We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely resort and apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Monte Dourado

Breakfast on the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast on the terrace
The best table in Carvoeiro Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Breakfast on the terrace
The best table in Carvoeiro
Terrace
Twin Room
Walkway to the village
Kitchen
Entrance to resort
Fireside
Boardwalk Along the cliffs at Carvoeiro
Tennis courts
Sunset on the terrace!!
Kitchen
Walkway to apartment
Dining area
Double bedroom
Boat trips to caves
Relaxing time
Sittingroom
Hallway
Our Pool
Cocktail time on the terrace
Village square and beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Carvoeiro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Martin A
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely resort and apartment”
Reviewed 15 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This is a great resort. Very clean, comfortable and with a pools of various sizes throughout. It’s a 5/10 minute walk down into Carvoeiro. The apartment is very comfortable and well appointed with some lovely paintings and ornaments that make it feel homely: the one thing missing is A/C, most of the year this wouldn’t be an issue but the first few days we were there it was stiflingly hot at night, and although fans are provided it doesn’t quite do the trick. I don’t think this would be an issue outside of July, August but Portugal have just had a heatwave. We’re very happy with Carvoeiro and Monte Dourado and will be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2018
Hi Martin
Thank you for your kind words and glad you enjoyed Carvoeiro. The A/c is something I will have to consider as this was the first complaint I had about it, up to now the fans seemed to have been sufficient but as this summer was exceptionally hot - it was to be expected.
Dolores
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location”
Reviewed 22 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was very comfortable and catered for all our needs. it was situated in an ideal location,close to all the bars restaurants and the beach.
The pool area and gardens were lovely and very well maintained.
The staff at reception were very helpful.
Will definitely go back ,especially mid week in June for the black and white night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday and that all was to your satisfaction in 66
Dolores
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillz1982
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Apartment with great view”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This cosy apartment has an excellent view and all the necessities one could wish for. The contact with the owner and reception desk was very service minded and friendly. The apartment is very spacious and the online photos make it look smaller than it really is.

There were a couple of remarks I do like to share;
*the walls and flooring of the apartment are very thin. We could hear the above neighbors walk, sneeze and pee and laugh. If you try to get some sleep this tends to be very annoying.
* the welcoming code we got, to get the key from the keybox after reception hours was incorrect. We tried contacting the owner but no response. Luckily the security guard at the apartment was able to help us, but after a long day of traveling with small kids,you just want things to go smoothly. Not a big deal though.
* the apartment cleanliness was enough but felt a bit dirty here and there. The smell when we arrived was very stale, the deck had loads of bird poop on it and the indoor carpets where full of dust. The sheets, towels and bathroom and kitchen where clean. So sufficient but could be better.

We had great weather in may and the town is lovely. The walk up hill with 2 small kids is not to bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
I am very sorry to learn that you had some issues with your stay at my apartment, first of all I can't understand how I didn't receive your call on my mobile as I purposely give all my guests this number in case of any problems on arrival, I was also very disappointed to learn that the standard of cleanliness wasn't up to scratch as this is something that we take very seriously in Monte Dourado, and this is the very first time since I started renting that I have had to deal with this issue - I have of course taken this matter up with Reception.
However I am also glad to learn that apart from these issues that you enjoyed your stay and would hope that you would like to return with your family in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick C
Waterloo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This property is in the well-cared-for Monte Dourado development right in downtown Carvoeiro. The unit is a main floor villa with two good-sized bedrooms, living/dining room, kitchen and two more-than-adequate bathrooms. The front porch looks south and west over the Atlantic and the Carvoeiro waterfront -- thus, even in January, the late morning and afternoon sun was intense, and welcome. The villa is at the top of the cliff in Carvoeiro, and so walking into town meant a steep decline and then walking home, a strenuous and/or healthy workout uphill. Because it was cool in the evenings and mornings, we ended up using the fireplace to take the chill off in the main rooms. The rent included week-day housekeeping which was greatly appreciated. Many of the neighbours were on site for months at a time, not just a few weeks as we were. We would highly recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2018
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Carvoeiro and hopefully you will be able to return sometime in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torontogo...
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“As Advertised”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

So nice to find that when you arrive, the condo is exactly as advertised and what you anticipated. Perfect location, fantastic view of the village and the sea and all the comforts of home. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and easy access to the pool and a myriad of local restaurants.

Thanks Delores ... wouldn't hesitate to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Nice to learn that you all enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you back again. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing