We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,291 results
Traveller rating
465
539
188
59
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
539
188
59
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club rooftop restaurant old town the bus top floor free shuttle lovely hotel overlooking the marina air con excellent location side street small pool breakfast buffet ria formosa shower curtain reception staff storks nesting
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,291 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for a short break in mid November 2018.
The location is great right on the harbour the hotels facilities are excellent.
However from the moment we walked in the staff made our visit - friendly welcoming with nothing being too much trouble.
Marcia who is in charge of customer relations is absolutely excellent and her influence on the staff is obvious.
Top work!
We will be back

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stourwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a week at hotel Faro October. We had a premier room at front of hotel overlooking the marina which was very good with an excellent view over Ria Formosa. The rooftop restaurant was excellent again with great views. The staff were also excellent - polite friendly and always helpful.

The one downside was the beach club. Difficult to find anything positive to say about it. Dirty, with no beds on beach the rooftop area was far too small 6 people was crowded. Broken umbrellas. Staff not friendly. Badly needs some attention.

Would have been 5 stars if not for beach club.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank douggV214GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the hotel Faro for 3 nights. Hotel is in a great location, 10 minutes from airport and near the train and bus station.

We had a nice double room, really big comfy bed. Plenty of room for a city hotel. Room had a small fridge with water in it. Large TV with a good selection of channels. Wardrobe was a bit random as there were no doors and not many hangers, we were only there a few nights so not really a problem. Bathroom was quite large, could do with a bit of maintenance such as grouting but was perfectly clean, as was the whole hotel.

Breakfast was buffet style and plenty of choice for us. What I did like was there were gluten and dairy free alternatives as well. The restaurant was on the top floor and was great for looking over at the boats and watching the planes come into land. It was also nice to have a drink in the bar, but I felt the drinks were very expensive even for hotel prices.

I would recommend this hotel for couples or groups of friends,and its in a great central location.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel. Tons good. Terrace restaurant good but expensive. Staff professional and friendly. Well located for railways station and old part of city. Close to main shopping areas. Try and get a premium room these are better.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 314grahamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was on the third floor on the west side of the building. The room was typical of a four star hotel (with a great selection of TV channels if that is what you look for).
There was quite a bit of street noise if the window was left open in the evening/night, due to late night revelry from a near by club and then early deliveries. No noise with the a/c on. We were half board and had a limited choice for the dinner. I would not recommend the half board option because there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance that would give you more choices. There were a couple or three dinners that were a bit odd and maybe the Portuguese style of a curry (clearly a curry powder had been used and it reminded me of my mothers curry's back in the 70's (sorry Mum!), a stroganoff (the sauce of which was more like a gravy - the dish was devoid of any cream) and a prawn wrapped in sole which looked fantastic but the prawn had been overcooked and was like rubber.
We didn't complain because the restaurant staff (and all the staff) were excellent and could not be faulted plus we should have perhaps either gone al la carte or not gone half board if we wanted more choice and better quality. I suppose they have to cook to a budget. On the other hand the breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choices.
The hotel is in a great location to explore the old city and environs and overlooks the marina. The roof top bar and dining room were excellent vantage points to enjoy views across the town and enjoy sunsets over the marshlands.
A trip to the islands south of Faro is a must (a bit expensive at 30€ each) because the captain of the wee boat that took us over to the islands was full of knowledge about the marshlands, birds and the islands. We saw pink flamingoes, spoonbills, stork, oyster catchers, sanderlings and some other I didn't recognise.
We took a train journey to Tavira in the East and spent three hours looking round the town. Well worth a visit. The train journey was inexpensive. Trains in Portugal are nationalised and the buses are privatised. The train back was cancelled because it had broken down - but the luxury bus journey was excellent. I am not sure that nationalising infrastructure is a good thing.
There is a general problem with graffiti some of which is quite good but in the main it creates an atmosphere of negativity. I wonder what the old Roman inhabitants would have thought about the art work? There are also quite a number of buildings which are empty or in serious need of maintenance.

Room tip: Book a room on the east side to avoid street noise on the west side.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews