these are after all self-serviced apartments). The location is very limiting even if you have a car like we did, because not only do you not have the convenience of being able to walk everywhere, but Lagos city center is not easy to park (in either paid parking or free parking).

The apartments are indeed modern and have all the necessary amenities but we found them a bit dark and suffering from a few maintenance issues not fitting the price you pay in this particular resort (malfunctioning electric shutters, damaged furniture). The beds were incredibly uncomfortable especially for a 7 night stay, and the best they could do was supply us with extra duvets to make the bed a bit softer on the back.

We stayed at the so called touristic apartments which apparently are different from the aparthotel ones. The latter are located at the main reception building, accessible to the spa and restaurant. The touristic ones are spread throughout a few other buildings, not far from the main one but completely detached so if you have breakfast included for example it may not be very practical. Every time we wanted to enjoy the indoor swimming pool for instance, we had to pack the stroller and everything else as if we were going out. This should be much more detailed when you make a reservation.

Over all, we felt we paid for 5 star amenities (it’s a bit pricy) and just got the (near) beachfront location for the price. Would still recommend but only if you really just want the beach.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaB5452, Manager at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews