We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
287
172
37
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
172
37
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa isabel castle tower white marble highest point antique furniture narrow cobblestone amazing building shower over the bath worked fine unique location comfortable sofas surrounding countryside high ceilings nice courtyard superior room historic building real castle
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We were given a room up in the roof which was an interesting shape but there was no possibility of sitting and looking out of the window, as it was at a higher level than the room with some steps up to a platform. Our room was not made up one day despite being left for eight hours with the "Make Up" sign showing. Are you expected to make your own bed in Portugal? The restaurant staff were stuffy and old fashioned and did not like the woman ordering the wine or tasting it. It seemed to completely throw them off balance. We did not go back on the following nights. Good points were position and the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada Castelo Estremoz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Dear Guest.,
Thank you very much for visiting us and for taking your valuable time to post a review in our page.
Kind regards,
Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The Pousada de Estremoz is a beautifully restored property on top of a hill overlooking the city and the surrounding scenery, including the vineyards. The pool area is beautifully maintained and an excellent place to relax and have a drink. The restaurant is grand and elegant. The food was excellent. As in both Pousadas we stayed in, the Pestana Group is frequented by large travel groups arriving by bus. Therefore, if you dine at the same time as these groups, the service can be slower and the dining areas noisier. As we were warned about this ahead of time, we had breakfast and dinner later than the groups and avoided the "rush". Would suggest if you book on line that you look for the "Golden Age" rate (for those older than 55 years of age) as it saves you a lot as compared to either the posted or internet rates. Good parking in front of the property if you arrive by car.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MHU1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada Castelo Estremoz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Dear Guest.,
Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are so happy to year you enjoyed your sty as well the service f our staff and food.
Glad you had a great time.
Kind regards,
Maria de Jesus Bordalo
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We had a great one night stay here. There are beautiful art and antiques everywhere. We had one of the best gin and tonics I've ever had sitting on the comfortable sofas overlooking Estremoz. The breakfast buffet was nice with lots of pastries, yogurt, fruit, eggs, cheese, etc.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada Castelo Estremoz, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Dear Guest.,
Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review.
Glad you had a great time.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with delicious food, good wine, a good and personable staff. The room and views were stunning, and our every need was addressed. The staff was always available but never imposing. Thanks for the wondrful stay!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ShawnC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada Castelo Estremoz, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Dear Guest.,
Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on Trip Advsior.
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well the service of our staff.
Glad you had a great time.
Kind regards,
Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

There is no words to describe how wonderful this Pousada is. The location is the best in Estremoz (really the best). Implemented in a real Castle, all the service makes you feel like royalty! All the employees make you feel appreciated and unique. This is one, if not the best, "Pousada Experience". The pool is great, the guest rooms give you that feeling that you are in fact on a real Castle, the public areas are filled with ancient art, and the Staff could not be more nice. The kids love to check all the corners in search of a hidden treasure or secret passage... It's something that you can state to everyone: You must come here! Thank you all!

Room Tip: Any room is great
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gonçalo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada Castelo Estremoz, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Dear Guest.,
Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well the service of our staff. We will share your kind comments with them.
Glad you had a great time.
Kind regards,
Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews