We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveller rating
240
487
259
110
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
487
259
110
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth poolhollywood barself cateringcd playerfalesia beachold towncourtesy busone bedroom apartmentquiet arealarger poolsun terracegreat holidaynearest beachbars and restaurantsthe hotel offerslocal beachanimation team
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

The fourth star- I still wonder where it came from ..... not from normal standards valuation for Sure
Our visit was not long before the Winter closing. So they closed down the main pool in advance...Pity nobody warned us about it so we would choose another place, especially this one was not cheap at all!!

What made me really lough were some of the staff tipsy every morning
Apartments huge like a flat.

What I did not find funny though was the food the worst in all my life travellings history. Everything is tasting of carbon paper, even vegges, I bet frozen many times. especially discusting fish- hardly any from the near see and with awfull taste. Only bacalu was Ok but No suprise- at the end of the day it is sun dried fish to start with ;-)
Very strange.

I dont recommendt it however its clean- maids doing their job every day Ok.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JarekSzmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo M, Diretor-Geral at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear guest,
We took in high consideration all your comments. The management team is now prepared for a new season, and we make all efforts to improve in all mentioned points. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Rodrigo Mendes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous holiday was had by my family at this great hotel . When we entered the room on our arrival it had the wow factor . Spacious with lots of room . Two balconies and two bathrooms . This became a his and hers bathroom on our trip . We went half board so had the sumptuous breakfasts each morning . I became addicted to a delicious cinnamon type cake . I used to get my daily morning fix . There were lots of other choices . Cold meats , cheeses , bacon , sausages . Unlimited coffee and orange juice is a bonus on hot days . We had a few pool days and our two year old daughter loved playing in the north pools shallow pool .
Having a young child with us we were unable to enjoy the entertainment which started too late for us . We used the hotels courtesy bus for a brilliant beach day and trip to the old town . The staff were so friendly and Maria in the restaurant was a real star . The manager with the moustache is a big character and runs the eating times like clockwork. The cleaning staff were on the ball . We will definitely be returning again . Although not in the centre of Albefeira it is in a quiet area with lots of local shops and restaurants. Family fun in the sun .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank arkleford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirec2r, Gerente de relações com clientes at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your preference and for your kind comments. The new Alpinus Hotel Management is doing everything to continue improving our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the Algarve.
Best regards
António Franco - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We are staying here at the moment and this is our 4th time since 2012 and every time it gets better. We emailed a few weeks before our arrival date as per normal and once again the friendly management sorted out our normal room no fuss no problems, the room itself was spotless as usual and we even noticed a new pull out sofa bed and television in the living room that weren't there last time (Nov 2016) The cleaners are polite and very friendly and if you don't need them they will make sure you still have the essentials like toilet rolls, bin liners etc. The Staff were all polite and friendly and just want you to have a good holiday which we always do. It was nice to be recognised by the lovely barman Carlos who always like a chat with us.
The only downside which I found bizzare was that they decided to close the North pool that gets the sun all day to make everyone use the smaller South pool that only gets the sun til about 3pm!! We always used the North pool not just because of the all day sun but the fact it's bigger, Quiter and loads of sun beds that are not right on the edge of the pool unlike the South pool where you constantly get splashed from people jumping in and kids with balls and water guns. I can understand that the hotel is closing in 2 weeks for the winter and a refurbishment but no work is being done at the North pool even the water is still there and the forecast for the next week is good so wouldn't it make sense to just leave it open till the hotel closes so guests have the choice? Strange

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank glenwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirec2r, Gerente de relações com clientes at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your preference and for your kind comments. The new Alpinus Hotel Management is doing everything to continue improving our services and facilities.
We regret your displeasure with the closure of the north pool, but, as you know, we will close on 31st, for remodeling work and we need to start preparing everything, so that there are no delays and we can reopen on March 01, 2018. Our apologies, but it's for a good cause. On your next visit, you will surely find better conditions for your holiday stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the Algarve.
Best regards
António Franco - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Staying here for one weekvery disappointing went all inclusive but it’s more
Suited for self catering they closed one of the pools for
The winter when we arrived was not informed of this when we booked the food is fine there is something you can eat if you like canteen?
But there is no snacks at nite ie crisps /nuts or pastries very poor
And as far as entertainment goes it’s poor Went to book a trip asked if they took English money was told yes went to pay then told no only Euro not even bank cards it’s just a shame it’s just needs a little to make a better hotel it’s 15 minuets to the old town by taxi €11 as you can’t walk

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank William670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo M, General Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Martin,
We would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced.
We look forward to hearing from you and earning you back your business.Kindest regards,
Rodrigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

The apartment we had was very spacious and comfortable, two bedrooms two bathrooms a lounge and fully equipped kitchen with air conditioning throughout plus a balcony, full use of all the pool. The hotel was so clean and very comfortable, lovely quiet area by the south pool with bar open from 11-00am to 11-00pm, food choices were a little limited at times but everything was good. The hotel provides a complimentary bus service to the beach and to Albufeira on a daily basis as its in a quiet location but perfect if you just want to relax and enjoy the sun as we did.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirec2r, Gerente de relações com clientes at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Chrissy R.,
Thank you for your preference and for your kind comments. The new Alpinus Hotel Management is doing everything to continue improving our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to the Algarve.
Best regards
António Franco - Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews