We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Central Location yet Quiet and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Carvoeiro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian P
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Central Location yet Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Having seen the location of the villa on the map you would think it could get noisy at night, but this was not the case and you could sit on the balcony at night with a nice bottle of Portuguese Red and feel like you were miles from the action, yet were literally only a stones throw away.
With the Villa being essentially 2 separate units within one building (3 bedrooms and a living room on the top floor and 4 bedrooms and a living room on the lower floor, it is perfect for splitting up into party / night people and the more sedate amongst the group.
Restaurant hill is a few hundred yards away, littered with all sorts of wonderful restaurants, as is the local market, where you can get all your fresh produce.
On the down side anyone with mobility issues will struggle to get up the slope to the Villa, or use the steps up from the main road. The pool also has very little space if there are 14 people there at once, but luckily we had more than enough room for our party.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardwa...
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very spacious and modern Villa in a lovely location.”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

14 of us stayed here 6 Adults and 8 young children and had a fantastic time. The villa is an easy walk to the beach but you can easily spend you days relaxing by the pool which the kids preferred the most. The villa has all you could need and although the top half is not connected internally to the bottom half this did not cause any issues. The town is really nice and the beach is lovely. Overall we had a great stay.

The villa does not really have a garden but there is a gate down to small area of trees and shrubs. Really it needs a warning sign as I would not let children go into it due to the massive fall over a tiny wall to the apartments below.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopoli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to celebrate my birthday”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was just what we wanted, easy reach of beach and shops, plenty of room for our party of 15. Three generations celebrating a significant birthday. The BBQ was very well used as was the pool. Isabelle was available if we needed her. Local restaurants were very good and within easy walking distance although we only ate out once or twice. The driveway was challenging as was the walk up the hill at the end of the day but nothing we could not manage. We visited Slide and Splash and Zoo Marine so did not spend all our time lazing by the pool. Would definitely recommend. One of the grand-daughters asked whose birthday we were coming back to celebrate next!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Villa James for a week in July/August 2016, 8 adults and 2 children - 10 and 16. The villa is amazing very well equipped, maintained and clean. We met Isabella on arrival and she was very helpful and she came again a few days later to check everything was OK.

The pool is lovely with plenty of sunbeds and the area is a real sun trap but also some shaded areas throughout the day which was very much needed during the heatwave when we were there!!

The different levels of the villa are lovely and the roof terrace gives amazing views of the village.

It is only a short 5 minute walk to the centre of Carvaerio which is down quite a steep hill or steps, it takes a bit longer coming back up the hill or steps!!

Carveoiro is a lovely place and has things to do for all, during our stay there was live music every night in the square which was great. There are also a good selection of restaurants and bars.

Although some of our party had been on a villa holiday before it was the first time for myself and my partner and we are now converted to this type of holiday and it was made all the more perfect by staying at Villa James, thank you.

Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartiB76
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay & Very Convenient!”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at Villa James. We were a family of 10 and could have easily fit a few more. The villa is quite spacious and comfortable with great views, a roof top and backyard veranda. The ocean was fairly cold so the pool's perfect temperature was a pleasant reprieve. The villa is very conveniently located within a short 5-7 minute walk of the village - many restaurants, shopping and the town beach. At the same time, the villa is a quiet retreat from town when you need it. We would be more than happy to stay there again! Thanks, James and Isabelle, for a wonderful time and making my 50th birthday extra special!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing