We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
218
172
65
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
172
65
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the canal no lift tour boats small square mussels steeped in history bourgogne beautiful dining room top floor perfect location boiled eggs junior suite old world charm old building fish market no air conditioning first floor
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

I walked in with a group of four with no reservation on a Friday night, and the waiter quickly accommodated us at a window table. We had the “set menu” which had quite a number of choices for each of the tree courses. I had goose liver pate, lamb, and fruit salad; all of which were superb. The rest of the group were similarly pleased with their meals. We selected the “paired wines” option with our dishes and the waiters were very generous, frequently topping up our glasses. Service was prompt and friendly. We had a great night and would have no reservations in recommending this restaurant!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

The decor is the key reason to have a meal here.

There are 2 special tables called “The King’s Table” that have a special historical significance. The first one is located in the extreme left corner of the main dining room against the windows overlooking the canal — and one person has a special open window that looks into the entry dining area. The second table is located in the adjacent corner with glass windows on both sides overlooking the canal. Our guide, who is a local resident, informed us that she celebrated her birthday by dining at this Restraunt and requesting to sit at one of these tables.

We ended up in the entry dining area with a table facing the canal via a beautifully small window with lovely flowers on the outside. It was a picture perfect spot with the sun shining through the window while we ate lunch.

The Maitre’d greeted us warmly and assigned us a wonderful table.

Our server was professional but obviously rushed due to the number of tables he was probably covering. He took our order as if he was working at an upscale drive in ( no smile. Very quick. No small talk. In and out ). Not the best first impression.

Our food arrived very quickly which was impressive since we ordered the seafood bouillabaisse and steamed muscles in a pot.

The paintings, woodwork, and decorations were beautiful and it transported us into another place and historical time. Be sure to check out the original historical photographs on the stairway!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AroundTheWorld8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Arrived at lunch time to check-in. Was early a bit early, so rooms weren't ready but we could leave bags and come back a couple of hours later. We had booked two standard rooms and on check-in one of our rooms was upgraded to a deluxe. This was a wonderful surprise for my partner's birthday. Waiting in the room was a bottle of champagne and a 1kg of belgian chocolates that my parent's arranged with the hotel as a birthday surprise. Was great that the hotel staff went the extra mile to arrange this.

The deluxe room was outstanding. Very large with ample of space with all our suitcases. Directly overlooking the canal on the first floor. Two sets of large french door style windows in the bedroom that open out over the canal. We sat on the window ledge that evening listening the carillon concert at the nearby Belfry (which you can see quite easily from the bedroom).

Bathroom is very large in the deluxe room, with another set of french door style windows that open up over the canal.

The small room on the top floor that was booked for my stepson, was exactly as described - a small room with a small attic style window. Also had an adjoining bathroom, but with no window.

Only downside with the rooms is that there are no ceiling fans or air con - and as we were there during a particulaly hot week in Brugge, the small room was very hot and stuffy. However the hotel manager arranged for a new desk fan to be brought up and this provided some relief from the heat. Temperature wasn't a problem in the deluxe room as we simply left all the windows wide open.

Breakfast downstairs in the restaurant was excellent. Such a quaint and charming setting. Service was excellent as well. Croissants, bread, boiled eggs, jams, wonderful coffee and freshly squeezed juices. Sitting by the view of the canal directly outside made for a great start to the day.

We had to check out very early in the morning on our 3rd day, so arranged for final payment with the manager the night before - and he also arranged a taxi van to pick us up in the morning.

This hotel was an excellent find. I highly recommend it. We'd definitely stay here again when we come back to Brugge. It's central location, canal side views, wonderful staff, excellent service, great breakfast and going the extra mile in accommodating our special requests make this such a wonderful place to stay.

Room tip: Deluxe room with canal view is worth the extra cost. Much larger room with amazing french door style windows that open out over canal.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_Melb_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

It literally ticked every box. The hotel itself is 16th century and beautiful, the views from our windows were stunning, the food was lovely and the staff were incredibly friendly. We had all the windows open at night as it was so hot and were amazed how quiet it was given our central location. Amazing value for money! A wonderful place to spend our 10th Wedding Anniversary!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

What a place to stay. Right in the middle of the historic city of Bruges, with the canal just outside. A good and clean room, good service. A lot of steps to get up to our room, but for us the view made up for it. We can recommend it!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank to_experience_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews