We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Trecombe Lakes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RichNDeb2...
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Perfect”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I booked this 3 night stay as a 50th Birthday Treat for my Husband, and as we love Camping, i wanted the same feel but up a notch or 2. Trecombe Lakes was perfect, the Pods we very cosy and well equiped, modern,super clean and had everything we needed. The location is far enough out of the way to enjoy peace and quiet but no so far that you have to travel miles to get anywhere. The lakes are pretty with Ducks and Geese milling around and we walked around them several times during our stay. You have everything you need and are left alone, Jason and Selina are warm and friendly and very helpful. Overall a fantastic peaceful few days in a beautiful location,
P.S. The nearest shop fro groceries is a Spar at Constatine around a mile away, no need to travel to Falmouth unless you want to. Look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pods and no internet!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
king22kin...
1 review
“It's a pod life for us!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We arrived at Trecombe lakes in the most horrendous storm but our pod was so cosy and warm we knew we were in a special place. The weather improved the next morning and we enjoyed exploring the lakes and land. The pod is so well equipped there was nothing we needed and the children could help themselves to nets and footballs etc in the lodge. We have promised our children we will return in warmer weather. ....this place is magical.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwhitin...
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We booked two nights through laterooms, and were absolutely delighted. We didn't leave the site all weekend. Kids, 6 and 8, had a wonderful time swinging on a tyre, scrambling on a PROPER adventure playground, mooching around the lakes; we lit a fire in the purpose laid out fire pit with the logs provided (cheaply) for the purpose. The pods themselves are BRILLIANT. They really do have the feel of camping, which we love, with the warmth and convenience of a holiday cottage. Really well designed so hob and cooker, fridge, kettle and toaster, shower and toilet are all there without feeling cramped. So many lovely touches...pint of fresh milk in the fridge, despite only a couple of hours notice of our arrival; an indoor games area with genuine thought. Clever design of the adventure playground. Encouragement to really enjoy the outdoors. Spacious layout. We loved it so much the kids have made a model of the area and I've told everyone at work about it. Fantastic place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No disappointments at all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsheathe...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“What a wonderful pod and holiday concept.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

As a grandparent & grandchild unit of 4 (ages 60, 60, 6 & 9) we have been lucky enough to have had several holidays of the "glamping" type but we all have to say that this was simply the best we have enjoyed and our grandson cried as he didn't want to leave. The pod called Starling is, in our opinion, in the best location and we were lucky to be on our own but there is plenty of room for everyone. The pod survived the New Year storms very well and we were snug and warm inside. When I spoke to the delightful owner this morning about minor issues ( such as drying wet clothes and boots) he has plans to fine tune the pods to solve this in the near future so this really is an all year round holiday adventure and accommodation. The beds were very comfortable and the duvets warm and snuggly. There is adequate storage space in the kitchen and I managed to cook meals for 4 quite easily on the cooker. The shower room is a triumph and with the addition of a heated towel rail and moving the mirror near the light will be perfect. We took a collapsible camping table and 2 folding chairs for adults to sit on inside and there was plenty of room for this inside. We had campfires every night and rowed around the lake at every possible moment, looked at the stars and saw satellites ! We had a simply perfect New Year and a great family holiday. Every credit to the owners and we wish them a very Happy New Season.
All year round attractions we visited were the Seal sanctuary at Gweek (book on-line if possible as cheaper) and the Maritime Museum at Falmouth ( can use Tesco day-out vouchers).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive F
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were looking to book a last minute short break and came across your pods on LateRooms.com. We were instantly intrigued and thought it would be a fun way to spend a few nights away as a family (2 adults + 2 children aged 9 and 15). Well, what a wonderful place you have created. The pods are surprisingly spacious and well equipped. They are cosy and have a certain "cute" factor which our children loved, especially our 9 year old daughter. We had kept the accommodation a surprise for them and they were delighted when we finally arrived (I say finally because we followed the Sat Nat from Falmouth which took us a very long winded and windy route and the post code took us past the actual location!! However, once we followed your written instructions we found the location easily.) The pods are exceptionally clean and well laid out with everything you could need - cooker, fridge, crockery and cutlery including tools for the BBQ, even washing up liquid and tea/coffee/sugar which was very useful. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom spacious with a power shower. There is a communal building housing washing machine and tumble drier plus toys and games for wet days. The grounds are lovely with plenty of space to run around and play and the boat on the lake just added another fun factor along with the tyre swing. The fire pit was an instant hit (logs available but possibly some kindling would be useful) and we managed to toast marshmallows on our first evening while looking up at the stars. We really enjoyed our stay, wished it could have been longer and would love to visit again. We have already recommended it to several friends!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing