We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,227)
Filter reviews
1,227 results
Traveller rating
929
215
52
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
215
52
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar luxury collection new wing design room beautiful chapel indoor and outdoor pools spg platinum tasting menu luxury hotel guided tour pool bar tour of the property restored convent old section main restaurant olive oil unique property
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1,227 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This is truly a magical place as its history is long and amazing. We stayed two nights and could have stayed longer. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating to our every need. The wine tasting was very nice and well done. We ate at the restaurant both nights and it is an amazing place and the food was exceptional. The breakfasts were huge and a great variety of items to choose from. We will return to Convento.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and for your wonderful review. It makes us so happy to learn that you enjoyed your experience and intend to return, and we have shared your kind words with our team as yours is definitely the kind of testimony that motivates us and indicates that our work is going in the right direction. Thank you so much! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Filipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

This beautifully restored convent, with amazing service was a wonderful haven after we experienced multiple problems when our trip to Madeira was cancelled by TAP.
David at the front desk is a gem and looked after our every need.
The rooms are lovely as are the views over the quiet countryside only 5 minutes from historic Evora.
Make sure you leave time for the wine tasting in the wine cellar every night at 6PM. Hosted by the sommelier, you will taste 3 local wines accompanied by local cheeses, jams, olive oils and breads.
This hotel is truly a 5 star experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank werhappy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear guest,
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Convento do Espinheiro and to feel that, in some way, we were able to make up for the cancellation of your flight to Madeira. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your kind words, which I have shared with the team and we hope that we may have the pleausre of welcoming you and your husband back to Évora in the near future.
Warm regards,
FIlipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This is an incredible place. The building is lovely. Our service was great. We had dinner there and breakfast twice and every time the food was delicious. The restaurant is in a beautiful part of the convent and nearby were several other eating areas that looked gorgeous. The courtyard looked very romantic for a drink with someone special.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank treesprite07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and that you may have the chance to experience all of our facilities.
Kindest regards,
Filipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

If you have a car, this pousada is cool. But there is another one in the middle of town, which we hear is also nice. The building here is amazing. Rooms are great. Service at the breakfast buffet was the best staff and breakfast of all the Pousadas we visited.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dostreic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and for sharing your kind review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Filipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

This is the most unique hotel I have ever stayed at. I knew it was formerly a convent but did not know that it was also a monastery. The property has preserved the lovely church and offers daily history tours. Other parts of the monastery were adapted for use by the hotel. For example, the monk’s refectory where they took their meals is now a comfortable lounge. The blend of the old and the new is really remarkable. The grounds are beautiful with olive and orange trees lining walking paths. Indoor and outdoor pools are sparkling clean and refreshing. The evening wine tastings give guests the chance to mingle. And the staff are justifiably proud to work at and show off this treasure. Lovely stay. My one wish would be coffee service in the room or lobby (Americans love their morning coffee), but the incredible breakfast buffet that was included in the room rate more than compensated.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jforgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
filipao345, operations manager at Convento do Espinheiro, Historic Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having chosen Convento do Espinheiro and for your wonderful review, which we have shared with our team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and as you say, we ae tremendously proud of "our" unique convent and nothing gives us more pleasure than to share it with our guests.
Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to have the chance of welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Filipa Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews