We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A 'gem' of a cottage.”

Review of The Old Creamery

The Old Creamery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Creamery
Bedroom 1 Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
The Old Creamery
Bedroom 1
Sitting Room
View from the cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Inner hall
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
A warm welcome awaits!
Wingfield Manor
As the sun goes down
Spring at the cottage
Gated entrance to the Old Creamery
Parking area
Garden available for those staying at the cottage
View from the cottage
Garden in winter
View over the valley in winter
Nearby Lea Gardens
View over the Amber Valley
Summer charm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
love2live...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A 'gem' of a cottage.”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for 2 nights as our daughter was competing in a swimming competition in Nottingham. The reviews we had read before we booked were very positive so we had high expectations, which to our delight were exceeded. Plenty of character, very well equipped and superbly presented in every way. The directions were excellent and Priscilla was very welcoming. We had 2 good meals in the friendly pub next door. The surrounding area is very pretty and interesting and we plan to return for a longer stay in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pounceys
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We want to go back!”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Old Creamery is a lovely cottage inside and out, with friendly, gracious owners. Everything you need is here, even including wifi and TV; very much home from home. And the location is great - right next door to a cosy local pub, and interesting walks across the countryside right from the back door. I grew up in this area, and had forgotten just what a terrific spot it is - don't be put off that it's not in the Peak District, it's easily close enough, and there are plenty of interesting scenic spots round about. The historic ruin of Wingfield Manor is a stone's throw away, and the old small market town of Crich, with its tram museum, 12th century church, and peculiar inland lighthouse ("Stand") is just a mile or two up the road. In the warmer months, the little deck off the main lounge looking out over the field must be a great place to relax! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stop searching!!! This is the place!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a fantastic time at the old creamery. Priscilla the host was wonderful and very helpful. This place has everything you are looking for in a cottage. Very cozy and warm. Comfortable beds and a great living space. Our young kids loved the games and puzzles and free wifi was a pleasant surprise.

We can't fault our stay it was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandL...
Skidby
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What an excellent place. We can only echo the comments of previous guests. All of our needs were more than catered for. We were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is a delightful cottage. The previous reviews say it all, however, neither they nor the photos show how spacious this cottage is. It is within walking distance of two pubs but the kitchen has everything you need for cooking so we stayed in our second night. There are some lovely walks straight from the cottage but discovering the Peak District made this weekend very special.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing